Find out if hoisin sauce is safe for a gluten-free diet, what it’s made of, and specific brands to shop for if you’re making your own stir-fry sauce at home.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve been to a Chinese restaurant in your lifetime, there’s no doubt you’ve had hoisin sauce in one dish or another that you’ve tried.
This popular sauce is so full of flavor that it’s perfect to enjoy on its own but great in other sauces and dishes as well. So if you’ve seen a recipe that’s called for hoisin sauce and wondered if this is an ingredient you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet you’re in the right place.
In this post, we’re going to talk all about hoisin sauce. We’ll find out what it is, what it’s made from, and what its used for. We’ll also get to the nitty gritty of why you’re here – to answer the question “Is hoisin sauce gluten-free?”
While the answer might surprise you, you’ll love to know what your options are for this condiment and sauce on your gluten-free diet. Keep on reading for all the details on hoisin sauce!
What is hoisin sauce?
Hoisin sauce is a sauce used as an ingredient in many Asian dishes, including adding to sauces for noodles or vegetables for stir-fries or marinades.
Another place you might find hoisin sauce is in dipping sauces for sushi.
Read on: Is sushi gluten-free?
What is hoisin sauce made from?
According to FoodNetwork.com, hoisin sauce is made with sugar, water, soybeans, salt, sweet potato, sesame seeds, cornstarch, garlic, wheat flour, chili pepper, and spices.
With all these ingredients combined, the resulting sauce is sweet and savory, making it a great option for adding to other sauces and dishes as well as being delicious on its own as a dipping sauce.
What is hoisin sauce used for?
Hoisin sauce is used for flavoring meat dishes, stir-fries, noodles, marinades, and as a dipping sauce. Though you can find hoisin sauce used in a variety of Asian cuisine dishes, it originated as a Cantonese creation.
You’ll find hoisin sauce used mainly in Chinese dishes at restaurants in the US, you might also find other cuisines borrow this ingredient to make the most of its sweet and savory profile.
Read on: Gluten-free Chinese food
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is hoisin sauce gluten-free?
Unfortunately, most traditional hoisin sauce contains wheat flour, wheat, or wheat protein. Sometimes this is an ingredient added on its own, other times it’s from soy sauce added to the sauce.
Either way, any wheat ingredients make most hoisin sauce not a safe choice for folks on a gluten-free diet.
That said, you can find a few brands out there that make their recipe using no wheat. You can find these by looking for a gluten-free label on the packaging.
Look for the brands from the next section to help you make quick decisions next time you’re shopping for this ingredient.
Gluten-free hoisin sauce options
You can find a few gluten-free hoisin sauce varieties from various manufacturers. Here are a few to look for next time you’re looking for this product:
- Kikkoman Gluten-free Hoisin Sauce
- San-J Gluten-free Hoisin Sauce
- Lee Kum Kee Gluten-free Hoisin Sauce
- Wok Mei Gluten-free Hoisin Sauce
- Premier Japan Organic Wheat Free Hoisin Sauce
If you’ve been wondering if the hoisin sauce you get at sushi restaurants or this sauce that you use in your favorite stir-fry sauces at home is safe for a gluten-free diet, I hope this information has been helpful for you.
While most traditional hoisin sauces are not gluten-free, you can find specialty gluten-free hoisin sauce products. Look for specific brands and a gluten-free label to make sure what you’re buying is safe for you and your diet.
f you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply