Find out if Jiffy cornbread is safe for a gluten-free diet, plus which products this brand makes, and if cornbread is gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to make cornbread to go alongside chili, stew, or soup, you may have looked for shortcuts to make this quickly and easily.
Dry mixes are a great option when you can buy all the ingredients pre-assembled and all you need to do is add eggs, milk, water, or oil.
Without having to measure dry ingredients, you save quite a bit of time in the kitchen and can have cornbread ready for dinner – dare I say – in a jiffy.
You may have come across Jiffy cornbread mix at the store or have enjoyed this quick fix option when you make cornbread for your family.
But you may have wondered if this product is safe for a gluten-free diet. Does Jiffy cornbread mix have gluten or wheat? Find out in this post what Jiffy is, what it’s made of, what products this brand manufactures, and if Jiffy cornbread is safe for a gluten-free diet.
What is Jiffy?
Jiffy is a name brand of baking mixes. They come in small boxes with about six muffin-sized servings in all their muffin boxes.
They make muffin mixes, corn muffin mix, pie crust, brownies, pizza crust, cake mix, biscuit mix, pancake mix, and baking mixes.
Buying a Jiffy mix is a great way to buy dry ingredients for many popular baked goods already premixed at the grocery store. You can simply add wet ingredients like oil, milk, water, and eggs to create a variety of different baked goods at home.
What is Jiffy Cornbread?
Jiffy Cornbread or Jiffy Corn Muffins are a dry mix you can buy at the grocery store with ingredients to make corn muffins or cornbread, depending on what pan you prepare it in.
This mix has the dry ingredients for cornbread and you only need to add one egg and ⅓ cup of milk to make up six muffins.
What flavors and varieties does Jiffy come in?
Jiffy mixes come in a variety of flavors that you can whip up with just a couple wet ingredients. Here is the current lineup of products that Jiffy offers:
- Corn Muffin Mix
- Honey Corn Muffin Mix
- Vegetarian Corn Muffin Mix
- Apple Cinnamon Muffin Mix
- Banana Muffin Mix
- Blueberry Muffin Mix
- Raspberry Muffin Mix
- Golden Yellow Cake Mix
- Fudge Brownie Mix
- Pie Crust Mix
- Pizza Crust Mix
- Buttermilk Biscuit Mix
- Baking Mix
- Buttermilk Pancake & Waffle Mix
What are the ingredients in Jiffy Cornbread mix?
On the packaging of Jiffy Cornbread mix, you’ll find the following ingredients:
Wheat flour, degerminated yellow corn meal, sugar, lard (hydrogenated lard, “bht and citric acid preservatives), contains less than 2% of: baking soda, tricalcium phosphate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate, salt, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid, wheat starch.”
There’s also a “contains: what” note after the ingredients list.
Read on: Is cornmeal gluten-free?
Is cornbread gluten-free?
Cornbread is traditionally not gluten-free as it contains all-purpose flour or wheat flour.
However, the easiest way to make it gluten-free is to substitute the all-purpose flour for a gluten-free flour blend that works as a “measure for measure” option.
Read on: Is cornbread gluten-free?
Is Jiffy Cornbread gluten-free?
Jiffy Cornbread is not considered gluten-free, because it contains wheat flour. There’s also a “contains: wheat” note after the ingredients list making it clear that gluten is present in this brand of cornbread mix.
In addition to this, the Jiffy website has on their FAQ section the answer to this question:
“No. Our current facility does not support the manufacture of gluten-free mixes.”
Which Jiffy products are gluten-free?
Since all Jiffy mixes contain wheat flour, none of them are considered gluten-free. You’ll want to look for another baking mix for cornbread, muffins, cakes, etc with a gluten-free label clearly printed on the package to ensure that it works for your diet.
Gluten-free cornbread options
If you are interested in making your own cornbread at home, it doesn’t require too many ingredients at all. Use this recipe for a gluten-free cornbread or corn muffin option that’s also dairy-free.
Though none of the Jiffy mix options are gluten-free, you can find gluten-free cornbread mix from Bob’s Red Mill, Cup4Cup, King Arthur, and Pamela’s brands.
If you enjoy making cornbread to go with all your favorite barbecue, chili, or hearty stew and soups in the cooler fall and winter months, I hope that you’ve found the information you’re looking for about Jiffy cornbread.
While the Jiffy brand of cornbread isn’t gluten-free, there are plenty of other brands to look for that do offer gluten-free options.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply