Find out if candy corn is gluten-free, dairy-free, or vegan. Plus get a list of candy corn brands with no gluten ingredients.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Candy corn is a quintessential fall candy that’s most popular around Halloween and Thanksgiving. It’s a super sweet candy that’s in the shape of corn and in white, yellow, and orange mimicking the look of corn.
Many folks like to eat candy corn plain or add it to fun food crafts for kids, like as feathers for a turkey or candy corn flowers.
If you enjoy this sweet treat around Halloween or love to share it with kids in your life, you may be wondering if this candy is gluten-free and how it fits into a gluten-free or dairy-free diet.
In this post, we’re going to talk about the main ingredients you’re likely to find in candy corn and answer the question “Is candy corn gluten-free?”
We’ll also cover if candy corn is safe for a dairy-free or vegan diet, and I’ll share a list of brands or candy corn that have no gluten ingredients, so you can feel good about these options.
Find out if your favorite fall candy, candy corn, is gluten-free!
Ingredients of candy corn
Brach’s, the most well known candy corn manufacturer, lists their classic candy corn ingredients with the following:
“Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioner’s Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Cocoa Powder, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Gelatin, Dextrose, Honey, Artificial Flavor, Sesame Oil, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3, Soy Lecithin, Blue 1, Red 40.”
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Is candy corn gluten-free?
Depending on the brand, candy corn may or not contain wheat. For the most part, most brands don’t use wheat in the candy itself, but they do have “may contain” wheat or gluten notes on their product’s packaging.
This means that there is a likelihood that cross contamination occurs during manufacturing, and is something to be aware of on a gluten-free diet.
For example, while there are no gluten-containing ingredients in Brach’s classic candy corn, they make no statements on whether this specific product is gluten-free. However, they do offer a different product that is labeled as gluten-free.
Brach’s Naturally Flavored Candy Corn is considered gluten-free by the brand and has different ingredients. This option has no artificial flavor or coloring and has been tested to have below 20ppm of gluten since it can have a gluten-free label on the packaging.
For a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to look for a brand that has no gluten-containing ingredients in the ingredients list. If you are sensitive to even trace amounts of gluten, be sure to look for a gluten-free label before buying.
Is candy corn dairy-free?
Candy corn contains no dairy ingredients and can be enjoyed on a dairy-free diet.
Is candy corn vegan?
Candy corn is not vegan, because it has gelatin as an ingredient. This is an ingredient that many vegans avoid as it is an animal product.
What candy corn products are gluten-free?
While Brach’s is one of the most popular candy corn manufacturers in the US, there are a number of other brands that make candy corn that is safe for a gluten-free diet.
These are the brands I was able to find that have a gluten-free label in addition to having no gluten ingredients listed.
- Jelly Belly Candy Corn
- Happy Bites Candy Corn
- Fruidles Candy Corn
- Brach’s Naturally Flavored Candy Corn
- Yum Earth Organic Candy Corn
Read on: Are Jelly Bellys gluten-free?
If you love candy corn, I hope this post has helped give you all the information you need in order to determine if you should keep candy corn in your diet through the fall months and holidays.
As with any food or treat, it’s best to review ingredients lists and look for gluten-free labels before buying or eating any packaged food.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply