Find out if 3 Musketeers are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus find out which varieties of 3 Musketeers are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Three Musketeers are a popular candy bar that can be found at most grocery stores, movie theaters, and convenience stores. This candy bar is made with nougat that’s coated in milk chocolate.
If you enjoy this candy bar and are wondering how it fits into your gluten-free diet, I’ve got you covered in today’s post. We’re going to talk about who makes 3 Musketeers, the ingredients of this candy bar, and find out if they are gluten-free.
We’ll also answer some questions about if 3 Musketeers are dairy-free and vegan, as well as talk about what varieties of 3 Musketeers are gluten-free. FInally, we’ll wrap the post up with a gluten-free and vegan 3 Musketeers alternative so you can stick with your diet and still get your sweet tooth satisfied.
Who makes 3 Musketeers candy?
The 3 Musketeers candy bars are made by the Mars Company. This company also manufactures other popular brands of candy bars, including
Ingredients of 3 Musketeers
The packaging of a 3 Musketeers bar shows that this candy contains the following ingredients:
Milk chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, skim milk, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil and/or palm oil, less than 2% of the following: cocoa powder processed with alkali, salt, egg whites, artificial and natural flavors.
Read on: Is corn syrup gluten-free?
Read on: Is soy lecithin gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are 3 Musketeers gluten-free?
3 Musketeers bars contain no gluten ingredients and are considered safe for a gluten-free diet.
3 Musketeers candy may not have any gluten-containing ingredients in the product, but there is also not a clear gluten-free label indicating that the final product is gluten-free, like many other Mars candies.
This means that there’s a potential for cross contamination with gluten products during manufacturing. Use your own best judgement based on your level of sensitivity to gluten to determine if you want to enjoy this treat on a gluten-free diet.
Are 3 Musketeers dairy-free?
3 Musketeers candy bars are not dairy-free as they contain milk in the milk chocolate.
Are 3 Musketeers vegan?
This type of candy bar isn’t vegan as it contains milk and egg whites, two animal products that vegans avoid.
What 3 Musketeers products are gluten-free?
As far as I was able to find, all 3 Musketeers products are gluten-free. These include the following varieties. However, be aware of the potential for cross contamination as this type of candy does not have a gluten-free label on it.
- 3 Musketeers full size bars
- 3 Musketeers 2 to go
- 3 Musketeers fun size
- 3 Musketeers minis
- 3 Musketeers unwrapped bites
Gluten-free 3 Musketeers alternatives
If you love 3 Musketeers candy bars and are looking for a gluten and dairy-free (vegan) alternative, try the Buccaneer Candy Bar from Go Max Go. This is a chocolate nougat bar covered in a layer of chocolate.
I hope this post has helped you make an informed decision about whether or not to enjoy 3 Musketeers candy bars on your gluten-free diet. Three Musketeers candies are gluten-free, but not dairy-free or vegan. Know your body and what it needs to help you decide if you want to enjoy this candy on your gluten-free diet.