Find out if ranch dressing is gluten-free, if your favorite brands contain gluten, and get a list of gluten-free ranch dressing brands.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a big ranch dressing fan, you know how versatile this ingredient is. You can use it for dips, on salads, as a marinade, and even on sandwiches and wraps.
This dressing is full of flavor and uniquely tangy with loads of herbs and seasonings. It’s a versatile ingredient, and because it’s so delicious, people have found so many different ways to add it to their dishes.
If you follow a gluten-free diet like I do, you know that understanding exactly what’s in your food is vital to staying healthy and not getting sick. Even one little tiny bit of gluten can make you break out in hives, or leave you with digestive upset, brain fog, or skin irritation.
That’s why I’m talking specifically about ranch dressing in this post. We’re going to get you all the answers you need if you’re following a gluten-free diet to feel confident and comfortable enjoying this food.
We’re going to cover the basics, like talk about what ranch dressing is and what it’s made of. Then we’ll dive into answering the questions you’re most likely wanting to know: “is ranch gluten-free?” and “are my favorite brands of ranch gluten-free?”
We’ll wrap this post up with a list of gluten-free ranch dressing brands so next time you’re at the store, you have a few options to look for and choose from.
Let’s get to it!
What is ranch dressing?
Ranch dressing is a popular salad dressing and dip used in many dishes in the U.S. It’s usually a buttermilk based dressing that has herbs and seasonings added to it to give it a unique flavor.
It has a tangy taste and creamy texture, with a richness from the eggs, buttermilk, and oil in the dressing.
Ranch dressing is used for salads, as a dip for vegetables, crackers, and chicken wings, and some people even use it as a marinade for meat or chicken. Ranch can also be used in wraps or spread on sandwiches to add extra flavor.
Read on: Gluten-free salad dressing: types & brands
What is ranch made of?
Ranch dressing is usually made with buttermilk, garlic, onion, mustard, herbs, salt, pepper, and spices. You can also find ranch dressings made with a base of yogurt, mayonnaise, or sour cream.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is ranch gluten-free?
Since ranch is most commonly made with buttermilk, garlic, onion, mustard, herbs, salt, pepper, and spices, it’s most likely gluten-free.
Of course with any packaged food, it’s a good idea to review all ingredients lists for hidden names of gluten.
Read on: Get my gluten-free dairy-free egg-free ranch dressing recipe
How to identify gluten in bottled ranch dressing
You can look for both obvious and hidden sources of gluten in any ranch dressing bottle that you find at the grocery store.
One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.
>> Get your copy of the GFDF Take-Along Cards to make this easy on you.
Your best option is to review ingredients lists, then follow up with looking for a gluten-free label. A gluten-free label ensures that whatever you’re looking at contains less than 20ppm of gluten in that product, and that the product has been tested.
Are my favorite brands of ranch gluten-free?
There are so many options of ranch dressing at the grocery store these days, but there are a few popular brands that you may be curious about whether or not they contain gluten. Find out if your favorite brand of ranch is safe for your gluten-free diet.
Is Bolthouse Farms ranch gluten-free?
According to the Bolthouse Farms website, this product is gluten-free and will have a gluten-free label on its packaging.
Is Great Value ranch dressing gluten-free?
Great Value ranch dressing contains no gluten ingredients, however this product does not have a gluten-free label on the packaging.
This means either the brand doesn’t test for gluten or there is a chance for cross contamination with gluten during the manufacturing process.
Is Hidden Valley ranch gluten-free?
Hidden Valley states on their website that most of their products do not contain gluten. The statement goes on to read:
“Most of our products do not contain gluten. Products and ingredients made from grass-related grains containing gluten — notably wheat, rye and barley—will be clearly listed in the ingredient statement on the package label per new FDA guidelines. If the product does not contain wheat, rye, or barley, it probably does not contain gluten. Only products that have been verified to be gluten free will have a “Gluten Free” statement. However, not all products that are gluten free will have this statement while we are in the process of updating our labels. Please always refer to the ingredient statement on package labels or contact us for clarification.”
Read on: Is Hidden Valley Ranch gluten-free?
Is Ken’s Steakhouse ranch gluten-free?
According to the Ken’s website, this brand of ranch is gluten-free and has a gluten-free label on the packaging.
Is Kraft ranch gluten-free?
Kraft ranch dressing is considered to be gluten-free, because there are no gluten ingredients in the product.
However, Kraft doesn’t label their ranch as gluten-free, meaning they likely don’t test for gluten or they are aware of a possibility of cross contamination during manufacturing.
Use your best judgement with this brand and decide if it’s right for you based on what you know about your body and level of sensitivity to gluten.
Is Litehouse ranch dressing gluten-free?
Litehouse ranch has a gluten-free label on their packaging and on their website. You can feel okay enjoying this brand on your gluten-free diet.
Is Marie’s ranch gluten-free?
Marie’s ranch dressing does not contain any gluten ingredients in the ingredients list, but also does not have a gluten-free label or make any gluten-free claims.
Use your best judgement on this brand based on what you know about your own body’s sensitivity to gluten.
Is Primal Kitchen ranch gluten-free?
Primal Kitchen ranch has multiple claims on their product: whole 30 approved, paleo friendly, keto certified, and certified gluten-free.
You can feel comfortable enjoying this brand of ranch on a gluten-free diet. This brand also happens to be dairy-free, so you can enjoy this if you also avoid dairy in your diet as well.
Is Wish-Bone ranch dressing gluten-free?
Wish-Bone does not make any gluten statements about their ranch dressing, however the ingredients list does not have any gluten ingredients listed on its packaging.
Knowing this, you can assume either they don’t test for gluten or they are aware of a potential for cross contamination in their ranch dressing. Use your best judgement about this brand based on what you know about your level of sensitivity to gluten.
Do I need to look for a gluten-free label on salad dressing?
Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, you may want to look for a gluten-free label before buying any salad dressing you’re looking at when shopping at the store.
A gluten-free label on any packaged food product will show you that the brand has tested their product and, as required by the FDA, can only contain less than 20ppm of gluten in that product. That is trace amounts or less of gluten.
It can be helpful to have that extra note of assurance that the product is gluten-free, but if you’re good at reading ingredients lists, know the names of gluten, and you know your level of sensitivity isn’t super high, then you may also be able to get away with eating a food that doesn’t have that label.
You will need to determine what you’re comfortable with when it comes to gluten-free labeling based on what you know about your body and your reactions to gluten.
Gluten-free Ranch Dressing Brands
While there are quite a few ranch dressing options available, here are some brands you can look for next time you’re at the store.
I’ve confirmed each of these are safe for a gluten-free diet by researching them on their respective websites to make sure they do not contain gluten ingredients. These do not necessarily have a gluten-free label on their products.
Those marked with an asterisk (*) are also dairy-free, in case you’re also following a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten.
- Organic Cowgirl Ranch Dressing
- Cowgirl Ranch Dressing*
- Classic Buttermilk Ranch
- Chipotle Ranch
- Organic Chipotle Ranch Dressing & Quick Marinade
- Organic Creamy Ranch Dressing & Quick Marinade
- Original Ranch Homestyle
- Original Ranch
- Original Ranch Easy Squeeze Bottle
- Avocado Ranch
- Bacon Ranch
- Buffalo Ranch
- Cilantro Lime Ranch
- Cracked Peppercorn Ranch
- Cucumber Ranch
- Plant Powered Ranch*
- Buttermilk Ranch Light
- Cucumber Ranch Light
- Original Ranch Homestyle Light
- Original Ranch Organic
- Original Ranch Fat Free
- Original Ranch Light
- Original Ranch Light Easy Squeeze Bottle
- Buttermilk Ranch
- Peppercorn Ranch
- Lite Ranch
- Lite Buttermilk Ranch
- Chef’s Reserve Farmhouse Ranch with Buttermilk
- Chef’s Reserve Ranch
- Creamy Ranch
- Creamy Chipotle Ranch
- Classic Ranch Dressing
- Light Classic Ranch Dressing
- Avocado Oil & Extra Virgin Olive Oil Ranch Dressing*
- Organic Ranch Dressing
- Ranch Dressing
- Non-Dairy Ranch Dressing*
- Ranch Dressing*
- Vegan Ranch Dressing*
- BBQ Ranch Dressing & Marinade*
- Buttermilk Ranch
- Ranch Dressing & Marinade*
- Buffalo Ranch Dressing
- Cheddar Bacon Ranch Dressing
- Chipotle Ranch Dressing
- Fat Free Ranch Dressing
- Light Buffalo Ranch Dressing
- Light Parmesan Peppercorn Ranch Dressing
- Light Ranch Dressing
- Ranch Dressing
Find out which brands are my go-to’s for gluten-free dairy-free ranch dressing.
Does ranch have dairy? Is ranch dairy-free?
Unfortunately, most ranch dressing contains buttermilk which is fermented milk. It has a tangy flavor that lends itself to most ranch dressings you’ll find on grocery store shelves or in homemade recipes.
Since buttermilk comes from a milk product from cow’s, we can say with certainty that yes, ranch has dairy.
Read on: Does ranch have dairy?
If you love ranch dressing and have been wondering how this salad dressing and dip fits into a gluten-free diet, I hope this information has helped you get clear on whether or not it’s a good choice for you.
Many ranch dressing brands do not contain gluten, but not all share that they are in fact gluten-free. It’s important to check ingredient lists and review labels before buying.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply