Find out if Quaker Oats are safe for a gluten-free diet, plus which flavors and options you can look for at the grocery store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love eating oatmeal for breakfast, you might be interested to know which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet. Quaker Oats are likely the most well known oat and oatmeal brands in the US.
Knowing that you can find this brand at almost every grocery store nationwide makes it an easy choice when you’re looking for a warm breakfast option.
But if you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if this brand contains gluten. In this post, we’re going to talk about if oats and oatmeal are gluten-free and find out what Quaker Oats has to say about gluten in their oats and oatmeal products.
Finally, we’ll dive into the Quaker Oats brand and find out which specific flavors and options to look for when choosing an oatmeal for your breakfast next time you’re perusing the breakfast aisle.
Are oats gluten-free?
Oats are naturally gluten-free and on their own and processed in a dedicated gluten-free facility are safe for a gluten-free diet.
The main reason oats aren’t always considered gluten-free is because they can become contaminated with gluten in a shared facility with gluten-containing grains. Processing wheat, barley, or rye on the same equipment can result in cross contamination of gluten in oats.
Another potential place for cross contamination is bulk bins if you buy from a grocery store that uses scoops, these scoops don’t always stay in their intended bins.
Someone may accidentally move a scoop from a gluten-free bin and put it in a bin with wheat, barley, or other gluten-containing grain, and contaminate the whole bin of oats.
While oats are naturally gluten-free, you’ll want to be aware of these specific ways that they can come into contact with gluten.
Read on: Are oats gluten-free?
Read on: Are whole grain oats gluten-free?
Read on: Is oat flour gluten-free?
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
Oatmeal is naturally gluten-free, but that doesn’t mean that all oatmeal brands are gluten-free. As mentioned above, oats may come into contact with gluten while being processed on the same lines as wheat, barley, or other gluten-containing grains.
Because of that, it’s best to look for a gluten-free label on the oats and oatmeal products you buy to ensure that cross contamination has not taken place.
Read on: Is Oatmeal gluten-free?
Are Quaker Oats gluten-free?
Regular Quaker oats are not considered gluten-free, according to their website.
According to their Quaker Does Gluten-free document on their website, their statement is that you’ll want to purchase specific gluten-free Quaker Oats products to ensure what you’re eating is gluten-free.
“While oats are naturally gluten free, they may come in contact with gluten-containing grains such as wheat, rye and barley at the farm, in storage or during transportation. As the world’s leader in oat milling for 140 years, our team of experts developed a breakthrough cleaning system to remove these stray grains so that we can deliver gluten free oatmeal consumers can trust.”
You can see details on this cleaning system and how they meet the FDA’s standards for being gluten-free in the document.
Knowing that regular Quaker oats products aren’t gluten-free, it’s important to note that you now can buy gluten-free oats and oatmeal products through the brand. These products meet the FDA’s requirements for being labeled gluten-free, having less than 20ppm of gluten in their products.
Which Quaker Oats products are gluten-free?
Quaker Oats offers a few different options of gluten-free oatmeal. While Quaker’s normal oats and oatmeal are not considered gluten-free, their specific gluten-free line is safe for a gluten-free diet. They are also Non-GMO project verified.
Quaker Gluten-free Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
Read on: Are rolled oats gluten-free?
Quaker Gluten-free Quick 1-Minute Oats
Quaker Gluten-free Instant Oatmeal
Quaker Gluten-free Instant Oatmeal – Maple & Brown Sugar
Look for these next time you’re at the grocery store either in the cereal aisle or the health food section of your store.
If you’re looking for more gluten-free oatmeal brands, be sure to check out the products on this page: Is oatmeal gluten-free?
I hope if you love oatmeal that you can feel confident in choosing Quaker Oats products that are safe for your gluten-free diet with the information in this post.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply