Find out if ice cream cones are gluten-free, what to look for in ice cream cones on a gluten-free diet, and get a list of brands to buy next time you’re at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love ice cream and going to ice cream shops on hot days, you probably have found yourself ordering an ice cream cone at one point or another. Of course, they’re part of the full ice cream shop experience: choose a cone, choose a flavor, and enjoy your cold sweet treat.
If you follow a gluten-free diet for health or other reasons, you know that looking at every ingredient you eat is important. It’s a good idea to know where gluten is hiding in foods so you can avoid them.
Ice cream cones come in a variety of different types, like sugar cones, waffle cones, cake cokes, chocolate dipped, and a variety of different sizes of ice cream cones, including kid-sized cones. But where does gluten fit into this ice cream cone picture?
In this post, we’re going to talk all about ice cream cones, so you can feel prepared for what you need to know when it comes to buying or ordering ice cream with (or without) cones next time you’re indulging in a sweet ice cream treat.
Find out what ingredients are in ice cream cones, if they’re gluten-free, what to look for in gluten-free ice cream cones, and get a list of ice cream cone brands to help you stick with your gluten-free diet.
What ingredients are in ice cream cones?
While ice cream cones vary by type and by brand, most are made with the following ingredients: eggs, sugar, butter, milk, vanilla extract, flour, salt, and oil.
Are ice cream cones gluten-free?
Ice cream cones are generally not gluten-free, as they contain flour. There are specially made gluten-free ice cream cones that are made using gluten-free flour and come from a few different brands.
If you can find a nice cream cone made with gluten-free flour and has a gluten-free label or no gluten-containing ingredients, you can enjoy this delicious treat any time you wish.
Are there gluten-free ice cream cones?
There are a few brands of gluten-free ice cream cones available for folks who are trying to avoid gluten and stick with a gluten-free diet.
Review the list of brands below to get the name of brands and options to look for.
Gluten and Ice Cream Shops
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to be aware of gluten present not just in the ice cream cones, but also in the ice cream, as well as the facility it’s being served in.
Be sure if you’re trying to stick with a gluten-free diet, that you choose a gluten-free ice cream brand and flavor. You can find a full list of gluten-free ice cream options here: Is ice cream gluten-free?
The next thing to be aware of is what the ice cream shop’s facility is like. Do they take careful precautions to use different scoops and tools for serving ice cream for those who choose gluten-free cones and flavors? What is their protocol for handling food allergies or intolerances? Ask these questions before being served.
If you find an ice cream shop that uses fresh scoops for gluten-free cones, ice creams, and takes the need for no cross contamination seriously, you’ve found a great place to come back to time and time again!
If your local ice cream shop has gluten-free ice cream flavors, you can also opt to forgo the cone and order a cup of ice cream instead, knowing that other scoops with gluten on them may have passed through the gluten-free ice cream previously.
If your local ice cream shop doesn’t concern themselves with their patron’s allergies and you’re extremely sensitive to the potential for cross contamination, it’s a good idea to skip the ice cream shop and stop by the grocery store instead.
Pick up some gluten-free ice cream and some gluten-free ice cream cones and throw yourself a little ice cream party in your backyard or kitchen. You can still enjoy these treats without having to sacrifice being glutened by the local ice cream shop.
Read on: Dairy-free ice cream bars
Read on: Is Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free? Is Breyer’s ice cream gluten-free?
Gluten-free Ice Cream Cone Brands
If you’re looking for a brand of ice cream cone to enjoy at home, or want to make sure your local ice cream shop carries a brand that you can eat safely, check out this list for some options you can have on your gluten-free diet.
Goldbaum’s has gluten-free ice cream cones in a few varieties: sugar cones and cake cones. You can find these on Amazon, and some Target and Walmart stores.
Joy brand has both gluten-free sugar cones and cake cups. These have been the most easy for me to find locally, but you can also get them on Amazon if you can’t find them in your area.
Let’s Do Gluten-free
Let’s Do Gluten-free offers two options of gluten-free ice cream cones: sugar cones and cake style ice cream cones. Their cones are also vegan, so they contain no dairy ingredients either. You can find these on Amazon or buy directly through their website.
Where to buy gluten-free ice cream cones
You can look for gluten-free ice cream cones at your local grocery store. Even in my local Kroger supplied grocery store, I’ve been able to find the Joy brand.
You can look for them in the baking aisle where other ice cream toppings and cones might be.
If you have a hard time finding them locally, look for them online through Amazon.
Gluten-free Ice Cream Cone Recipes
If you’d like to try making your own ice cream cones at home that are safe for your gluten-free diet, check out some of these delicious recipes.
Gluten-free Waffle Cones from gfJules
Make these gluten-free waffle cones with a waffle or pizzelle iron. These are both gluten and dairy-free when you use an all-purpose gluten-free flour blend and Earth Balance vegan butter.
Gluten-free Ice Cream Cones from Gluten Free on a Shoestring
This recipe for ice cream cones is made with an all-purpose gluten-free flour, so it is safe for a gluten-free diet. This recipe uses butter and milk, so it may not be a great choice if you’re also dairy-free.
Gluten-free Waffle Cones from Nurture My Gut
This gluten-free waffle cone recipe comes together with blanched almond flour, eggs, coconut sugar, maple syrup, vanilla extract, and coconut oil spray. Use a waffle cone maker to make these turn out successfully.
Gluten-free Ice Cream Cones from Fork and Beans
These gluten-free ice cream cones are made with quinoa flour and are also dairy-free with the use of non-dairy milk.
Gluten-free Ice Cream Cones from GFF Magazine
Try this gluten-free ice cream cone recipe that uses a mixture of corn flour, sweet white rice flour, and potato starch among other ingredients. Swap out the unsalted butter for vegan butter for a dairy-free version.
If you love to sit down on warm summer days with an ice cream cone, try one of the brands or recipes listed in this post to be sure your ice cream cone satisfies you both now and later on as you’re digesting it.
Be cautious when visiting ice cream shops and do your research online or call ahead before you go to know what their stance is on cross contamination of scoops and ice cream flavors.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Leave a Reply