Find out what Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is, what it’s made of, what flavors it comes in, and if it is gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love making tacos for your family, then finding the right taco seasoning that everyone enjoys is probably on your priority list.
Especially if you or one of your family members has to follow a gluten-free diet, it’s important to find a brand of taco seasoning that works with what you can eat.
Whether you’ve been on the hunt for a new taco seasoning or are just trying to find a brand that your gluten-free family members can tolerate, this post is here to help you.
In this post, we’re going to dig into the Old El Paso brand of taco seasoning and talk about what flavors and varieties this seasoning comes in as well as the ingredients in their original blend.
We’ll discuss what gluten is, where you find it in many processed foods, and answer the question “is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning gluten-free?” to help you make an informed decision next time you’re shopping for taco ingredients.
What is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning?
Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is a brand name taco seasoning available from the Old El Paso brand.
Old El Paso is owned by General Mills, the same manufacturer of many cereals and snack foods.
Old El Paso specializes in shells and tortillas, seasonings, dinner kits, sauces, rice and beans, toppings, and shredded cheese. You can find their products at most larger grocery stores in the International aisle.
What flavors and varieties does Old El Paso Taco Seasoning come in?
Old El Paso makes a few different seasonings, including taco seasoning, chili seasoning, and fajita seasonings.
This is the current lineup of taco seasoning flavors and varieties from the Old El Paso website:
- Original Taco Seasoning
- Chicken Taco Seasoning
- Al Pastor Taco Seasoning
- Chorizo Taco Seasoning
- 25% Less Sodium Taco Seasoning
- Cheesy Taco Seasoning
- Hot and Spicy Taco Seasoning
- Mild Taco Seasoning
What are the ingredients in Old El Paso Taco Seasoning
According to the Old El Paso website on their product page for Original Taco Seasoning, the ingredients in this variety are:
Chili pepper, maltodextrin, salt, onion powder, spice, corn starch, sea salt (potassium magnesium chloride, salt). contains 2% or less of: vegetable oil (canola, high oleic soybean and/or sunflower oil), corn flour, silicon dioxide (anticaking agent), citric acid, sugar, natural flavor.
Is taco seasoning gluten-free?
Depending on the brand you purchase or if you make your own taco seasoning at home, taco seasoning can be gluten-free.
Your safest option is always going to be choosing spices that are indicated by the manufacturer that they are gluten-free, then mixing up your own taco seasoning blend.
The next best option is to review ingredients lists of taco seasoning brands to look for hidden sources of gluten. Gluten may hide in taco seasoning in the form of wheat flour or yeast extract. These ingredients are both used as a thickener or preservative in taco seasoning.
If you find a brand of taco seasoning that has no gluten ingredients, you may consider that a safe choice for your gluten-free diet. However, if you are celiac or are extremely sensitive to even trace amounts of gluten, you may want to look for a taco seasoning that has a gluten-free label.
Cross contamination may occur during manufacturing, and if taco seasoning is produced on the same lines as other wheat or gluten ingredients, there is a chance for gluten to get into that product.
Gluten-free labels indicate that the manufacturer has tested the product and it has less than 20ppm of gluten.
Find a brand that has no gluten ingredients or a gluten-free label (or both!) if you are looking for a taco seasoning that works for your gluten-free diet.
Read on: Is taco seasoning gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free taco seasoning
Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning gluten-free?
Most Old El Paso taco seasoning varieties contain no gluten ingredients, however they do not have a gluten-free label.
You’ll have to use your best judgment as to whether or not to include this brand in your diet.
Which Old El Paso Taco Seasonings are gluten-free?
Though none of the Old El Paso taco seasoning flavors are considered gluten-free by the brand, none of them contain gluten ingredients.
If you are celiac, you will likely want to find a brand with a gluten-free label to ensure that what you’re buying has actually been tested for gluten.
If you are gluten intolerant, you may be okay enjoying this brand of taco seasoning. It’s up to you know to your level of sensitivity to gluten and make your decision based on what you know about how your body reacts to trace amounts of gluten or gluten in the form of cross contact.
These varieties of Old El Paso Taco Seasoning contain no gluten ingredients, but are not “gluten-free:”
- Original Taco Seasoning
- Chicken Taco Seasoning
- Al Pastor Taco Seasoning
- Chorizo Taco Seasoning
- 25% Less Sodium Taco Seasoning
- Cheesy Taco Seasoning
- Hot and Spicy Taco Seasoning
- Mild Taco Seasoning
If you’ve been wondering if Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is safe for your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has been informative.
Next time you’re shopping for a taco seasoning mix at the store, you can feel good that this brand has no gluten ingredients, but be mindful that there has been no verified testing that it’s safe for people who need to avoid gluten due to an allergy.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply