Find out what Triscuits are, what they’re made from, and if this brand of crackers is safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve ever been to any get-together with a cheese and cracker plate, you’ve probably run into Triscuits before. This name-brand cracker is hard to miss, because it has a signature square shape and waffle pattern on top.
Whether you’re headed to a potluck and wondering what crackers to serve as an addition to your appetizer or your best friend who is celiac is coming over, you’re probably wondering if Triscuits are safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Triscuits are, what different flavors and options are available, and what they’re made from. We’ll also talk about if most crackers are gluten-free, what the definition of gluten is, and of course answer the question “are Triscuits gluten-free?”
Finally, we’ll wrap this post up with a short list of some gluten-free cracker brands for you to check out to help you make sure your snacking is gluten-free friendly.
What are Triscuits?
Triscuits are a brand of cracker that are known for their signature square shape with a waffle-like pattern. They’re crunchy, salty, and great on their own or with cheese or dips.
Triscuits were introduced in 1903 by the Shredded Wheat Company, and Wikipedia says that they may get their name from the combination of words “electricity” and “biscuit.”
Triscuits were the only food at the time which was made via being “baked by electricity.” Who knows if that’s true, but it’s a fun bit of trivia either way.
What flavors do Triscuits come in?
According to the Triscuits website, these are their current cracker varieties and flavors:
- Triscuit Original
- Triscuit Avocado, Cilantro & Lime
- Triscuit Four Cheese & Herb
- Triscuit Thin Crisps Romano Cheese & Honey
- Triscuit Minis Smoked Gouda
- Triscuit Balsamic Vinegar & Basil
- Triscuit Cracked Pepper & Olive Oil
- Triscuit Dill, Sea Salt & Olive Oil
- Triscuit Smoked Gouda
- Triscuit Hint of Sea Salt
- Triscuit Roasted Garlic
- Triscuit Fire Roasted Tomato & Olive Oil
- Triscuit Rosemary & Olive Oil
- Triscuit Thin Crisps Original
What are Triscuits made from?
Triscuits come in a variety of different flavors and options, but their original flavor contains three ingredients: whole grain wheat, canola oil, and sea salt.
Other flavors and varieties may have other ingredients. For example, the Rosemary & Olive Oil variety have these ingredients: whole grain wheat, canola oil, rice starch, salt, spices (includes rosemary and celery), onion powder, dried pea protein, extra virgin olive oil, natural flavor, sugar, leek powder.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Read on: What is Gluten in Food? The Basics of a Gluten-free Diet
Are crackers gluten-free?
Most crackers contain gluten, because they’re made with wheat, wheat flour, or other flour that is derived from wheat ingredients.
A lot of the most popular crackers you’ll find at grocery stores contain wheat and gluten, so it’s always a good idea to review ingredients lists before buying any crackers.
You can also take this one step further and look for a gluten-free label on a package of crackers to help you feel safe knowing there’s less than 20ppm of gluten in that product, so cross contamination isn’t a concern in that product.
Are Triscuits gluten-free?
Triscuits are not gluten-free. This brand of crackers has a main ingredient of wheat, which contains gluten proteins.
All Triscuit crackers contain gluten, including their brown rice/sweet potato flavor, so this brand should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free cracker brands
There are plenty of other gluten-free cracker brands available on the market that have a crunchy, salty taste and texture you might be looking for in a cracker.
I have a full gluten-free crackers roundup of a ton of brands and flavors that are available, but here are just a few that you might want to look into.
- Absolutely Gluten-free
- Back to Nature
- Breton Gluten-free
- Doctor in the Kitchen Flackers
- Foods Alive
- Mary’s Gone Crackers
- Nabisco Good Thins
- Simple Mills Almond Flour Crackers
If you have been wondering if Triscuits are safe for a gluten-free diet, including their different flavors and varieties, I hope this information has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for.
All Triscuits contain wheat and are not a good option for folks who are gluten-free. However, there are quite a few gluten-free cracker brands available to help you satisfy that cracker craving!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply