When you follow a gluten-free diet, even your baking essentials need to be gluten-free. Find out if baking soda is gluten-free and which brands to look for to stick with your diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Baking soda is an essential ingredient in helping breads and cakes rise, and all your other favorite baked goods create a light texture that we all look for.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you need to be on the lookout for hidden gluten – and believe it or not, it can hide in the most unlikely of places. That’s why we need to do our due diligence in looking at ingredients lists and brands before we purchase.
In this post, we’re going to talk about baking soda, if it’s gluten-free, and which brands to look for at the store next time you have some baking to do.
Let’s get into the details of this essential ingredient and find out just how safe it is for a gluten-free diet.
What is baking soda?
Baking soda, also known as sodium bicarbonate, is a salt and leavening agent that’s a common ingredient in baking to help batters rise.
What is baking soda used for?
Baking soda is used as a leavening agent to help breads and baked goods rise. When combined with an acid, it releases carbon dioxide that causes batters to raise and expand, creating a light and fluffy texture in your bread, cakes, or other baked goods.
Baking powder vs baking soda
Baking powder and baking soda are often confused as being the same ingredient, as they both provide leavening in baking.
Though they are used for the same purpose in recipes, baking soda and baking powder need different ingredients to cause a leavening reaction.
Baking soda needs an acid (like lemon juice or vinegar) to react, expand, and release carbon dioxide.
According to MadeHow.com, baking powder usually contains baking soda, cream of tartar, and cornstarch. They also explain this is a base, an acid, and a filler.
Unlike baking soda that needs an acid to react, baking powder already contains an acid from the cream of tartar and only needs a liquid to “activate” the chemical reaction.
Read on: Is baking powder gluten-free?
Read on: Is cream of tartar gluten-free?
Is baking soda gluten-free?
Baking soda is naturally gluten-free. There shouldn’t be any possibility for cross contamination with gluten in baking soda, but if this is a concern, you can always look for a gluten-free label on the packaging before purchasing.
Gluten-free baking soda brands
While most brands of baking soda contain no gluten-containing ingredients, if it helps you feel at ease to know which brands make statement about gluten, here is a list of a few brands that are committed to creating gluten-free products.
Where to buy gluten-free baking soda
You can buy gluten-free baking soda at most grocery stores. Arm & Hammer and Bob’s Red Mill will be the easiest to find at grocery stores nationwide, but if you have a hard time finding them, look on Amazon or Thrive Market.
If you’ve been wondering if baking soda is a gluten-free ingredient, I hope this post has helped you determine where this ingredient can fit into your gluten-free diet. Use baking soda with gluten-free labels without concern for gluten cross contamination in all your favorite baking recipes.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply