Discover 5 cereals that are both gluten and dairy-free in this roundup post.
Note: I am a proud Amazon and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
When you make the switch to a gluten and dairy-free diet, one of the most obvious things that you’ll have to make changes to is your breakfast routine.
So many people rely on cereal and milk for a quick and easy breakfast, but the sad truth is that most cereals contain gluten and dairy.
In this post I’ll share with you 5 cereals that I’ve discovered are both gluten and dairy-free, so you can still enjoy your favorite breakfast ritual.
For years I didn’t eat gluten-free cereal at all, because it honestly isn’t the most nutrient-dense food you could be starting your day with.
As time has gone on and since becoming a mom, a quick breakfast food is nice to have around when you want it.
It’s nice to have the convenience of a breakfast that involves just one step – adding some almond or coconut milk – before sitting down to eat. Plus, my kid loves cereal, so I do my best to keep options on hand that I can have too.
There may be more options than these five, but these are fairly easy to find in many grocery stores, which is why I chose them for this list.
One thing to keep in mind when finding a gluten and dairy-free cereal option is to always do your research.
If one flavor of cereal of one brand is gluten and dairy-free, it doesn’t mean that all the different flavors they offer don’t have gluten or dairy in them. Read ingredient lists for hidden sources of gluten and dairy to help you make an informed decision.
What milk should I use for my gluten-free cereal?
If you can tolerate dairy, any cow’s milk is fine. If not, try a dairy-free milk that you love.
What cereals are gluten-free? What cereals are dairy-free?
If you’re looking for a few good gluten-free dairy-free cereals, here are some great ones to try:
Cheerios are a quintessential kid food, so when I found out they were both gluten-free and dairy-free, I was pretty excited. There has been some controversy over Cheerios and pesticide use, so keep that in mind before purchasing.
I have found some organic “Toasted Oats” at my local Kroger grocery store, and there are other gluten and dairy-free options similar to Cheerios out there, like Barbara’s Honest O’s.
Are Cheerios vegan?
Cheerios are vegan, because they do not contain any animal byproducts, as long as the ingredient list does not contain honey. If you also avoid eggs or other animal products, like honey, Cheerios are safe to include in your diet.
I’m including this section here, because I’ve been asked specifically about it from readers. You do not have to eat a vegan diet in order to be dairy-free.
Are Cheerios gluten-free?
While Cheerios used to contain wheat as their main ingredient, over the years they have altered their recipe to be gluten-free. The ingredients in original Cheerios are whole grain oats, corn starch, sugar, salt, tripotassium phosphate, and Vitamin E for freshness.
The General Mills brand labels Cheerios as gluten-free and their ingredient list does not include ingredients containing gluten, so this product is considered safe for a gluten-free diet.
Are Cheerios dairy-free?
Many flavors of Cheerios are naturally dairy-free, so you can feel safe including the original flavor in your dairy-free diet. Review the list below to see the options of Cheerios that you can safely include in your dairy-free diet.
Read on: Are Honey Nut Cheerios gluten-free?
Forager has organic whole grain-free O’s that are made with cassava root and navy beans as a base for their recipe. They are naturally gluten-free and dairy-free.
Barbara’s Corn Flakes are both gluten and dairy-free, and are great if you love classic corn flakes, but want a better version.
These are organic, sweetened with fruit juice, and and only contain 2 grams of sugar per serving. This organic gluten-free cereal is available at most grocery stores with health food sections or online.
Are corn flakes gluten-free?
While Kellogg’s corn flakes are not gluten-free, because they contain barley malt in their ingredient list, this Kashi cereal does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients and are considered safe for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Are Corn Flakes gluten-free?
This Nature’s Path cereal is both gluten-free and vegan (dairy-free) and has crispy rice puffs and corn flakes with a sweet vanilla flavor throughout. This organic gluten-free cereal is non-GMO verified and has 6 grams of sugar per serving.
Nature’s Path offers a few other gluten-free and dairy-free cereal options. Find them in this post: Gluten-free Cereal
This cereal by Nature’s Path is organic and comes in a few different flavors. These products are labeled as gluten-free, so you know they’re safe for your gluten-free diet.
- Chocolate Koala Crisp
- Peanut Butter Panda Puffs
- Gorilla Munch Corn Puffs
- Chocolate Choco Chimps
- Berry Blast Cheetah Chomps
- Peanut Butter and Chocolate Leapin’ Lemurs
- Frosted Amazon Flakes
- Strawberry Chocolate Turtle Splash
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Is Captain Crunch gluten-free?
Captain Crunch contains gluten, but there are a few great alternatives to this cereal if you’re looking to satisfy your craving and stick with your gluten-free diet.
Read on: Is Captain Crunch gluten-free?
Where can I buy gluten and dairy-free cereal?
Find more gluten and dairy-free cereal options on Thrive Market. Don’t have a Thrive Market subscription? Sign up and get 25% off your first order using this link.
If you can’t find any of these options at your local grocery store, Amazon is also a good source for finding these cereal options.
If you’re looking for a quick and easy breakfast option, enjoy one of these five gluten-free dairy-free cereals. I hope this has helped you narrow down your search for an option that will work for your diet and life!
Do you have a favorite gluten and dairy-free cereal to share with the community? Share in the comments below!
If you’d love even more inspiration and recipes for a gluten-free dairy-free diet, be sure to grab my free shopping list – plus 5 free recipes – by entering your details below!