Find out what Dr Pepper is, what it’s made from, and if it’s safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus which flavors are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love Dr Pepper as a favorite soda brand and follow along with a gluten-free diet, you might have wondered if this sweet drink can stay in your diet. If you’re just getting started avoiding gluten, you have probably already learned that gluten can hide in just about any food and drink that’s processed.
That’s why in this post, we’re going to dig deeper into one specific brand of soda and find out if it’s gluten-free. We’re going to talk about Dr Pepper and learn what it’s made from, and if this drink is considered a safe option for those of us on a gluten-free diet.
What is Dr Pepper?
Dr Pepper is a type of soda or soft drink that’s carbonated that’s made with a unique proprietary recipe. Dr Pepper tastes different from many other sodas, like cola or lemon lime sodas.
This carbonated soft drink has a unique flavor that is somewhat hard to describe, because it is so different from others out there. It has a bold flavor that has notes of herbs and spices like allspice, mint, and licorice.
Others say it has cherry or plum flavors and other vanilla and cinnamon notes. It’s hard to describe, but there are notes of sweet, spicy, and deep rich flavors.
Dr Pepper has been around since 1885 and has been marketed nationwide since 1904. It’s now a worldwide beverage and sold in Europe, Asia, North and South America, according to Wikipedia.
What is Dr Pepper made from?
According to the packaging on Dr Pepper soda, these are the ingredients on the original flavor:
“Carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural and artificial flavors, sodium benzoate (preservative), caffeine.”
Other flavors of Dr Pepper will contain other ingredients, like aspartame in Diet Dr Pepper,
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is soda gluten-free?
The most common brands and flavors of soda that you’re likely to find in stores and restaurants in the United States (and North America as a whole) are gluten-free. This is because the ingredients that are added to soda and soft drinks do not contain any ingredients from gluten-containing grains.
As indicated by Healthline, generic or store-brand varieties of popular sodas could potentially contain gluten as they use a different set of ingredients than the major soda manufacturers like Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and Dr Pepper.
Read on: Is soda gluten-free?
Is Dr Pepper gluten-free?
Dr Pepper contains no gluten ingredients and is generally considered a gluten-free drink that’s safe for folks who are gluten intolerant as well as celiac. This includes all the different flavors of Dr Pepper.
What flavors of Dr Pepper are gluten-free?
All flavors of Dr Pepper are considered safe for folks on a gluten-free diet. There are no hidden names of gluten in the ingredients lists. Here are the various flavors of Dr Pepper you can look for next time you’re at the store.
- Dr. Pepper
- Dr. Pepper & Cream Soda
- Dr. Pepper Cherry
- Dr. Pepper Zero Sugar
- Dr. Pepper & Cream Soda Zero Sugar
- Dr. Pepper Cherry Zero Sugar
- Diet Dr. Pepper
- Caffeine Free Dr. Pepper
- Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla
- Diet Dr. Pepper Cherry Vanilla
- Diet Dr. Pepper Caffeine Free
- Dr. Pepper Made with Sugar
If you love the flavor of Dr Pepper and are wondering how to fit this soda into your gluten-free diet every once in a while, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for. Dr Pepper and all their products are considered safe for folks who avoid gluten in their diet.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply