Learn what pudding is made of, if it’s gluten-free, plus find out if popular brands of pudding are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
When you think of pudding, what do you think of? I think of hanging out with my friends in the summer when I was kid, eating pudding out of little snack pack cups and wiping chocolate off my face.
Pudding is a dessert that has a name to encompass many types of desserts. The pudding that comes to mind for me when I hear the word is a custard-type of dessert that comes in flavors like chocolate, vanilla, and butterscotch.
There are other types of pudding, as well, like bread pudding, rice pudding, tapioca pudding, and even corn pudding. All of these are sweet treats that are usually made with cream, milk, and eggs with a custard consistency.
Since being on a gluten-free diet means we have to look at each and every food that enters our bodies with a careful eye, we’re going to talk all about pudding in this post and dive deep into how it fits into a gluten-free diet.
Learn what pudding is made of, if it’s gluten-free, and when to be careful of gluten as it relates to pudding.
We’ll also go over a list of gluten-free pudding brands that you can shop for, review some popular pudding brands and find out if they are gluten-free, and wrap the post up with talking about different types of pudding and their gluten-free status.
If you love pudding, you’re in the right place to learn how it fits into your gluten-free diet and when you can enjoy it safely and when you need to be more cautious.
What is pudding made of?
Homemade pudding is usually made with heavy cream, cornstarch, eggs or egg yolks, milk, sugar, and vanilla. Different flavors of pudding may have other ingredients, like chocolate, pumpkin, or lemon.
Instant pudding is made with sugar, flavorings, and starch (usually cornstarch). When milk is added, the pudding gels with the starch creating the custard pudding texture that most of us come to expect from a pudding.
Some puddings can also contain other ingredients, like corn, bread, rice, or tapioca to give the pudding texture and get the starch from ingredients other than powdered thickeners, like cornstarch.
Is pudding gluten-free?
Many pudding recipes and brands are gluten-free, as they use cornstarch as a thickening agent to gel the pudding together and create the proper texture.
We’ll review brands later on the post, but if you’re making pudding at home, the best way to know your pudding recipe is gluten-free is to use gluten-free ingredients.
Read on: Is creme brulee gluten-free?
When is pudding not gluten-free?
Pudding may not be gluten-free if the brand you buy either uses gluten-containing ingredients or the ingredients in the pudding have come into contact with gluten in some way before making it to the final product.
It’s important to review packaging for both ingredients lists for hidden sources of gluten, as well as look for a gluten-free label. Some popular pudding brands don’t contain gluten ingredients, but they also don’t have a gluten-free label.
You’ll have to use your best judgement as to whether you want to risk the potential for cross contamination based on what you know about your body’s level of sensitivity to gluten.
One type of pudding almost always contains gluten – bread pudding. Unless the bread that’s used is gluten-free, you can assume bread pudding is not safe for your gluten-free diet.
Gluten-free pudding brands
There are a number of brands that contain no gluten-containing ingredients that are generally considered safe for a gluten-free diet. However, you’d have to know your level of gluten sensitivity to make an informed decision as to whether trace amounts of gluten affect you and your body.
These are the brands that are labeled and the brands have confirmed are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Are my favorite brands of pudding gluten-free?
There are a number of brands of pudding that you can buy at the store. Find out if your favorite brands of pudding are safe for your gluten-free diet.
Is Cottees instant pudding gluten-free?
This Australia-based brand has a note on their packaging and website that says their ingredients contain traces of gluten. You will want to skip this brand if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
Is Godiva pudding gluten-free?
Godiva shares on the FAQ page of their website that “Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of our products (with the exception of the three certified gluten-free items listed above).” Those three of their products are not any of their pudding products.
Avoid this brand of pudding if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
Is Great Value pudding gluten-free?
The packaging on Great Value pudding states “may contain traces of milk, eggs, almonds, coconut, pecans, pistachios, peanuts, wheat, and soy.”
The presence of wheat in this list means gluten-free folks will probably want to avoid this product.
Is Jell-O pudding gluten-free?
Jello pudding is considered to be gluten-free, because there are no gluten-containing names in the ingredient list. As of right now, Kraft, the maker of Jello, is known for being good about placing notes on products that contain gluten.
I’ve also done a bit of research on this, and found although the normal Jello pudding is gluten-free and uses cornstarch as the main thickening agent, the Jello “cook & serve” pudding contains dextrose, which CAN be a hidden source of gluten (it is often made with corn, but can be made from rice or wheat).
With as much confidence as we can have without a gluten-free label, we can consider Jell-O pudding a gluten-free product. It never hurts to read ingredient lists and look for hidden sources of gluten.
Read on: Is Jello pudding gluten-free?
Read on: Is Jello gluten-free?
Is My-T Fine Pudding gluten-free?
I wasn’t able to find a statement from this brand’s website, however I did confirm that their ingredients list doesn’t show any gluten-containing ingredients.
That said, I found a forum where someone mentioned they verified by phone that one of the flavors (butterscotch) of their pudding was not gluten-free and this was verified over the phone. This was from 2006, so the recipe may have changed, however it’s best to review the packaging of what you buy for confirmation.
Look for a gluten-free label and review ingredients lists.
Is Royal instant pudding gluten-free?
Royal instant pudding doesn’t contain any gluten-containing ingredients, however it also doesn’t have a gluten-free label.
Be aware that there’s a potential for cross contamination, but you can make a choice based on your body and what you know about your level of sensitivity to gluten.
Is Snack Pack pudding gluten-free?
Many flavors of Snack Pack pudding are gluten-free and you can verify these in person when you pick them up at the store. These are the flavors I was able to confirm are gluten-free on their website.
Chocolate, Chocolate Vanilla, Vanilla, Butterscotch, Milk Chocolate, Chocolate Fudge, Lemon, Banana Cream Pie, Unicorn Magic, Duce de Leche, Chocolate Cinnamon Spice, and Cinnamon Twist Churro.
Some of their other flavors may not contain gluten-containing ingredients, but they aren’t indicated on their website. Look at the packaging when you’re at the store to confirm.
Are my favorite types of pudding gluten-free?
There are many different types of pudding, so you may be wondering which you can safely enjoy on your gluten-free diet. Let’s go through some of the most popular flavors and varieties and answer how they fit into a gluten-free life.
Is chocolate pudding gluten-free?
Chocolate pudding can easily be made gluten-free if cornstarch is used and no other gluten-containing ingredients are added.
Is pumpkin pudding gluten-free?
Pumpkin pudding is generally made with cornstarch as a thickener, which means this flavor is usually safe for a gluten-free diet. Review packaging for gluten ingredients if you’re buying from the store, but homemade pumpkin pudding should be gluten-free.
Is rice pudding gluten-free?
Rice pudding is usually gluten-free as it uses the starches from the rice to thicken the pudding. If you’re making this at home, you can definitely make it gluten-free by following most recipes you find online.
If you buy from the store in a package, review ingredients lists for hidden sources of gluten.
Is bread pudding gluten-free?
Bread pudding is almost always not gluten-free, as the bread used in bread pudding contains gluten. I wouldn’t buy this from the store or restaurant if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
If you love bread pudding and want to make your own at home, use gluten-free bread to ensure your recipe is gluten-free.
Is egg pudding gluten-free?
Egg pudding is generally made without any starches and instead steams an egg custard. This is usually safe for a gluten-free diet, especially when made at home.
Is corn pudding gluten-free?
Corn pudding can be made gluten-free, depending on the thickener that is used in the dish. If the recipe calls for cornstarch, be sure to use a gluten-free option and other gluten-free ingredients to ensure it’s truly gluten-free.
Don’t use any enriched or white or wheat flour in corn pudding to avoid gluten in this dish.
Is tapioca pudding gluten-free?
Tapioca pudding uses pearl tapioca as a thickener in the pudding as opposed to any gluten ingredients. This is almost always gluten-free, especially when made at home.
Review packaging and ingredients lists on store-bought options of tapioca pudding to ensure there’s no hidden gluten before buying.
Is pudding dairy-free?
Most pudding contains milk or cream and most mixes you buy from the store call for milk to help the pudding set. If you’re following a dairy-free diet in addition to avoiding gluten, you may opt to try one of these recipes for a gluten and dairy-free pudding to satisfy your craving.
- Gluten free & Vegan Chocolate Pudding
- Dairy-free Vanilla Pudding
- Dairy-free Vanilla Cream Pudding
- Gluten-free Chocolate Pudding with a vegan option
- Gluten-free Chocolate Pudding
If you love pudding and are trying to stick with your gluten-free diet, I hope that you’ve found all the information you need to help you enjoy your favorite pudding desserts. It’s always a good idea to read ingredients lists for hidden sources of gluten when shopping for a package mix and look for a gluten-free label.
If you love pudding and can’t live without it, making your own at home is the best option and easy to make gluten-free with the use of cornstarch. You won’t have to worry about cross contamination, because you know where all the ingredients have been and what you’ve chosen.
Enjoy whipping up some chocolate, vanilla, or tapioca pudding to serve for dessert tonight!