Find out if Ruffles are safe for a gluten-free diet, what they’re made of, and what flavors to enjoy when you’re gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a big fan of Ruffles potato chips as a quick snack, side dish option for barbecues or lunches, or to open a bag and serve when friends come over to watch the big game, you may have wondered if this brand of potato chips are gluten-free.
Whether you’re just getting started with a gluten-free diet or have been at it for a while, you know that every type of food, every brand, and every flavor needs to be looked at carefully.
Ingredients lists should be scrutinized, and even then they may not tell the full story of gluten being present in a product.
In this post, we’re going to answer the question “Are Ruffles gluten-free?” We’ll find out what the ingredients are in Ruffles and what flavors are safe for a gluten-free diet.
You don’t need to go without your favorite potato chips, but you’ll want to choose wisely when it comes to flavors and options. Let’s find out what Ruffles products you can safely enjoy when you’re gluten-free.
Read on: Gluten-free Chips
What are Ruffles?
Ruffles are a brand of potato chips manufactured by the Frito-Lay Company. They come in a variety of flavors and are some of the most popular chips you’ll find in the U.S.
What sets this brand of chips apart from others are the “ridges” or crinkle cut of the potato chips. They come in a variety of flavors.
What are the Ruffles flavors?
Ruffles come in a variety of flavors. Here are the current flavors that this chip brand has to offer:
- Ruffles Flamin’ Hot Cheddar & Sour Cream
- Ruffles Flamin’ Hot BBQ
- Ruffles Lime & Jalapeno Flavored Potato chips
- Ruffles Jalapeno Ranch Flavored Potato Chips
- Ruffles Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips
- Ruffles Flamin’ Hot Flavored Potato Chips
- Ruffles Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips
- Ruffles Original Potato Chips
- Ruffles Queso Cheese Flavored Potato Chips
They also have Ruffles Double Crunch, which are larger ridged potato chips. This style comes in the following flavors:
- Ruffles Double Crunch Hot Wings Flavored Potato Chips
- Ruffles Double Crunch Zesty Cheddar Flavored Potato Chips
What are the ingredients in Ruffles?
The ingredients in Ruffles original flavor potato chips are:
“Potatoes, vegetable oil (sunflower, corn, and/or canola oil), and salt.”
Other flavors of Ruffles will contain additional ingredients in seasonings and flavorings, some of which may contain gluten.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are Ruffles gluten-free?
Some flavors of Ruffles are gluten-free, but not all. The Frito-Lay Company does a great job of disclosing gluten in their products and they have a page set up to help customers identify which products are gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients. You can find that here.
The original flavor of Ruffles is gluten-free and you can safely enjoy them if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Are potato chips gluten-free?
Read on: Are potatoes gluten-free?
What flavors of Ruffles are gluten-free?
Some flavors of Ruffles are gluten-free while others should be avoided. Here is a list of Ruffles products from Frito-Lay that are considered gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients.
Those listed below with a (D) are indicating they are also dairy-free. In addition to avoiding gluten in my diet, I also steer clear of dairy. If you’re the same, I hope this information helps you.
- Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Crisps
- Baked Original Potato Crisps (D)
- Baked Flamin’ Hot Flavored Potato Chips
- Flamin’ Hot BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
- Original Potato Chips (D)
- Simply Sea Salted Potato Chips (D)
Are Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream gluten-free?
Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream potato chips are not considered gluten-free by the Frito-Lay Brand. A quick look at their ingredients list confirms this, because it contains yeast extract.
Yeast extract isn’t usually gluten-free, but other ingredients in this product may also contain gluten in the “natural and artificial flavors.” Wherever the gluten comes from in this product, Frito-Lay has made sure that we know it’s not a good choice for those of us on a gluten-free diet by not including it on their gluten-free section of their website.
That said, Ruffles Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips ARE considered gluten-free, so if you love this flavor, you can opt for their baked style instead.
Read on: Is yeast extract gluten-free?
Are Ruffles Sour Cream and Onion gluten-free?
Ruffles Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips are not a good choice for a gluten-free diet, because the Ruffles brand does not consider it gluten-free or an option that does not contain gluten, according to their website.
The ingredients list contains both yeast extract and “natural flavors” which could be the addition of gluten into this flavor of potato chip.
If you love sour cream and onion flavored chips, opt for a brand that says their products are gluten-free, like Kettle Chips and even some Lay’s products.
Are Baked Ruffles gluten-free?
Baked Ruffles come in three flavors: Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream, Baked Flamin’ Hot, and Baked Original Potato Chips. All three of these are considered gluten-free or not containing any gluten ingredients by the Frito-Lay Company.
Are Ruffles All Dressed Up gluten-free?
Ruffles All Dressed flavored potato chips are a blend of salty, savory, and sweet flavorings all in one. This flavor does not make the Frito-Lay website as a gluten-free or no gluten ingredients list, meaning it contains gluten in some form from an ingredient they use in the seasoning.
My best guess is that it’s from the “natural flavors” that are used and listed in the ingredients list.
If you enjoy munching on Ruffles at barbecues or while watching football, I hope this post has helped you identify which flavors and varieties of this brand of chips will work for your gluten-free diet. Some flavors of Ruffles are gluten-free, while others aren’t.
It’s best to know which options Frito-Lay considered free of gluten before you shop, so you can make an informed choice next time you’re at the store.