Find out if Bud Light Seltzers are gluten-free, what hard seltzer is, and if this brand is safe for your gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’ve been looking at hard seltzers at the grocery store or liquor store lately, and wondering which brands are safe for your gluten-free diet, you aren’t alone. With so many brands jumping on the bandwagon to introduce hard seltzers, it’s hard to keep up with what ingredients are used and which are going to work best for you.
In this post, we’re shining a light on Bud Light’s hard seltzer line to uncover if these are gluten-free, and especially which flavors are considered safe for folks who are avoiding gluten. We’ll talk a bit about hard seltzers in general too, so that we’re all on the same page about this topic before diving into the specifics.
This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where we’re going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.
Find out if your favorite brand of hard seltzer is gluten-free!
What are Bud Light Seltzers?
Bud Light Seltzers are a brand of hard seltzer beverages from Bud Light. These have made their way to the market in response to folks looking for a low or no sugar alcoholic beverage. They mimic the flavor of flavored seltzer waters but with alcohol added to them.
Bud Light Seltzers come in a wide range of offerings, like their classic flavors of strawberry, lemon lime, black cherry, and mango. They also have lemonade, iced tea, and platinum lines of their hard seltzer all with different flavors to choose from. We’ll get to those later on in the post.
What is Bud Light?
Bud Light is a brand of light beers and alcoholic beverages that have lower alcohol content, lower calories, and lower sugar options than Budweiser beer brand. Both Bud Light and Budweiser are manufactured by the Anheuser-Busch corporation.
Bud Light offers a variety of different drinks, including light beers and hard seltzers in a number of flavors. Lemonade, iced tea, and hard soda are some of the different offerings in their hard seltzer line.
Read on: Is Budweiser gluten-free?
Read on: Is Bud Light gluten-free?
What is hard seltzer?
Hard seltzers are an alcoholic beverage that is made to mimic a flavored seltzer water. Seltzer water is mixed with alcohol, usually made from sugar cane (but not always) and flavoring is added for a low calorie, low sugar content option for folks who are trying to steer clear of sugar in their alcoholic drinks.
It’s become popular over the last few years with the rise of brands like La Croix putting out seltzer water in a variety of different flavors. Alcohol companies got on board with the trend and decided to turn it into a new drink that people are flocking to.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape. You can create a malt from any of these grains.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Is hard seltzer gluten-free?
Most hard seltzer is made using cane sugar to create the alcohol in hard seltzers, although none of the sugar is left after the crafting process.
Some hard seltzers are made using gluten-containing grains. Sometimes the gluten is left in the hard seltzer (Henry’s Hard Sparkling Water, for instance). With other brands, the gluten will be removed after the fermenting process, otherwise known as “gluten removed.”
Gluten removed means during the crafting process, they were able to remove some but not all of the gluten, making it less than 20ppm present in the product. These gluten-removed products wouldn’t be considered 100% gluten-free as you’d find in a naturally gluten-free product.
The short answer is: yes, most hard seltzers are gluten-free, but not all.
Read on: Is hard seltzer gluten-free?
Are Bud Light Seltzers gluten-free?
Bud Light Seltzers are considered gluten-free by the brand. On their website, they list some of their varieties as gluten-free while others don’t call this out. However, when researching this post, I was able to find that many retailers, like Safeway, Target, and Walmart have them listed as gluten-free.
Bud Light Seltzers come in different flavors and varieties, all of which are considered gluten-free:
Bud Light Seltzer Lemonade
- Bud Light Seltzer Original Lemonade
- Bud Light Seltzer Strawberry Lemonade
- Bud Light Seltzer Black Cherry Lemonade
- Bud Light Seltzer Peach Lemonade
Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea
- Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea Peach
- Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea Raspberry
- Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea Tangerine
- Bud Light Seltzer Iced Tea Apple
Bud Light Seltzer
- Bud Light Seltzer Strawberry
- Bud Light Seltzer Lemon Lime
- Bud Light Seltzer Black Cherry
- Bud Light Seltzer Mango
Bud Light Platinum Seltzer
- Bud Light Platinum Seltzer Wild Berry
- Bud Light Platinum Seltzer Citrus
- Bud Light Platinum Seltzer Blood Orange
Is Bud Light Seltzer Lemonade gluten-free?
According to the Bud Light website, yes, their Bud Light Seltzer Lemonade line of four flavors are all considered gluten-free. Choose from Original Lemonade, Strawberry Lemonade, Black Cherry Lemonade, and Peach Lemonade.
If you’ve been wondering if your favorite brand of hard seltzer is gluten-free, you won’t need to worry about Bud Light Seltzers. This brand is considered gluten-free by the brand itself and a general consensus that they are safe for this diet in the gluten-free community. If you enjoy Bud Light’s hard seltzer drinks, keep on enjoying without worry!