Find out if your favorite foods contain dairy in this roundup of posts, including eggs, mayo, cheese, butter, chocolate, and sour cream.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
When I was first getting started with a dairy-free diet, it often felt like there wasn’t much in the world that I could still eat. It seemed that dairy was hidden in just about everywhere and under so many different names.
There were so many of my favorite foods that I had to do research on to find out if they contained dairy. Even foods that seemed straightforward and no-brainers, like crackers, somehow had hidden dairy in them.
I’ve done so much research over the years to find specific products that are both gluten and dairy-free for my diet, and I’ve finally started documenting some of this research. I get asked all the time about certain foods and while it’s pretty easy to answer these questions as they come in, I felt it was time to add them to my blog.
These are some of the most frequently asked questions around foods that people often think have dairy, as well as some that you might be surprised to learn about.
The easiest way to find out if a food contains dairy is to read the ingredients lists. This should give you all the information that you need, and many have “Contains” notes to tell you if the product contains milk.
It makes it easier to find the products you’ll want to avoid if you find those “Contains: Milk” notes. It’s also pretty straight forward to find hidden names of dairy, as long as you know what to look for.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
When you have access to the names of dairy, you can easily compare them to the ingredients lists of any product and determine if it’s a good fit for you and your diet.
To make your life a little easier, here are some of the most commonly asked questions as they relate to dairy in food.
Is That Dairy-free? Dairy-free FAQ's
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain dairy with these posts! Included in this post are ingredients many people get confused about or can't seem to figure out if they're dairy products or not.
Find out about eggs, mayo, dairy, butter, frozen yogurt, chocolate, whipped cream, sour cream, and alfredo sauce.
Find out if eggs are dairy, what food group they are in, why people think they are dairy, and if you can eat eggs on a dairy-free diet.
Have you ever wondered if mayo has dairy? Find out in this post what mayo is made of, if mayo is a dairy product, and if you can eat mayo on a dairy-free diet.
Find out if butter is considered a dairy product and what your options for baking and cooking are on a dairy-free diet.
Wondering if margarine is dairy-free? Find out if this popular butter alternative is safe for a dairy-free diet and what to eat instead.
Find out if ghee is safe for a dairy-free diet in this post. Also learn what ghee is, if it is healthy, and if you should add this ingredient to your dairy-free diet.
Find out if whipped cream is safe for a dairy-free diet, which brands of dairy-free whipped cream are best, and how to make your own dairy-free whipped cream.
Wondering if Cool Whip is dairy-free? Find out if this popular frozen dessert topping is safe for a dairy-free diet.
Is yogurt dairy-free? Find out if this ingredient contains dairy and what your alternatives are in this post.
Learn if sour cream is safe for a dairy-free diet and get a recipe that’s both dairy free and vegan to use in all your favorite dishes.
Find out if alfredo sauce has dairy, plus get a dairy-free and vegan alfredo sauce recipe to try at home!
Wondering which brands of chocolate chips are dairy-free? How do you know if your chocolate chips are dairy-free? Find out in this post, where I’ll share my favorite dairy-free chocolate chip brands.
Frozen yogurt is a popular treat, but is it dairy-free? Find out in this post if frozen yogurt is safe for a dairy-free diet.
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if sorbet contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if gelato contains any dairy. Find the answer in this post.
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free.
In this post, we go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Find out if your favorite treat for s'mores and Rice Krispie Treats are safe to enjoy on a dairy-free diet and which brands to look for.
Find out if frosting for cakes and desserts has dairy, and what brands to look for if you follow a dairy-free diet.
If you love Doritos, you might be wondering if there are any dairy-free flavors you can have on your dairy-free diet. Check out the options you can enjoy if you follow a gluten and dairy-free diet.
If you have questions about some of your favorite foods, be sure to leave them in the comments. I’m always adding new questions and answers to the blog!
Leave a Reply