Find out what cream of tartar is, what it’s made from and used for, plus what you need to know about how it fits into a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve ever made an angel food cake, snickerdoodle cookies, or a meringue, you have probably encountered cream of tartar. This ingredient is often mysterious for folks who don’t bake frequently and you may wonder what it’s really for in your recipes.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that every ingredient that goes into your food matters. Even the smallest amount of gluten can trigger some people’s bodies to have a huge reaction.
That’s why we’re taking on one of the teeniest ingredients you’re likely to find in recipes and talking about how it fits into a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post what cream of tartar is, what it’s main uses are (one of them might surprise you), and if this ingredient is safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Of course, we’ll go over a list of a few gluten-free cream of tartar brands so you can feel confident next time you’re shopping for this ingredient in the baking aisle at the grocery store.
Read on: Is angel food cake gluten-free?
What is cream of tartar?
Cream of tartar is a baking ingredient that is used to help stabilize recipes.
It’s often used to stabilize egg whites in meringues and cakes, and is a main ingredient in snickerdoodle cookies and angel food cake.
It has a flavor that is a little tangy, but other than snickerdoodles, I’ve not seen it used as an ingredient that gets used enough to taste in a recipe.
Cream of tartar is a surprising replacement for baking soda, and can be substituted using ¼ tsp of baking soda plus ½ tsp of cream of tartar for every one teaspoon of baking powder in a recipe.
Even though we might know it mostly as a baking ingredient, it can also be used in cleaning. It functions similarly to vinegar and lemon juice in acidity, so it can replace either of them in your homemade cleaning products for polishing metal and copper and cleaning sinks, tubs, and toilets.
Read on: Is baking powder gluten-free?
Read on: Is baking soda gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free snickerdoodles
What is cream of tartar made from?
Cream of tartar is made from potassium bitartrate, a byproduct of wine fermentation. This ingredient is high in acid, functioning as a dry alternative to an ingredient like lemon juice or vinegar in recipes, and aids in leavening in breads, cakes, and other baked goods.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Especially in processed foods, gluten can be added as a stabilizer or thickening agent.
Is cream of tartar gluten-free?
Cream of tartar is made as a byproduct of winemaking, therefore this ingredient is considered gluten-free. Since no gluten is included in the production of making wine, we can assume that generally this ingredient is safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
That said, if you buy cream of tartar from a brand that also manufactures ingredients that contain gluten, there is a possibility of cross contamination. You can look for a brand of gluten-free cream of tartar that uses gluten-free labels on their products if you know for certain that trace amounts of gluten can give your body a reaction.
We’ll go over some brands of cream of tartar that offer gluten-free labels below.
Gluten-free cream of tartar brands
If you’re looking for a cream of tartar option that is gluten-free, be sure to check out one of these options below. While cream of tartar is generally considered to be gluten-free, if you are sensitive to gluten at the trace level or are celiac, looking for one with a gluten free label is a good idea.
If you have been looking to find out if cream of tartar is safe for you to add your favorite recipes and stay on a gluten-free diet, I hope that this post has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for.
Though cream of tartar is generally considered gluten-free, be sure to choose a brand with a gluten-free label if you know you are sensitive to trace levels just to be on the safe side.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply