Find out what baklava is made of, what ingredients are used, and if your favorite layered dessert is safe for a gluten-free diet.
If you’ve found yourself at a restaurant or bakery and saw baklava on the menu, your mouth was probably watering at the idea of this light, flaky, and sweet dessert. It’s the perfect ending to a meal and it’s a classic pastry dish that many bakers learn to make when practicing their craft of making phyllo dough.
If you love buying baklava from a restaurant or bakery, or even have a family recipe that celebrates your culture with baklava, you may have wondered how this delicious dessert will fit in to your gluten-free diet.
In this post, find out what baklava is made from, what ingredients are used to give it it’s quintessential flaky crust and sweet flavor, plus if this dessert is safe for a gluten-free diet. We’ll also talk about some recipes to help you make sure your baklava is gluten-free next time you get a craving for this treat.
Ready to talk baklava? Let’s dive in!
What is baklava?
Baklava is a traditional Greek or Turkish dessert. It’s sweet from honey or sweet syrup and has a light texture from phyllo dough layered with chopped nuts, usually walnuts or pistachios. Other ingredients like butter and cinnamon are often added to add flavor and richness.
Baklava is a popular dessert in Greek cuisine and you can find it in many restaurants and bakeries as well. It’s a dessert that’s at its best when served warm or at room temperature.
What is baklava made from?
There are two most common styles of baklava: Greek and Turkish. It’s a big generalization, but Greek baklava usually contains honey, walnuts, and cinnamon. Turkish baklava uses a sugar syrup, pistachios, spices, and lemon juice.
Both of these desserts are layered with phyllo dough, though some recipes call for rolling baklava.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Does baklava use phyllo dough?
Yes, phyllo dough is a common ingredient in baklava as it provides the layers in the dessert. Phyllo dough is also the top ingredient in the dish, so when you see baklava at restaurants or bakeries, you’re likely to see the golden brown texture of baked phyllo dough on top.
Some baklava is rolled, and in these recipes phyllo dough is the outside layer of the dessert that’s used to hold the sweet nut mixture inside before being cut into bite-sized rolls.
Is phyllo dough gluten-free?
Phyllo dough is traditionally not gluten-free or a good option for a gluten-free diet. That said, if you are craving your favorite baklava or other recipe that calls for phyllo dough, you can certainly try your hand at making your own at home.
If you’ve been wondering how to go gluten and dairy-free, you might want to check out my book The Gluten and Dairy-free Diet: A Beginner’s Guide.
Is baklava gluten-free?
Most baklava is not gluten-free, as it is made using phyllo dough. This dough is mostly made using flour, an ingredient that contains gluten.
When looking to buy baklava from a bakery, restaurant, or a frozen option from the grocery store, you’re most likely going to find gluten as an ingredient in these desserts.
In general, if you’re following a gluten-free diet, baklava is a dessert that you’ll likely want to avoid due to the phyllo dough that’s used in most recipes.
Can I make gluten-free baklava?
If you love baklava and can’t live without this delicious dessert, you may consider making your own gluten-free version at home. There are a few recipes of gluten-free phyllo dough you might want to try your hand at making so you can create your own baklava.
Try one of these recipes for gluten-free phyllo dough if you’re feeling in the mood for gluten-free baklava and have some time to make this dish from scratch.
- Gluten-free phyllo dough from Kouzounas Kitchen
- Gluten-free phyllo dough from Food.com
- Gluten-free phyllo (fillo) dough from Gluten-free on a Shoestring
With one of these recipes, I’d use one of the following baklava recipes to make your gluten-free version come to life:
- Gluten-free Baklava with Honey Syrup Recipe from Gluten-free Recipe Box
- Gluten-free Baklava from Gee Free
- Gluten and Dairy-free Baklava Fingers from Helen Tzouganatos
If you love baklava, it’s important to know that if you’re following a gluten-free diet that your best option is to make your own homemade gluten-free baklava at home with a gluten-free phyllo dough. It won’t be quick and easy, but it will be so worth the end results!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also like to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply