Find out if yeast extract is gluten-free, what it’s made from, and what to look for on the ingredients list. Plus find out about autolyzed yeast extract.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Have you ever wondered what yeast extract is when looking at ingredients lists on some processed food packages?
We know what yeast is, but yeast extract? This ingredient stumped me too before I started researching it.
If you follow a gluten-free diet or are just getting started with one, it’s important to understand how to read ingredients lists for hidden sources of gluten. That way, you can review that product and make an informed decision as to whether or not to buy it.
Finding an ingredient that we’re not even entirely sure what it is makes that decision just a little bit more tricky.
That’s why this post is dedicated to yeast extract. It’s arguably a very boring ingredient that even I am surprised to be writing about. But hey, each and every ingredient that I put in my mouth needs to be scrutinized if I choose to avoid gluten (and I do!).
In this post, we’ll cover all the bases, including what yeast extract is, what it’s used for, and made from. We’ll also talk about if this ingredient is gluten-free, and answer a few more questions about different types of yeast extract and what to know about how these fit into a gluten-free diet.
Let’s get started!
What is yeast extract?
Yeast extract is a food additive or flavoring that’s found in some processed foods. It has a savory flavor and lends itself to dishes with umami flavors, like frozen meals, stock, gravy, and other snack foods.
Yeast extract is liquid, but can also be dried into a paste or a powder. The most popular products containing yeast extract as a main ingredient are Marmite and Vegemite, two spreads that are used mainly in British and Australian cultures.
What is yeast extract used for?
Yeast extract is used for adding a savory or umami flavor to dishes, like stews, sauces, or marinating meat.
In processed foods, it’s often used as a food additive or flavoring. You can find it in crackers, soups, gravy, bouillon, taco seasoning, or even frozen foods. Many salty processed foods contain yeast extract.
Read on: Is Better Than Bouillon gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free taco seasoning Is taco seasoning gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free oyster sauce
Read on: Gluten-free ramen
What is yeast extract made from?
Yeast extract is made from the same type of yeast that is used in brewing and breadmaking.
According to Healthline, “yeast extract is made by adding sugar to yeast in a warm environment. As the yeast expands, the walls of its cells soften. This mixture is then spun in a centrifuge and the loosened cell walls are whisked away.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is yeast extract gluten-free?
Yeast extract is not usually gluten-free, but you can check the label of the product you’re buying to confirm.
Yeast extract is usually made from barley, but the manufacturer is required to disclose the source of the yeast extract on the ingredients list so you know what you’re looking at before you buy,
For example, on an ingredient list, seeing “yeast extract (barley)” on an ingredient list would indicate the presence of gluten. It might also show in parentheses other gluten ingredients like rye or wheat.
On the other hand, if you see “yeast extract” listed on a package in the ingredients list and a gluten-free label, you know this brand uses a gluten-free type of yeast extract.
They have also done their research to test if their product can be labeled as gluten-free, meaning it has less than 20ppm of gluten in it.
Read on: Is yeast gluten-free?
Is autolyzed yeast extract gluten-free?
Autolyzed yeast IS gluten-free. Autolyzed yeast extract IS NOT gluten-free.
Be on the lookout for “autolyzed yeast extract” as it’s not the same as autolyzed yeast.
Autolyzed yeast extract is usually made from barley, which is not gluten-free. Avoid products with this ingredient when you find it listed in ingredients lists on packaged foods.
If you’ve been wondering about yeast extract and if it’s safe to include in your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for.
This ingredient is a common food additive and flavoring, so you’re likely to find it if you buy processed foods from the grocery store. Knowing that yeast extract is generally safe for a gluten-free diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply