Find out if Laffy Taffy candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan and how this candy fits into each of these diets.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Laffy Taffy is a chewy fruity candy that’s popular among kids. You can often find Laffy Taffy around Halloween and in those large bags of “kids mix” throughout the year at the grocery store.
Each Laffy Taffy package has a joke on the side, giving it it’s signature name of “Laffy” taffy. You eat taffy, you laugh a little, it’s a real treat through and through.
If you enjoy this candy and have been wondering how it fits into your gluten-free diet, I’ve got you covered in today’s post. We’re going to talk about who makes Laffy Taffy candy, the ingredients of this taffy, and find out if it is gluten-free.
We’ll also answer some questions about if Laffy Taffy is dairy-free and vegan, as well as talk about what varieties of Laffy Taffy are gluten-free.
Let’s get into it!
Who makes Laffy Taffy candy?
Laffy Taffy is made by the Ferrara Candy company. This brand makes other popular candies, like Trolli, Black Forest, Brach’s, and Sweet Tarts.
Ingredients of Laffy Taffy
This candy comes in a variety of flavors, so the ingredients will vary slightly depending on which flavor you choose, but these are the ingredients found in most flavors of Laffy Taffy.
Ingredients in banana Laffy Taffy: Corn syrup, sugar, palm oil, and less than 2% of, mono- and diglycerides, hydrogenated cottonseed oil, salt, soy lecithin, natural flavor, yellow 5.
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Is Laffy Taffy gluten-free?
Laffy Taffy is considered safe for a gluten-free diet, as they contain no gluten ingredients.
Laffy Taffy may not have any gluten-containing ingredients in the product, but there is also not a clear gluten-free label indicating that the final product is gluten-free.
This means that there’s a potential for cross contamination with gluten products during manufacturing. Use your own best judgement based on your level of sensitivity to gluten to determine if you want to enjoy this treat on a gluten-free diet.
Is Laffy Taffy dairy-free?
Laffy Taffy contains no dairy ingredients and is generally considered safe for folks who avoid dairy in their diet.
Is Laffy Taffy vegan?
According to Veg Knowledge, Laffy Taffy minis and ropes are vegan. Stretchy and Tangy Laffy Taffy and Laffy Taffy flavored jelly beans are not vegan.
Which Laffy Taffy products are gluten-free?
Laffy Taffy candy is considered safe for a gluten and dairy-free diet, as it contains no gluten or dairy ingredients. Though these candies have no gluten, there may be a potential for cross contamination, so keep this in mind if you cannot tolerate even trace amounts of gluten.
These are the products that are considered gluten-free from Laffy Taffy:
- Stretchy & Tangy
If you find yourself with Laffy Taffy around Halloween or throughout the year, know that this treat is safe for both a gluten-free and dairy-free diet. I hope if you’ve been looking for some answers about this candy, that this post has been useful for you!