Find out if Busch Light is safe for a gluten-free diet, what ingredients are in this beer, and which brands of beer are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to grab a beer at the end of the day or find yourself looking at a restaurant or bar menu, you’ve probably heard of Busch Light.
This popular light beer is available at many grocery stores, restaurants, bars, and even sporting events and stadiums.
But if you’re like me and follow a gluten-free diet, you’ve probably found yourself going through all your favorite foods and drinks and wondering how they fit into this new way of eating and living.
It’s true that many foods and drinks contain gluten, which is why I’m doing my best to go through some of the popular ones and share what I know about some popular brands.
In this post, we’ll talk about Busch Light and discuss what this beer is best known for, who makes it, and what ingredients are in this beer.
We’ll also go over if beer is generally gluten-free, if Busch Light beer is gluten-free, and I’ll share some resources to point you in the direction of gluten-free beers you can start exploring.
If you enjoy Busch Light or are just trying to get a gauge on which products are safe for your gluten-free diet and which aren’t, this post is for you.
What is Busch Light?
Busch Light is a brand of light beer which tastes the same as Busch beer but with less calories. It has about 95 calories and 4.1% abv.
It’s a popular brand name of light beer that you’re likely to find at many bars and restaurants, as well as in cases from grocery stores and liquor stores.
Who makes Busch Light?
Busch Light is made by Anheuser-Busch. This is the same brand that makes other Busch beers, like Busch, Busch Ice, and Busch NA.
They also make other popular beer brands, like Budweiser, Bug Light, Michelob Ultra, and Stella Artois.
Read on: Is Michelob Ultra beer gluten-free?
Read on: Is Bud Light gluten-free?
What are the ingredients in Busch Light?
The Busch website shows only four ingredients in their beer: water, barley, rice, and hops.
While this is vague, beer and liquor manufacturers are not required by law to report their ingredients.
Whatever the brand tells you is more than they have to share legally, so take that for what it’s worth.
That said, I did a little extra digging and was able to find from this website a few more details on their ingredients:
“Water, Yeast, Barley Malt, Hops, and Grains (such as Rice, Corn, and Sorghum).”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are used as flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is beer gluten-free?
No, most beer is not gluten-free. It’s most commonly made with malted barley – and sometimes with wheat.
Both barley and wheat are gluten-containing grains, making them not safe for a gluten-free diet.
In the process of making beer, the gluten remains in the drink, as opposed to distilled drinks, such as whiskey that uses malted barley but the gluten is distilled out of the final product.
Not all beer contains gluten though. Luckily, there are gluten-free beers available and on the market.
You can look for bottles and brands with a gluten-free label to know for sure that they are safe for you to enjoy.
According to the FDA, in order to have a gluten-free label on a product, the product has to contain less than 20 ppm in one serving.
Read on: Does beer have gluten?
Is Busch Light gluten-free?
Busch Light is not considered a gluten-free product, because it contains barley. Barley is a gluten-containing grain that is not removed from the final product during manufacturing.
If you are looking for a gluten-free beer, you’re going to want to find a different product and brand that works for your gluten-free diet.
What beer is gluten-free?
Even though Busch Light beer is not gluten-free, there are plenty of other brands that do offer gluten-free beer.
If you’re looking for a brand that works for you and your gluten-free diet, be sure to check out this post with a full list of 49 beer brands that are either naturally gluten-free or gluten removed: Gluten-free Beer List
I’ll even tell you the difference between the two and what you need to know about choosing a gluten-free beer. I hope this information about Busch Light has been helpful for you to make an informed decision about what beer to choose next time you’re at a restaurant, bar, or even the liquor store.
While this beer is not gluten-free, there are plenty of other options and brands that are available for folks like us to enjoy while sticking with a gluten-free diet.