Find out if jasmine rice is gluten-free, what it’s used for, and what you need to know about cross contamination when it comes to jasmine rice.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Jasmine rice is a staple in so many Asian dishes and recipes. While this rice is best known for its use in Thai dishes because that’s where it originated, jasmine rice is an extremely versatile type of white rice.
If you love a big serving of jasmine rice when you go out to Chinese restaurants or grab Thai takeout, you’re probably wondering how this rice fits into a gluten-free diet.
Can you eat jasmine rice on a gluten-free diet? If so, what is there to know about this rice in particular that makes it different than other types of rice?
In this post, we’re going to talk about what jasmine rice is, what it’s used for, and if it’s gluten-free. We’ll also go over some gluten-free jasmine rice brands so that you can feel confident choosing a product that works well for your gluten-free diet next time you’re at the store.
What is jasmine rice?
Jasmine rice, also known as Thai fragrant rice, is a long-grain rice that’s popular in Thai and other Asian cooking.
Jasmine rice is a type of white rice, which has the bran and germ removed, leaving the carbohydrate-rich endosperm behind.
Read on: Is white rice gluten-free?
According to Medical News Today, jasmine and white rice share similar nutritional values, with the fiber and protein being equal, but jasmine rice is slightly higher in calories and fat (129 calories per 100 grams of jasmine rice vs 114 calories per 100 grams of white rice.
The fat content varies slightly as well, with 0.46 g of fat per 100 grams of jasmine rice compared to 0 grams of fat per 100 grams of white rice. These two types of rice vary slightly, but not significantly enough to say one is healthier than the other.
What is jasmine rice used for?
Jasmine rice is usually served steamed alongside stir-fries or other Asian dishes that have been fried, grilled, or braised. Jasmine rice is often served as a side dish at many Asian restaurants. It can also be added to fried rice dishes or turned into rice pudding.
Jasmine rice can be used in many recipes where white rice is called for.
Read on: Find out what other foods I stock my kitchen with: Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: How to Stock your Pantry
Read on: Is fried rice gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Read on: What is gluten in food?
Is jasmine rice gluten-free?
Jasmine rice is naturally gluten-free. Keep in mind that even if jasmine rice itself is gluten-free that all other ingredients that are added to a recipe must also be gluten-free.
For example, if you use jasmine rice in a fried rice dish, make sure that the soy sauce used is gluten-free tamari soy sauce instead of traditional Chinese soy sauce, which contains gluten.
Also, though jasmine rice is gluten-free, it may be manufactured on the same equipment and processing lines as other grains that contain gluten. If you are extremely sensitive to gluten, you may consider finding a brand of rice that shows a gluten-free label on the packaging.
A gluten-free label ensures that the product contains no more than 20ppm of gluten in that product.
Read on: Is rice gluten-free?
Read on: Is white rice gluten-free?
Read on: Is brown rice gluten-free?
Read on: Is basmati rice gluten-free?
Read on: Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Gluten-free jasmine rice brands
To be sure you’re buying a gluten-free option of jasmine rice, here are some brands you can look for that have a gluten-free label on their packaging.
- 4 Sisters
- Four Elephants
- Kirkland Signature
- Member’s Mark
- Pride of India
- Ralston Family Farms
- Rice Select
- Royal Elephant
- Tasty Bite
- Thrive Market
- Viet Quality Foods
If you love jasmine rice and have been unsure how it fits into your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has been useful for you to get the information you’ve been looking for.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply