Get a list of dairy-free ice cream bar brands and flavors – plus the simple steps on how to make your own at home.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love keeping a stash of ice cream bars in your fridge for celebrations, satisfying your sweet tooth, or for cooling off on hot days, you may have wondered what dairy-free options there are if you’ve recently made the change to a dairy-free diet.
Dairy-free ice cream bars have come a long way since I started following a dairy-free diet. There are so many great options and different treats made from all kinds of dairy-free milk alternatives, like coconut milk, cashew milk, soy milk, and even bananas.
If you are looking for a dairy-free ice cream bar to try out or to keep on hand in the coming warm months, I’ve put this post together for you. Find out what ingredients are in ice cream bars and if there are options for folks on a dairy-free diet.
We’ll also go over a big list of brands and flavors of dairy-free ice cream bars you can search for locally so you can keep your freezer full of yummy treats.
We’ll also talk briefly about what to do if you can’t find some of these options near you and how to make your own dairy-free ice cream bars.
Let’s start with the basics and why we need to look for specific “dairy-free” or “non-dairy” ice cream bar brands.
What ingredients are in ice cream bars?
Depending on the brand of ice cream bar you buy, the ingredients can vary. However, most have a base of ice cream, which includes milk, cream, and sugar.
Toppings or flavorings may be added, like caramel, chocolate chips or flakes, fruit, vanilla, nuts, or cookie crumbs. If you can dream it up, it can be in an ice cream bar.
Some ice cream bars are dipped in chocolate to create a harder outer shell to keep drips from falling when the bar is being eaten and to add extra flavor and texture. That outer shell is also sometimes rolled in nuts or other ingredients like cookie crumbs or crispy cereal.
Are ice cream bars dairy-free?
Most ice cream bars contain dairy products from milk and cream in the ingredients lists. However, you can find certain brands of ice cream bars that are made specifically to be dairy-free or non-dairy. We’ll go through these options farther down in the post.
Another way to have dairy-free ice cream bars is to make them yourself at home. You can either buy dairy-free ice cream and use a popsicle mold to form it into a bar with a popsicle stick to make it a bar.
Or you can make your own homemade dairy-free ice cream in an ice cream maker or blender and put it into a popsicle mold with a stick for a homemade dairy-free ice cream bar.
If you want, you can even dip homemade dairy-free ice cream bars in a chocolate shell with a mixture of melted chocolate and melted coconut oil. The coconut oil will harden around the cold ice cream for an easy dipped bar.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
Read on: Is ice cream gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free ice cream cones
Read on: Is Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free? Is Breyer’s ice cream gluten-free?
Are there any dairy-free ice cream bars?
There are a number of brands of dairy-free ice cream bars available to buy. You can look for these at larger grocery stores or health food stores near you.
If you can’t seem to find them after a quick look, you can review a specific brand’s website and look for a store locator to help you find out where you can pick them up.
Can I make my own dairy-free ice cream bars?
If you can’t find dairy-free ice cream bars locally, you might consider making them yourself at home. Use any dairy-free ice cream recipe to get started, then fill popsicle molds with sticks to create bars.
You don’t even need an ice cream machine for many recipes. A blender will work for many recipes, and frozen bananas as a base with extra flavors can be a super quick way to make a dairy-free ice cream bar in your blender.
You can also use dairy-free ice cream you love from the store and let it soften enough to fill a popsicle mold to turn it into a bar. This way is so simple, because there’s no real prep involved. You just transfer the ice cream to a mold and wait for it to refreeze.
To get creative, you can dip your ice cream in a mixture of melted chocolate and melted coconut oil to create a hard shell. You could even roll your dairy-free ice cream bar in chopped nuts, sprinkles, or crispy rice cereal for texture. Freeze this again to allow the chocolate to set and you have a super easy dairy-free ice cream bar made just the way you like it.
Read on: The ultimate list of dairy-free ice cream brands and flavors
Dairy-free ice cream bar brands
You can find a number of brands that offer dairy-free ice cream bars that we’ll go over together here. One thing to keep in mind is that even though the brands I’m listing here do carry at least one dairy-free ice cream bar option, they may also carry ice cream bars that have dairy.
This is important to note so that you don’t see a brand and immediately pick up just any option from the freezer case. Be sure you’re looking for the terms “dairy-free,” “non-dairy,” or “vegan” on the packaging.
It’s always a good idea to review ingredients lists before buying too. Look for any names of dairy that are both obvious like cream or milk, or more subtle like whey protein or casein.
I tried to include options in this list that most closely resembled ice cream bars, not popsicles or fruit bars. Many of these are naturally dairy-free and ingredients can be reviewed for dairy.
This list has mostly ice cream bar substitutes that have been made with dairy-free milks or dairy-free alternatives, rather than fruit bars that are made with fruit and sugar.
Another thing to note is that there may be more dairy-free ice cream bar brands available. This list is what I could find on the day I was researching, including their available flavors and products. If I’m missing something in my list, feel free to comment and I’ll add other brands that I didn’t include here.
- Dairy free Strawberry Lemonade Bar
- Dairy free Horchata Bar
- Dairy free Blackberry Fruit Bar
- Brownie Batter
- Chocolate Peanut Butter
- Cookies & Cream
- Mint Chip Oatmilk
- Salted Caramel Oatmilk
- Raspberry Chip Oatmilk
- Coconut Dipped
- Banana Dipped
- Strawberry Dipped
- Avengers (Strawberry-Mango)
- Spider-Man (Lemon-Lime & Orange)
- Avengers (Cherry & Grape)
- Spider-Man (Strawberry-Lemon)
- Pina Colada
- Chocolate Daydream
- Toasted Almond Crunch
- Sweet N’ Salty Caramel
- Chocolate Fudge Crunch
- Classic Vanilla Bean
- Salted Caramel Swirl
- Berry Dreams
- Chocolate Lion
- Vanilla Matcha
- Coconut Latte
- Mango Rosemary
- Dairy-free Mint Chip Bars
- Dairy-free Mocha Chocolate Chip Bars
- Dairy-free Monkey Business Bars
- Orange n’ Cream
- Watermelon Agave
- Chocolate Fudge
- Strawberry Lemonade
- Strawberry Shortcake
- Cookies n’ Cream
- Mango Chile
- Hibiscus Mint
- Non-dairy Chocolate Fudge Bar
- Summer Strawberries & Oat Milk
- Marvelous Mango & Oat Milk
- Chocolate Fudge & Oat Milk
- Orange Smoothie & Oat Milk
- Red White & Boom!
- Organic Watermelon
This brand says “may contain milk” on the packaging, so they may or may not be considered dairy-free. Take this into account before buying them, knowing what your level of sensitivity to dairy is.
- Dark Chocolate Almond Sea Salt
- Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter
- Mint Chocolate Almond
- Almond Non-Dairy Dessert Bar
- Non-Dairy Sea Salt Caramel Bar
- Non-Dairy Mini Variety Pack Classic Almond
- Non-Dairy Hazelnut Crunch Bar
Must Love Bananas
- Dipped Crunchy Peanut Swirl Bars
- Dipped Vanilla Bars
- Dipped Banilla Bars
- Dipped Chocolate Bars
- Vegan Strawberry
- Vegan Salted Caramel
- Vegan Neapolitan
- Vegan Chocolate
Read on: Is mochi gluten-free?
- Strawberry Fruit & Veggie Better Bars with Coconut Milk
- Tropical Fruit & Veggie Better Bars with Coconut Milk
- Mixed Berry Fruit & Veggie Better Bars with Coconut Milk
- Fudge Fruit & Veggie Better Bars with Coconut Milk
- Dairy-free Chocolate Chip Crunch Frozen Dessert Bars
- Dairy-free Black Raspberry Chip Frozen Dessert Bars
- Smooze Smoothie Bar Strawberry Cogurt
- Smooze Smoothie Bar Raspberry Cogurt
- Peanut Butter Bar Cashewmilk Frozen Dessert
- Dipped Double Chocolate Delight Cashewmilk Frozen Dessert
- Mocha Almond Fudge Bar Almondmilk Frozen Dessert
- Mint Fudge Swirl Bar Coconutmilk Frozen Dessert
- Dipped Coconut Almond Bar Coconutmilk Frozen Dessert
- Dipped Vanilla Bean No Sugar Added Coconutmilk Frozen Dessert
- Fudge Bars No Sugar Added Coconutmilk Frozen Dessert
- Vanilla Caramel Crunch
- Mango Coconut Crunch
- Strawberry Crisp
- Lemon Strawberry Crunch
- Wild Berry Crisp
- Italian Mini Bars Dipped in Chocolate with Almond Milk
- Italian Salted Caramel Bars Dipped in Chocolate with Cashew Milk
Read on: Is almond milk dairy-free?
Are Klondike Bars dairy-free? Are they gluten-free?
All Klondike bars contain milk and dairy products, so they should be avoided on a dairy-free diet. They also contain gluten, so if you’re also following a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to steer clear of them as well.
Read on: Are Klondike bars gluten-free?
If you’ve been looking for a dairy-free ice cream bar to cool off on a warm day or to keep stashed in your freezer for a cold treat, I hope this list of brands helps you find the perfect option for you.
If you can’t find these options locally, be sure to check out the different brand websites and use their store finder to see if there are places you may not have thought to check near you.
As always, if you can’t find these nearby, you may consider making your own dairy-free ice cream bars at home. This method will allow you to control the quality of ingredients and help you know for sure there is no dairy in your ice cream bars.
Get a full list of gluten & dairy-free ice cream brands & flavors!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Like this post? You might enjoy some of these posts!
Cool down with some of these delicious dairy-free treats: ice cream recipes, frozen yogurt, and tips on which cold treats are good for your dairy-free diet.
Find out what brands and flavors of ice cream are dairy-free and vegan in this list. Plus how to decipher labels on dairy-free ice cream.
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Looking for a few ice cream recipes to curb your craving during a warm day while sticking with your dairy-free diet? Check out this recipe roundup with 25 dairy-free ice cream recipes.
Find out if ice cream cones are gluten-free, what to look for in ice cream cones on a gluten-free diet, and get a list of brands to buy next time you’re at the store.
Try this dairy-free peanut butter and banana ice cream in your blender for a quick and easy dessert.
Try this homemade "banana split" soft serve ice cream with a surprising healthy ingredient!
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if sorbet contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if sherbet contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
Make your own dairy-free frozen yogurt in under a minute with this recipe featuring dairy-free yogurt and fresh fruit!
Frozen yogurt is a popular treat, but is it dairy-free? Find out in this post if frozen yogurt is safe for a dairy-free diet.
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if gelato contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
Get a dairy-free fudgesicle recipe that's perfect for cooling off on a warm day.
Leave a Reply