Find out if Sour Patch Kids candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus get a list of all the gluten-free Sour Patch Kids products.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love sweet and sour, you might be no stranger to Sour Patch Kids, the gummy fruit-flavored candy that is coated in a sour powder.
Sour Patch Kids are quite popular with kids, since they tend to love the pucker a sour candy provides. These sweets come in a number of different varieties and you can find them at most grocery stores, convenience stores, and movie theaters around the country.
If you loved these growing up or still do, we’re going to answer the question today “are Sour Patch Kids gluten-free?” so you can feel confident choosing a candy option next time you’re shopping for sweets.
In this post, we’re going to talk about the ingredients of Sour Patch Kids, what gluten is, and if this candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. We’ll wrap the post up with a list of the different products that the Sour Patch Kids brand has available that you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Ready to pucker up? Let’s get into it!
Ingredients of Sour Patch Kids
According to the Sour Patch Kids website, their original flavor of candy have the following ingredients:
Sugar, invert sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, contains less than 2% of tartaric acid, citric acid, natural and artificial flavor, yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1.
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Sour Patch Kids gluten-free?
Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet. Although they do not have a gluten-free label on their products, they are made with no gluten-containing ingredients.
If you are extremely sensitive to gluten and even trace amounts from cross contamination affect you, you may want to skip this candy option and find one with a gluten-free label instead.
Are Sour Patch Kids dairy-free?
By looking at the ingredients list, we can see that Sour Patch Kids are dairy-free and contain no dairy ingredients.
Are Sour Patch Kids vegan?
Sour Patch Kids candy contains no gelatin, which is an ingredient that many vegans watch out for when it comes to choosing candy. This brand of candy is safe for a vegan diet.
What Sour Patch Kids products are gluten-free?
The Sour Patch Kids brand offers a variety of different products in their line. These are the products that contain no gluten-containing ingredients and are therefore generally safe for people who follow a gluten-free diet for food intolerance reasons.
- Sour Patch Kids Mystery Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Just Blue Raspberry
- Sour Patch Strawberry Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Original Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Watermelon Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Berries Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Crush Soda Fruit Mix Flavor
- Sour Patch Kids Tropical Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Heads, 2 Flavors in One
- Sour Patch Kids Extreme Sour Soft & Chewy Candy
- Sour Patch Kids Big Kids Soft & Chewy Candy
- Yoplait Sour Patch Kids Go Gurt (not dairy-free)
- Sour Patch Kids Light Ice Cream & Sorbet (not dairy-free)
If you’ve been wondering if your favorite Sour Patch Kids candy is safe to continue enjoying on a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has been helpful for you to get the answers you’re looking for.
As with any product that makes no gluten-free claims, it’s best to review ingredients lists on packaging before buying, as recipes can change at any time.
If you love Sour Patch Kids, you can feel comfortable enjoying this candy as long as you aren’t sensitive to gluten at the trace level amount.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply