Find out if buckwheat is gluten-free, what you need to know about eating buckwheat on a gluten-free diet, and brands you can look for.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve been gluten-free for any amount of time, you know that not all grains are safe to enjoy on your gluten-free diet. Buckwheat is a grain that many folks aren’t quite sure of, because it has the name “wheat” in it.
In this post, we’re going to talk about this grain, find out if it’s gluten-free, and what you need to know about eating buckwheat on a gluten-free diet.
We’ll also discuss the different types of buckwheat and how you can find them at the store, plus go over some brands you can look for next time you’re shopping for this ingredient.
What is buckwheat?
Buckwheat is a grain, well technically it’s a seed that has a nutty earthy flavor. It can be cooked as whole seeds, ground into flour, roasted and cooked, and used in a variety of different recipes from salads to pancakes to bread.
Although buckwheat has the word “wheat” in it, it isn’t actually related to wheat at all. Buckwheat are seeds from a completely different plant than its wheat counterparts.
It’s high in B vitamins, fiber, magnesium, phosphorus, and zinc so it’s overall a very healthy ingredient to add to your diet, particularly if you’re looking for an alternative flour or grain to use in your gluten-free recipes.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring in these grains, and even if the grains have gone through a lot of processing and manufacturing, the gluten can’t truly be removed from the rest of the grain.
Is buckwheat gluten-free?
Buckwheat is naturally gluten-free as it doesn’t come from a gluten-containing grain. In fact, it’s a really great substitute for rice or barley (not gluten-free) in many recipes.
You can find a number of recipes that call for buckwheat that are safe for a gluten-free diet, but it’s not as straightforward as saying that buckwheat is always gluten-free.
What do I need to know about buckwheat and gluten
While buckwheat is naturally gluten-free, it is often processed on shared equipment and in facilities with gluten-containing grains. This means that it’s likely that most buckwheat, unless processed on dedicated lines, contain gluten from cross contamination.
Since there’s no way to know how much gluten is present, it’s best to avoid any buckwheat from bulk bins or from brands that sell it without gluten-free labels on the packaging.
Gluten-free Buckwheat Brands
When you’re at the store looking for buckwheat, be sure to choose an option that has a gluten-free label on the package. This label will help you confidently know that the product has less than 20ppm of gluten and is considered safe by the FDA for a gluten-free diet.
This company offers certified gluten-free buckwheat groats and flour. They also have buckwheat cereal.
This brand offers organic certified gluten-free buckwheat flour, groats, cream of buckwheat, and kasha.
Bob’s Red Mill
Bob’s Red Mill is a reputable company with certified gluten-free products. They offer buckwheat flour, groats and a creamy buckwheat hot cereal.
Types of buckwheat
You may find buckwheat labeled as “buckwheat” on packages, but you can also look for these other names of buckwheat and buckwheat products. Be sure to check for a gluten-free label or ask if the item is gluten-free to ensure there’s minimal potential for cross contamination.
- Buckwheat groats
- Kasha (roasted buckwheat groats)
- Buckwheat flour
- Buckwheat hot cereal
- Buckwheat cereal flakes
- Soba noodles
- Kasha bread
- Buckwheat pancakes
Read on: Are soba noodles gluten-free?
Is buckwheat flour gluten-free?
Buckwheat flour is naturally gluten-free, however you’ll want to be careful to not buy just any brand of buckwheat flour.
Look for a gluten-free label on the package to help you identify the brands that don’t use the same processing equipment as other gluten-containing grains and have less of a chance for cross contamination.
Read on: Is buckwheat flour gluten-free?
If you follow a gluten-free diet or are just getting started, I hope this helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for about if this is a safe ingredient and food to add to your diet.
As long as you purchase buckwheat and buckwheat products with gluten-free labels, you should be able to enjoy this ingredient without issue on your gluten-free diet.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply