Find out what creme brûlée is, what it’s made from, and if this popular dessert is safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love to order creme brûlée when you go out to eat? This popular dessert is not only delicious but it’s a full experience when you get to crack through the topping to get to the full dessert.
Like all desserts though, it’s important to determine if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet before you order it or try your hand at making it at home.
In this post, we’ll talk all about creme brûlée – what it is, what ingredients are used in this dessert, and if it’s safe for folks on a gluten-free diet. We’ll also talk about whether or not creme brûlée is dairy-free and set you up to try your hand at making your own gluten-free creme brûlée at home with a few recipes.
Ready to see if this creamy, crunchy, rich dessert is gluten-free? Let’s get into it!
What is creme brûlée?
Creme brûlée is a popular dessert with a pudding-like custard making up the majority of the dish and a caramelized sugar topping on top. Creme brûlée is translated in French to “burnt cream,” giving away very obviously what it is and what it’s made of.
What’s unique about this dessert is that the sugar topping is torched to create a hard breakable caramelized “shell” that is fun to crack with your spoon. This hard topping combined with the creamy custard of the dessert makes for an interesting contrast in textures.
While creme brûlée is most often made and sold as a vanilla dessert, you can make variations in chocolate, citrus, strawberry or raspberry, and even coffee.
Creme brûlée is most often sold at restaurants, but it can also be made at home with the right ingredients.
What are the ingredients in creme brûlée?
A classic creme brûlée is most commonly made up of these ingredients: heavy cream, sugar, egg yolks, vanilla, and salt. You may also see some variations of creme brûlée that have been flavored with citrus, berries, chocolate, or even coffee.
The caramelized sugar topping you’ll find on creme brûlée is simply made out of sugar that has been burned with a kitchen torch.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is creme brûlée gluten-free?
Creme brûlée is gluten-free as all the ingredients are naturally gluten-free! This is a dessert that you can feel good enjoying on your gluten-free diet, assuming it hasn’t had any opportunities for cross contamination in the kitchen it’s being prepared in.
Read on: Is pudding gluten-free?
Is creme brûlée dairy-free?
Unfortunately creme brûlée contains heavy cream which is a dairy ingredient. This is not a dairy-free food, so you’ll want to stay away from traditional versions of this dessert.
That said, you can make a dairy-free or vegan version of this dessert at home if you have the desire and the tools – namely a kitchen torch.
Recipes for gluten-free creme brûlée
If you love creme brûlée and want to try your hand at making it yourself at home, know that most classic creme brûlée recipes are going to work for your gluten-free diet. Here are five that you might want to try out:
- Vanilla Creme Brûlée from Mark Bittman
- Easy Creme Brûlée from The Recipe Critic
- Creme Brûlée from Serious Eats
- Favorite Creme Brûlée from Martha Stewart
- Vanilla Creme Brûlée from The Suburban Soapbox
If you’re looking for a dairy-free or vegan creme brûlée option, be sure to check out these recipes:
- Vegan Creme Brûlée from Addicted to Dates
- Vegan Creme Brûlée from Nora Cooks
- Vegan Creme Brûlée from The Buddhist Chef
If you’ve been wondering if your favorite dessert is safe for you and your gluten-free diet, I hope you have found the answers you’ve been looking for. Creme brûlée is gluten-free and can be enjoyed while steering clear of gluten in your diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply