Find out if Twizzlers candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus get a list of gluten-free Twizzlers alternatives to try.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love Twizzlers as a movie snack or as an anytime treat, you may be wondering how this chewy licorice-like candy will fit into your gluten-free diet.
Twizzlers come in a variety of different flavors, including their original strawberry, cherry, and licorice. While not all of their candy can be classified as “licorice,” their products come in fruity flavors and they also have a licorice flavored option.
The original strawberry and cherry flavors are quite popular at movie theaters and you can find them at most grocery stores. They’ve expanded their product lines to include all types of fruit flavors, sour candy, and even some unexpected flavors like chocolate and orange cream pop.
Whether you’re just getting started with being gluten-free or have been at it for a while, we can probably agree that knowing where gluten shows up – even in our favorite treats – is important so we can do our best to avoid getting sick.
In this post, we’re going to talk all about Twizzlers and help you determine if you want to keep this candy on rotation in your diet. We’ll cover the ingredients of Twizzlers and answer the question “are Twizzlers gluten-free?”
We’ll also go over if this candy is dairy-free or vegan, and wrap the post up with a few suggestions for other brands you might want to shop for. Let’s find out more about Twizzlers!
Though the ingredients will vary depending on the flavor of Twizzlers you buy, the main ingredients are: corn syrup, enriched wheat flour, vegetable oil, modified potato starch, glyceryl monostearate, natural and artificial flavors, salt, cornstarch, glycerin, citric acid, soy lecithin, artificial color (yellow 5, blue 1, red 40), carrageenan, potassium sorbate.
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
Read on: Is soy lecithin gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Twizzlers gluten-free?
Twizzlers are not gluten-free because they contain wheat flour. The Hershey Company (Twizzler’s parent brand) has put out a statement specifically on this topic to help us get a clear answer too:
“TWIZZLERS products are not gluten-free because they include wheat as an ingredient. While these particular products are not gluten-free, we do offer other gluten-free products.”
The brand shares a list of gluten-free candy on their website that they offer. You can find that list here.
The website confirms that all flavors of Twizzlers are not gluten-free.
Are Twizzlers dairy-free?
Based on the ingredients list, we can see that Twizzlers contain no dairy products, and are therefore safe to enjoy on a dairy-free diet.
Are Twizzlers vegan?
Twizzlers candy doesn’t have any gelatin, which is an ingredient that many vegans watch out for in candy products. This type of candy is vegan-friendly.
Read on: Are Twizzlers vegan?
What Twizzlers products are gluten-free?
All Twizzlers candy is made with wheat flour, making it all not gluten-free. You’ll want to choose another type of gluten-free candy to get your sweet craving satisfied.
Gluten-free Twizzlers Alternatives
If you love Twizzlers and are looking for a gluten-free alternative to enjoy next time you’re getting ready for movie night or packing up a sweet treat for your kiddos, try one of these options.
Fruity Twizzlers Alternatives
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Pomegranate Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Strawberry Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Peach Licorice
- Candy Tree Gluten-free Raspberry Twists
- Clif Strawberry Fruit Ropes
Traditional Red and Black Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Black Licorice
- Smart Sweets Red Twists
- Gimbal’s All Natural Black Licorice Scottie Dogs
- Gimbal’s All Natural Strawberry Licorice Scottie Dogs
- Lakritsfabriken Swedish Premium Soft Licorice
- Candy Tree Gluten-free Licorice Twists
- Oldtimer’s Smallingerlandse Salmiak Klinkers Licorice
- Zot Organic Licorice
- See’s Candies Red Licorice Medallions
Read on: Gluten-free licorice
I hope if you’re a big Twizzlers fan that this post has given you all the information you need to make an informed decision about keeping this candy in your diet.
While all of Twizzlers products do contain gluten, there are a number of great alternatives in both fruit and traditional licorice options.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply