Find out what Powerade is and what ingredients are used to make this sports drink. Plus find out if it’s safe to drink on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you are a fan of doing intense workouts followed by a cold sweet drink to replenish your body’s electrolytes, you have probably heard of or drank a Powerade.
Even if you’re not into doing big workouts with sports drinks, chances are you’ve seen Powerade at the store or even in restaurants that sell Pepsi products.
This sweet fruit-flavored drink is best known for its ability to give you vital nutrients after a big sweat session, but it’s tasty enough to drink any time.
If you’re like me, you know gluten can hide just about anywhere – drinks included. And while trying to stick with a gluten-free diet, it’s important to do some research before eating or drinking anything from a package.
That’s why in this post we’re digging into the topic of Powerade. We’re going to talk about what Powerade is and why folks love drinking it.
We’ll also talk about what different flavors and varieties it comes in and the ingredients you’ll find in Powerade products.
Finally, we’ll wrap this post up talking about whether or not this drink is considered gluten-free – and the details you need to know about how it fits into a gluten-free diet.
Ready to power up? Let’s talk about Powerade!
What is Powerade?
Powerade is a sports drink that has electrolytes that are said to help replenish your hydration after exercise. This sports drink is similar to Gatorade but Powerade has more vitamins than Gatorade, according to this Healthline article.
People love Powerade because it provides carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals, and electrolytes – all great things for you to load up on after a good amount of time exercising.
With a variety of colors, this sports drink is easy to spot. You can find Powerade in bright colors like blue, red, purple, orange, yellow, pink, and green in coordinating flavors that we’ll talk about further down in the post.
Powerade is manufactured by the Coca-Cola Company, while its main competitor Gatorade is made by PepsiCo. A fitting rivalry.
You can find Powerade at most grocery stores, convenience stores, and even in many fast food restaurants that offer Pepsi products.
What flavors and varieties does Powerade come in?
Powerade offers a number of different ways that you can enjoy their sports drink. They have four main product lines and different flavors for each. Let’s go through their current product lineup so you know what to expect when at the store:
- Mountain Berry Blast
- Fruit Punch
- Lemon Lime
- White Cherry
- Strawberry Lemonade
Powerade Zero Sugar
- Watermelon Berry
- Citrus Peach
- Mixed Berry
- Fruit Punch
- White Cherry
- Berry Cherry
- Tropical Mango
Powerade Sports Freezer Bars
- Mountain Berry Blast
- Fruit Punch
Ingredients in Powerade
The ingredients in Powerade will vary from flavor to flavor and in the different product lines. Let’s go over a few of them to give you an idea of what ingredients are used in these sports drinks.
These are the ingredients you’ll find in Powerade Mountain Berry Blast:
“Water, high fructose corn syrup, less than 0.5% of: citric acid, electrolytes (salt, magnesium and calcium chlorides, mono-potassium phosphate), natural flavors, modified food starch, calcium disodium edta (to protect color), mct, saib, vitamins b3, b6, b12 (niacinamide, pyridoxine hydrochloride, cyanocobalamin), blue”
You’ll find these ingredients in Powerade Zero Sugar in the Watermelon Berry flavor::
“Water, less than 1% of: citric acid, electrolytes (salt, mono-potassium phosphate, magnesium and calcium chlorides), ascorbic acid (to protect taste), natural flavors, sucralose, acesulfame k, vitamins b3, b6, b12 (niacinamide, pyridoxine hydrochloride, cyanocobalamin), red 40, calcium disodium edta (to protect color).”
These are the ingredients in Powerade Power Water in Berry Cherry:
“Water, less than 0.5% of: natural flavors, citric acid, electrolytes (salt, magnesium and calcium chlorides), potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate and ascorbic acid and calcium disodium edta (to protect flavor), sucralose, acesulfame k, vitamins b3, b6, b12 (niacinamide, pyridoxine hydrochloride, cyanocobalamin).”
The Powerade Sports Freezer Bars contain the following ingredients:
“Water, high fructose corn syrup, contains 2% or less of the following: natural flavors, citric acid, sodium citrate, sodium benzoate and potassium sorbate (preservatives), monopotassium phosphate, calcium lactate, calcium gluconate, magnesium oxide, dicalcium phosphate, niacinamide (vitamin b3), pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin b6), cyanocobalamin (vitamin b12), red 40, blue 1.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives.
These come in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is Powerade gluten-free?
Powerade contains no gluten ingredients, however it is not labeled as gluten-free. This means either the brand has not tested their products or they use equipment that they acknowledge could have the potential for cross contamination during manufacturing.
As far as the general public knows, Powerade sports drinks are gluten-free. Without a gluten-free label, it’s best to always check ingredient lists before buying.
Read on: Is Gatorade gluten-free?
If you enjoy grabbing a sports drink after a tough workout to replenish your electrolytes or simply just to cool off, I hope this post answers the questions you might have about it fitting in with your gluten-free lifestyle.
Though Powerade contains no gluten ingredients, there is no gluten-free label, so keep that in mind before buying this product.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply