Find out if Butterfinger candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus get a list of all the gluten-free Butterfinger products.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Butterfingers are a candy bar with a crunchy peanut butter flavored center and dipped in chocolate. They’re a popular candy at movie theaters, convenience stores, and you can find them at most grocery stores too.
If you have a sweet tooth, you may be wondering what types of candy are safe for your gluten-free diet. In this post, I’m answering all the questions you might have about sticking with your gluten-free diet and still enjoying Butterfingers.
We’ll cover what the ingredients are in Butterfingers and answer the question “are Butterfingers gluten-free?” We’ll also talk about if they are dairy-free or vegan, as well as cover a list of all the different types of gluten-free options the Butterfinger brand makes.
Let’s get into it!
Ingredients of Butterfingers
The ingredients of Butterfinger candy bars as cited from the Butterfinger website are:
“Corn syrup, sugar, peanuts, vegetable oil (palm kernel and palm oil), peanut flour, nonfat milk, less than 2% of cocoa, milk, salt, soy lecithin, natural flavor, annatto color.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Butterfingers gluten-free?
According to the Butterfinger website, “most Butterfinger products are gluten-free. The Butterfinger Crisp is not gluten-free.”
If you love Butterfinger candy bars, you can safely enjoy most of their products.
Are Butterfingers dairy-free?
Butterfinger candy bars have milk in their ingredients list, as well as a “Contains Milk” note on the packaging. If you follow a dairy-free diet, this type of candy should be avoided.
Are Butterfingers vegan?
Butterfingers are not vegan, because they contain animal products from milk. If you are vegan, you’ll want to find another treat to enjoy.
What Butterfinger products are gluten-free?
Butterfnger offers a number of different products, most of which are gluten-free. Look for some of these options next time you’re at the store reaching for a candy bar.
- Butterfinger Original
- Butterfinger Share Pack
- Butterfinger Fun Size
- Butterfinger Minis
- Butterfinger Bites
- Butterfinger Dessert Toppers
If you love Butterfinger candy bars, I hope this post has helped you make an informed decision about whether or not to enjoy these on your gluten-free diet. Most Butterfinger products are gluten-free, but not dairy-free so choose wisely depending on your body and your food needs.