Find out if Manwich, the popular Sloppy Joe sauce, is safe for a gluten-free diet as well as what it’s made of, and what other gluten-free sloppy joe mixes are available.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Does your family love Sloppy Joe sandwiches for dinners? If so, you’ve probably heard of Manwich before. This popular canned sauce is used to make a package of ground beef and a stack of hamburger buns into a main dish perfect for the family.
But if you’re getting started with a gluten-free diet or are making some small simple tweaks to what you’re making for dinners lately for your family members who are gluten-free, you might have wondered if this sauce option is going to continue to be a good option for you.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Manwich is, what the ingredients are in this popular sauce, as well as answer the big question “is Manwich gluten-free?”
We’ll wrap this post up with a few other brands and other Sloppy Joe mixes and sauces you might consider buying that will work for your gluten-free diet.
Ready to dive in? Let’s get started!
What is Manwich?
Manwich is a brand of sauce that’s used in making the ever-popular dish of Sloppy Joes. It’s considered a convenience food that helps to simplify making this dish at home by allowing you to buy the sauce already pre-made.
To make Sloppy Joes, you’d add this Manwich sauce to a skillet with cooked ground beef to heat and cook through. Once it’s warmed through, you can serve this meat and sauce mixture on buns or bread to make Sloppy Joes.
You can find Manwich in a few varieties. In addition to their Original recipe, they also have Bourbon BBQ, Bold, and Thick & Chunky.
Read on: 21 gluten and dairy-free game day appetizers and mains
According to the Manwich website, these are the ingredients in Manwich original:
Tomato puree (water, tomato paste), high fructose corn syrup, distilled vinegar, corn syrup, less than 2% of: salt, sugar, carrot fiber, dried green and red bell peppers, chili pepper, guar gum, spices, xanthan gum, dried garlic, natural flavors, and citric acid.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape. You can create a malt from any of these grains.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is Manwich gluten-free?
There are no gluten-containing ingredients in Manwich products. That said, they also don’t have a gluten-free label on their packaging.
This means there’s still a chance of cross contamination in this product during manufacturing. It could also mean that the brand simply doesn’t test their products for gluten.
Either way, use your best judgment on whether or not you’ll purchase this product to enjoy in your gluten-free diet based on what you know about how your body tolerates gluten.
Is Manwich dairy-free?
Manwich products do not contain any dairy ingredients, making them safe for folks who follow a dairy-free diet.
Brands of Gluten-free Sloppy Joe Mixes and Sauces
Though Manwich contains no gluten ingredients, you might feel more comfortable buying a Sloppy Joe sauce that offers a gluten-free label on the packaging. This labeling will ensure that the manufacturer has tested their products and they confirm that there is less than 20ppm of gluten in that product.
These are the brands and products you’ll want to keep your eyes out for when shopping for a gluten-free Sloppy Joe sauce or mix.
- Dei Fratelli
- McCormick Sloppy Joe Mix
- Mom’s Place Sloppy Joe Seasoning Mix (certified gluten free)
- Red Fork Sloppy Joe Skillet Sauce
- Simply Organic Sloppy Joe Mix
- Spicekick Sloppy Joe Seasoning
- Stonewall Kitchen Sloppy Joe Sauce
If you’ve been wondering if Manwich is a safe option for you on your gluten-free diet, know that while this brand isn’t considered gluten-free by the manufacturer itself, that there are no gluten-containing ingredients either.
There are other brands that do have gluten-free labels that will be a great substitute if you’re looking for that extra level of comfort in knowing that what you’re eating is safe for you and your gluten-free diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply