Find out if Trix is gluten-free, what the main ingredients are, and if this is a safe cereal to add to your gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you familiar with Trix cereal? If not, let me refresh your memory. A white rabbit on a red box with green letters with “Trix” across the front eyeing a bowl of neon-colored puffs or fruit shaped cereal.
This cereal has been around for decades and is still a popular option at grocery stores today. This fruit-flavored cereal has had some changes throughout the years, switching up its colorings, shapes, and even the rabbit has changed over time.
If you have fond memories of this cereal as a kid, or you enjoy it even now, this post is for you. We’re going to talk about what Trix cereal is, the ingredients in Trix, and how Trix fits into a gluten-free diet.
What is Trix?
Trix is a popular brand of cereal that’s made by the General Mills company. It’s signature look is in its brightly colored fruit-flavored puffs.
Trix has been available since 1954 and has come in both spherical shapes as well as fruit shapes since the 1990’s. The signature character used for marketing the cereal is the white rabbit, who has appeared on boxes as well as TV commercials since it’s debut.
Though Trix is mostly known as a cereal, it has also branched out and now can be found in the yogurt and snack bar aisles. You can find Trix yogurt and cereal bars marketed to kids.
The ingredients listed on a package of Trix cereal are as follows:
“Whole grain corn, sugar, rice flour, corn syrup, canola oil, salt, trisodium phosphate, natural and artificial flavor, red 40, yellow 6, blue 1, and other color added, citric acid, malic acid.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Is Trix gluten-free?
The main ingredient of this cereal is corn, not wheat. Trix cereal does not list any gluten ingredients in their ingredients list, however it does not have a gluten-free label on the packaging.
Without a gluten-free label, we can assume one of the two possibilities:
- Trix has the potential to have cross contamination with gluten during the manufacturing process, or
- The General Mills brand has not tested Trix cereal for gluten and traces of gluten.
We don’t know what is true of this cereal and its potential for cross contamination, so it’s best to use your own judgement based on what you know about your body and your level of sensitivity to gluten.
Read on: Gluten-free cereal
Is Trix dairy-free?
Yes, Trix cereal doesn’t contain any milk products or dairy derivatives and should be considered a safe option if you follow a dairy-free diet. Of course, be sure to use a dairy-free milk in place of cow’s milk for a truly dairy-free option.
If you enjoy Trix cereal, I hope that this post has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for. Trix cereal doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients, but there is a possibility for cross contamination since there isn’t any kind of note from the manufacturer about gluten in the product.