Find out what Premier Protein is made of, what flavors and products are offered by this brand, and if they are safe for a dairy-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you have been looking for ways to increase your protein intake everyday or just before or after workouts to help you sustain energy, you may have come across this brand called Premier Protein.
I saw this brand of protein shake at Costco for the first time years ago, and have since seen it at many local grocery stores, and even in my sister’s pantry! She uses it in her morning coffee.
If you are always trying to find a way to keep your energy levels stable throughout the day, you may have opted to grab a premade protein shake or mix one up of your own at home.
But if you have just started avoiding dairy or are still trying to determine which protein powder brands work for your dairy-free diet, you may have wondered if Premier Protein is one of them.
Find out in this post what Premier Protein is, what flavors and products are available from this brand, what the ingredients are in their four product lines, and of course if Premier Protein has dairy.
If you are looking for a good dairy-free protein powder and think Premier Protein might be it, keep reading to get the answers you’re looking for!
What is Premier Protein?
Premier Protein is a brand of protein shakes and powder supplements that are designed to help customers get more protein in their diet through convenient drink options. Their goal is to help folks keep their energy levels up throughout the day.
The brand offers protein shakes, clear protein shakes, protein shakes with oats, and protein powders, according to their website.
What flavors and products does Premier Protein make?
Premier Protein offers a number of different products, all with their own unique flavors. Let’s go through some of their options together here.
Premier Protein Shakes
All the Premier Protein Shake options contain 30 grams of protein, 24 vitamins and minerals, and only 1 gram of sugar. The goal for this product is to help you stay feeling full for longer and keep your energy levels up while supporting a healthy immune system.
- Chocolate Protein Shake
- Vanilla Protein Shake
- Caramel Protein Shake
- Cafe Latte Protein Shake
- Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Shake
- Cake Batter Delight Protein Shake
- Strawberries & Cream Protein Shake
- Winter Mint Chocolate Protein Shake
- Cinnamon Roll Protein Shake
- Cookies & Cream Protein Shake
- Bananas & Cream Protein Shake
- Peaches & Cream Protein Shake
Premier Protein Clear Protein Drinks
The Clear Protein Drinks from Premier Protein have 20 grams of protein, 0 sugar, and are considered gluten-free. These have fruit flavors as opposed to the creamy flavors of their protein shakes.
- Tropical Punch Clear Protein Drink
- Peach Clear Protein Drink
Premier Protein Shakes with Oats
The Protein Shakes with Oats from Premier Protein have more fiber than their other options, with 7 grams per serving. This protein shake option also has 20 grams of protein, 24 vitamins and minerals, and 1 gram of sugar. This is marketed as a breakfast shake.
- Apple Cinnamon Protein Shake with Oats
- Oats & Maple Protein Shake with Oats
- Blueberries & Cream Protein Shake with Oats
- Chocolate Hazelnut Protein Shake with Oats
Premier Protein Powders
The protein powders from Premier Protein are a convenient option if you like to mix up your protein drinks at home instead of buying bottled shakes. This option contains 30 grams of protein, has only 1 gram of sugar, and is considered gluten-free.
- Chocolate Milkshake Protein Powder
- Vanilla Milkshake Protein Powder
- Cafe Latte Protein Powder
What is Premier Protein made from?
Depending on the type of protein you choose, whether a shake, a powder, a clear drink, or a protein shake with oats, the ingredients will vary slightly.
To get a full picture of this brand’s ingredients and help us determine if it’s a good supplement for a dairy-free diet, let’s go through one flavor of each of their four main products.
Premier Protein Chocolate Protein Shake ingredients
“Water, milk protein concentrate, calcium caseinate, cocoa powder (processed with alkali), contains less than 1% of high oleic sunflower oil, natural and artificial flavors, inulin, cellulose gel and cellulose gum, salt, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, carrageenan, tripotassium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate, vitamin and mineral blend (dl-alpha-tocopheryl acetate [vitamin e], zinc glycinate chelate, ferric orthophosphate, vitamin a palmitate, niacinamide, phytonadione [vitamin k1], potassium iodide, cholecalciferol [vitamin d3], copper gluconate, calcium d-pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, biotin, sodium molybdate, folic acid, thiamine mononitrate [vitamin b1], cyanocobalamin [vitamin b12], pyridoxine hydrochloride [vitamin b6], riboflavin [vitamin b2], chromium polynicotinate), magnesium phosphate, sodium ascorbate.”
Premier Protein Tropical Punch Clear Protein Drink ingredients
“Filtered water, whey protein isolate, natural flavors, salt, sucralose, red 40, blue 1, phosphoric acid.”
Premier Protein Apple Cinnamon Protein Shake with Oats ingredients
“Water, milk protein concentrate, oats, soluble corn fiber, calcium caseinate, contains less than 1% of high oleic sunflower oil, natural and artificial flavors, cellulose gel and cellulose gum, salt, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, carrageenan, tripotassium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate, vitamin and mineral blend (dl-alpha-tocopheryl acetate [vitamin e], zinc glycinate chelate, ferric orthophosphate, vitamin a palmitate, niacinamide, phytonadione [vitamin k1], potassium iodide, cholecalciferol [vitamin d3], copper gluconate, calcium d-pantothenate, manganese sulfate, sodium selenite, biotin, sodium molybdate, folic acid, thiamine mononitrate [vitamin b1], cyanocobalamin [vitamin b12], pyridoxine hydrochloride [vitamin b6], riboflavin [vitamin b2], chromium polynicotinate), magnesium phosphate, sodium ascorbate.”
Premier Protein Chocolate Milkshake Protein Powder ingredients
“Whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate, cocoa processed with alkali, contains 2% or less of soluble corn fiber, sunflower lecithin, natural and artificial flavors, acesulfame potassium, sucralose, xanthan gum, salt.”
What is dairy?
Dairy is a general name for ANY food that is made from milk. Technically, this is any food made from cow’s milk or goat’s milk or sheep’s milk. Any animal milk is dairy.
However, mostly when we’re talking about dairy, we’re talking about drinking cow’s milk, because that’s what is most popular here in the United States.
Read on: What’s the difference between dairy, lactose, casein, and whey?
Is whey dairy?
Whey is considered a dairy product, because it is derived from cow’s milk. Since all animal milk (including all its different proteins, sugars, and other parts) are considered dairy, whey is also considered dairy.
Read on: Is whey dairy?
Does Premier Protein have dairy?
All Premier Protein products use milk protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, or whey protein concentrate in their protein shakes, drinks, and powders.
Due to this, none of the options from Premier Protein are dairy-free and should be avoided on a dairy-free diet.
In addition to seeing the ingredients in the ingredient lists, all the products have “Contains: Milk” notes on their packaging, giving us folks on a dairy-free diet a clear indicator to avoid these products.
If you’re looking for a dairy-free protein option for a shake or powder, be sure to check out these two posts with brands and recommendations:
Read on: Is Ensure dairy-free?
Is Premier Protein gluten-free?
Two lines of the Premier Protein product lineup are considered gluten-free by the brand. The Premier Protein Clear Protein Drink and the Premier Protein Powders are safe for folks on gluten-free diets. All flavors of both of these products are gluten-free.
Read on: Is Muscle Milk gluten-free?
If you have seen Premier Protein shakes or powder at Costco or your local grocery store lately and have wondered if this is a good protein option for you to supplement your diet with, I hope this post has given you the information you’ve been looking for.
All flavors and varieties of Premier Protein do contain dairy, so you’ll want to find a different protein supplement for your dairy-free diet. There are a number of great options to choose from, so find a dairy-free protein powder that works for you!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply