If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if sherbet contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re an ice cream lover, you may not be a stranger to sherbet, the creamy fruity ice cream option you can find at most ice cream shops and at grocery stores in the frozen treats section. It’s usually vibrantly colored and satisfyingly sweet.
You can find sherbet in many flavors, like orange, raspberry, lime, and the most popular flavor is probably rainbow sherbet, where all these flavors are mixed into one treat.
If you love sherbet and follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if this treat contains dairy and how it fits into this diet.
Find out in this post what sherbet is, what it’s made of, and if sherbet is considered dairy-free.
Plus discover what the difference between sherbet and sorbet is, if this treat is gluten-free, and what some ice cream options are for a dairy-free diet.
What is sherbet?
Sherbet is a fruit-flavored ice cream that isn’t technically considered “ice cream.” It has a lower fat content than real ice cream, but with a big fruit flavor, like a sorbet.
In my head, sherbet is the love child of ice cream and sorbet. A super fruity and creamy frozen dessert.
Sherbet and sherbet are terms that are used interchangeably in the US and you may hear one over another depending on where you live. They are the same product, so when you hear “sherbet,” know that it’s the same treat as a sherbet.
That said, in the UK, sherbert means something completely different. Sherbert is considered to be a sparkling beverage across the pond, so keep that in mind if you’re ever in the UK. You’ll get a drink there, and a dessert in the US.
What are the ingredients in sherbet?
The main ingredients in sherbet are milk, water, sugar, cream, and fruit purees, juices, or flavors. Depending on the brand or recipe, you may also find other ingredients, like eggs or gelatin.
Does sherbet have dairy?
Yes, the main ingredients in sherbet are dairy ingredients. Milk and cream are both dairy products made from cow’s milk.
Is sherbet dairy-free?
Sherbet is not considered to be dairy-free as it contains milk and cream, two dairy products. If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may want to choose sorbet, a dairy-free frozen treat, instead.
What’s the difference between ice cream and sherbet?
Ice cream is made with at least 10% milk fat and includes dairy ingredients, like milk and cream. It can be flavored with fruit flavor or ingredients, but contains more fat than a sherbet.
Sherbet is the more fruity, less milky cousin to ice cream. It is similar to sorbet, but does contain dairy ingredients, like milk and cream to provide some richness.
The texture of sherbet is not as smooth or creamy as ice cream but instead has its own unique texture that falls between an ice cream and as sorbet.
What’s the difference between sherbet and sorbet?
The difference between sherbet and sorbet is the presence of dairy products.
Sherbet is made to be full of fruit flavor, but also contains milk and cream. Sorbet is made from fruit juice or puree, water, and sugar. Sorbet is always dairy-free, while sherbet always contains dairy products.
Read on: Is sorbet dairy-free?
Is sherbet gluten-free?
Sherbet is almost always naturally gluten-free, as the main ingredients are milk, cream, sugar, and fruit purees or fruit juice. These are gluten-free ingredients, so this dessert, as long as other gluten-containing ingredients aren’t added to it, are safe for a gluten-free diet.
What dairy-free treat can I enjoy instead of sherbet?
While sherbet is not dairy-free, there are still some great frozen treat options available to you. Sorbettos are an option you may find at ice cream shops or at the grocery store. These are made with fruit juice, fruit puree, and water.
You can find sorbettos from the Talenti brand at your local grocery store and these are all dairy-free. Sorbettos are sweet, fruity, and a tasty treat to enjoy while cooling off on a cool day.
Sorbettos are another name for sorbet, another dairy-free frozen treat. Sorbets are made with just fruit juice, water, and sugar and are safe for a dairy-free diet.
You can find a variety of flavors at many ice cream shops and at the grocery store.
Any dairy-free ice cream that is made from dairy-free milk bases, such as coconut milk, cashew milk, or rice milk are also safe for a dairy-free diet.
Get a full list of gluten & dairy-free ice cream brands & flavors!
Find a full list of dairy-free ice cream options, brands, and flavors here: The Ultimate List of Dairy-free Ice Cream Brands and Flavors.
Make your own dairy-free ice cream at home with these 25 dairy-free ice cream recipes.
Another delicious option for a cold dairy-free treat are dairy-free ice cream bars. You can get a list of some brands and flavors in this post: Dairy-free Ice Cream Bars.
I hope if you enjoy sherbet and have been looking for answers as to whether or not to keep this treat in your summer rotation on a dairy-free diet, that this post has helped you.
While sherbet isn’t going to be a good choice for a dairy-free diet, there are plenty of other options, like sorbets and dairy-free ice creams you can buy at the store or make yourself at home.