Find out what Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are, what flavors and varieties they come in, and if this cereal is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you have ever been down any cereal aisle at a grocery store in the US, you’ve likely come across Kellogg’s Rice Krispies. This cereal brand has been around for close to 100 years and with clever and cute marketing, there’s no mistaking why it’s so popular.
While this cereal used to just be known for its cereal, Kellogg’s has grown its Rice Krispies empire to encompass a whole world of cereal bars and treats.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have wondered if this cereal is safe for a gluten-free diet. After all, if it’s made from rice, it should be gluten-free, right?
In this post, we’re going to talk all about Kellogg’s Rice Krispies and get you the answers you’re looking for. We’ll cover what Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are, what flavors and varieties they come in, and what ingredients are used in this type of cereal.
Finally, we’ll get the answer to that one big question: Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Find out whether your favorite cereal and cereal bars are safe for your gluten-free diet right here!
What are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies?
Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are a brand of cereal made by the Kellogg’s brand that has been around since 1927. This cereal is a puffed rice cereal that is eaten as a breakfast food and also famously mixed into cereal bars called Rice Krispie Treats.
Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are the most well known brand of a crisped rice cereal that you can find on the market. Many other brands make this type of cereal, but this is the most recognized.
The packaging on Kellogg’s Rice Krispies has three cartoon characters that are known as Snap, Crackle, and Pop. Their namesake comes from what marketers decided the sound of Rice Krispies cereal sounded like when in a bowl of milk.
You can find Kellogg’s Rice Krispies and Kellogg’s Rice Krispie Treats in the cereal aisle at most grocery stores.
What flavors and varieties do Kellogg’s Rice Krispies come in?
Kellogg’s Rice Krispies cereal comes in their famous Original flavor, but a few others as well. This is the Kellogg’s Rice Krispies current product lineup:
- Rice Krispies
- Cocoa Krispies
- Frosted Krispies
- Cinnamon Sugar Krispies
- Rice Krispies With Red and Blue Krispies
Kellogg’s Rice Krispie Treats come in even more flavors. This is what you can expect to find at grocery stores when looking at the cereal bars:
- Rice Krispies Treats Original
- Rice Krispies Treats Birthday Cake
- Rice Krispies Treats Strawberry
- Rice Krispies Treats Rainbow
- Rice Krispies Treats Original Homestyle Bars
- Rice Krispies Treats Chocolate Homestyle Bars
- Rice Krispies Treats Mini-Squares with Sprinkles
- Rice Krispies Treats Cinnamon Sugar Homestyle Bars
- Rice Krispies Treats Cookies ‘n Creme
Ingredients in Kellogg’s Rice Krispies
The original Kellogg’s Rice Krispies contain the following ingredients, according to the Rice Krispies website:
“Rice, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, malt flavor. Vitamins and Minerals: Iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.”
The Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Original Bars have these ingredients:
“Toasted rice cereal (rice, sugar, salt, malt flavor, niacinamide, reduced iron, vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), corn syrup, fructose, vegetable oil (soybean and palm oil with TBHQ for freshness), sugar, corn syrup solids. Contains 2% or less of vegetable glycerin, dextrose, gelatin, natural and artificial flavors (contains milk), salt, DATEM, acetylated monoglycerides, soy lecithin, BHT for freshness.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives.
These come in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Unfortunately, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not considered gluten-free. According to the Kellogg’s website, here is what they have to say on the topic:
“At Kellogg, we believe in the power of grains and the positive impact grains can have on health and the planet. We also understand there are people who are trying to reduce gluten – either because of celiac disease or due to a diet choice.
Due to disappointing sales and manufacturing constraints, we are no longer able to make Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are made with malt, which comes from barley and may contain gluten; therefore, they are not labeled gluten free.”
What can I eat instead of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies?
You might be super disappointed to hear that Kellogg’s Rice Krispies contain gluten – I was too! Here are a few other puffed rice cereal alternatives that you may consider buying that are safe for folks on a gluten-free diet:
- Barbara’s Organic Gluten-free Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
- One Degree Organic Foods Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps
- Nature’s Path Gluten-free Crispy Rice Cereal
If you’ve been wondering if the Kellogg’s brand of Rice Krispies are gluten-free, I hope this information has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for.
While this brand is not gluten-free, there are other puffed rice cereals out there that you can safely enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? Be sure to check out some of my other great breakfast posts!
Not sure what to make for breakfast on a gluten and dairy-free diet? These posts will give you loads of ideas!
The Ultimate Gluten-free Dairy-free Breakfast Guide
On the hunt for a few gluten and dairy-free breakfast ideas? Look no further! Check out 75 ideas to help you start your morning right and stick with your dairy and gluten-free diet.
25 Dairy and Gluten-free Breakfast Casseroles
Start your day off right with these 25 dairy and gluten-free breakfast casseroles. Included in this roundup are pizza, Mexican, veggie, egg-free, sweet, and savory gluten-free dairy-free breakfast casserole recipes!
Gluten-free Vanilla Cake Donuts (Vegan, Dairy-free)
Enjoy these delicious, light, and fluffy gluten-free vanilla cake donuts that are also vegan and dairy-free. Great for special occasions, birthdays, or a fun weekend treat.
Gluten-free Chocolate Cake Donuts (Dairy-free, Vegan)
Are you looking for a chocolate donut recipe that's gluten-free, dairy-free and vegan? Try these gluten-free chocolate cake donuts that are super chocolatey, light, and fluffy!
Quinoa Breakfast Bowls
Quinoa breakfast bowls are great for a gluten and dairy-free breakfast idea! Make the quinoa ahead of time, then reheat and add your favorite toppings!
75 Gluten and Dairy-Free Breakfast Ideas
Have you been looking for some gluten and dairy-free breakfast ideas? Check out these 75 delicious and healthy breakfast ideas and recipes to share with you.
Gluten-free Dairy-free Breakfast Food List
Learn the foods to keep on hand for gluten-free dairy-free breakfasts. These ingredients can come together many different ways to create delicious healthy breakfast dishes for any day of the week!
5 Gluten-free Dairy-free Cereals
Discover 5 cereals that are both gluten and dairy-free in this roundup post.
Dairy-free Yogurt: What You Need To Know
Wondering if yogurt is dairy-free? Find out all you need to know about dairy-free yogurt, including where to buy, best brands, and how to make your own.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powders + Smoothie Recipe
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie recipe at the bottom of this post.
The Best Dairy-free Protein Powders & Shakes
Have you been looking for a dairy-free protein powders or dairy-free protein shakes to add to your diet? Read this post for all the information you need to find the best one for you.
Gluten-free Waffles (Dairy-free, Vegan)
Try these gluten-free waffles that are also dairy-free, egg-free, and vegan. Perfect for a weekend breakfast or make-ahead breakfast option.
Gluten-free Dairy-free Biscuits & Sausage Gravy
This gluten and dairy-free biscuits and sausage gravy recipe is the ultimate comfort food. Enjoy it for a hearty breakfast or serve it at brunch.
Gluten free Pumpkin Bread (Dairy-free and Vegan Option)
Enjoy this gluten-free pumpkin bread for a perfect fall inspired breakfast or snack! This pumpkin bread is also gluten-free with a vegan option.
Gluten-free Dairy-free Cinnamon Rolls
Try these gluten-free dairy-free (and vegan) cinnamon rolls for a weekend breakfast or special holiday treat!
Chia pudding is simple, requires very minimal time or prep and only 3 ingredients. Best of all, it's gluten-free and dairy-free, and is extremely versatile - so you can flavor it however you like!
Dairy and Gluten-free Zucchini Bread
Do you love zucchini bread? Try out this dairy and gluten-free (egg-free option) recipe to use up your zucchini surplus this year!
The Best Gluten-free Banana Bread (Dairy-free and Vegan Option)
This gluten-free banana bread is easy, satisfying, and uses one bowl - and not to mention dairy-free, with a vegan option too.
Leave a Reply