Find out if brown sugar is an ingredient to pay attention to on a gluten-free diet, what it’s made of, and which brands you can trust to be gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love to bake, you’re no stranger to using brown sugar in your recipes. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if this ingredient is safe to enjoy regularly.
Brown sugar can be used to add a rich sweet flavor to many cookies, cakes, and other baked goods. It’s also great added to homemade sauces that call for a sweetness with a little depth.
Just like any other ingredient in your gluten-free diet, you’ll want to do your due diligence to find out any potential for gluten finding its way into your home cooked meals or food you buy from the store.
In this post, we’ll dive into the basics of brown sugar and answer the question “is brown sugar gluten-free?” We’ll also break down the ingredients in brown sugar and discuss if each of these can be trusted as gluten-free ingredients.
We’ll wrap the post up with a list of gluten-free brown sugar brands plus answer any gluten-related questions you may have about popular brown sugar brands.
What are the ingredients in brown sugar? What is brown sugar made of?
Brown sugar is made with granulated sugar and molasses. Molasses is added to white sugar in order to add the richness and depth of flavor into this ingredient.
Brown sugar comes in two different options, light and dark. The only difference between these is how much molasses is added to the sugar, so you’ll find the ingredients lists will be the same, but the quantity of each ingredient may vary.
Is sugar gluten-free?
Sugar is naturally gluten-free, however you may want to be on the lookout for brands with a gluten-free label to ensure that the sugar has been processed in a way that minimizes the possibility of cross-contamination and traces of gluten in the product.
Read tips on ensuring your sugar is gluten-free in this post: Is sugar gluten-free?
Is molasses gluten-free?
Molasses is a thick, rich syrup that is made from sugar cane or sugar beets. Molasses is made from the liquid of sugarcane or sugar beets after the sugar has been removed. This liquid is then boiled down into a thick, sweet syrup called molasses.
Molasses is used in plenty of baking recipes to provide a rich and moist ingredient to some of our favorite recipes like ginger snaps, cookies, or other baked goods.
As long as molasses only contains one ingredient: sugar and molasses, you’ll know that this is a gluten-free ingredient and safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is brown sugar gluten-free?
Brown sugar is gluten-free as it is made with only white or granulated sugar and molasses, two naturally gluten-free ingredients. As long as there are no other fillers, flavorings, or additives in the brown sugar, you can feel good about adding this ingredient into your gluten-free diet
The way you can find out if your brown sugar is gluten-free is to read the ingredients list and look for any hidden sources of gluten. You can also look for a gluten-free label on the packaging which will indicate that there is no gluten in that product.
Can I make my own brown sugar?
If you’re worried about gluten being in your brown sugar that you would buy at the store, you can make your own brown sugar at home. This is also a great tip if you are running low on brown sugar in your pantry and need to make some at home for a recipe.
All you need to do is combine white sugar and molasses in a bowl or food processor to process it together and get the molasses well incorporated. Depending on if you need light or dark brown sugar, you can adjust how much molasses you add to your brown sugar. You can use this in all of your baking recipes that call for brown sugar.
Are both light and dark brown sugars gluten-free?
Yes, both light and dark brown sugar are gluten free. Assuming that the brown sugar is made with only two ingredients: sugar and molasses, you can know that this will be safe for your gluten-free diet.
There shouldn’t be a difference between ingredients on light and dark brown sugar, the only difference is how much molasses has been added to the sugar which will create the variation in color.
Brands of gluten-free brown sugar
Since brown sugar is naturally gluten-free, you won’t have a hard time finding an option for you that is safe for your gluten free. Here are a few brands to look for next time you’re at the grocery store that you can add to your gluten-free baked goods and recipes.
These are brands that have a gluten-free label on them, but remember that most brown sugar should contain no gluten. You can find that out by reading ingredient lists to identify hidden sources of gluten before buying.
Where can I buy gluten-free brown sugar?
Since brown sugar is naturally gluten-free, you can look for this ingredient at all grocery stores or wherever you buy your baking ingredients.
Look for it locally in the baking aisle, or if you have a hard time finding brown sugar at stores near where you live, you can also buy it online through Amazon or Thrive Market.
Are my favorite brands of brown sugar gluten-free?
You might have a favorite brand of brown sugar that you like to use in your baking and cooking already, so in this section I’m going to answer some questions about popular brands of brown sugar and whether they’re safe for your gluten-free diet.
Is Crystal brown sugar gluten-free?
According to the Crystal Sugar brand website, their products are all gluten-free. You can feel good about buying this brand.
Is Domino brown sugar gluten-free?
According to the Domino brand website, none of their sugars contain gluten. The packaging does not have a gluten-free label.
Is Great Value brown sugar gluten-free?
According to the Walmart website, Great Value brown sugar is gluten-free.
If you’ve been following a gluten-free diet or just getting started with one, I hope that you’ve found the information you’ve been looking for regarding gluten and your gluten-free diet. Most brown sugar is gluten-free, but you can always look for a brand with a gluten-free label if you need to be extra certain there is not a chance of cross contamination.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply