Find out if Life Cereal is safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, what the ingredients are, and what some gluten-free cereal options are.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a fan of eating cereal for breakfast or are a child of the ’70s or ’80s, you’ve probably heard of Life Cereal. This popular cereal is best known for its cute TV commercials and the catch phrase “He likes it! Hey Mikey!”
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, I’m sure you’ve wondered what type of cereal are gluten-free. In this post, we’re going to talk about Life Cereal.
Let’s find out what Life Cereal is, what the main ingredients are, and if this cereal is gluten-free. We’ll talk about some substitutions, as well as some other gluten-free cereals you can look for next time you’re at the store.
What is Life Cereal?
Life Cereal is a type of cereal made by the Quaker Oats brand. Its signature square shape and pattern is well known and similar to that of Chex. This cereal has been around in the U.S. since the 1970’s and has been popular ever since.
This brand of cereal comes in four different flavors: original, cinnamon, vanilla, and chocolate. The most popular is the original flavor.
Life Cereal ingredients
The ingredients in Life Cereal in the original flavor as indicated on the side of the packaging are as follows:
“Whole grain oat flour, corn flour, sugar, whole wheat flour, salt, calcium carbonate, disodium phosphate, tocopherols (to preserve freshness), reduced iron, niacinamide*, annatto (color), thiamine mononitrate*, pyridoxine hydrochloride*, riboflavin*, folic acid*. *One of the B vitamins”
This cereal also has an allergen statement below the ingredients lists that states “Contains wheat ingredients.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Is Life Cereal gluten-free?
The ingredients list for Life Cereal contains whole wheat flour, making this not a good gluten-free cereal option.
Is Cinnamon Life Cereal gluten-free?
Cinnamon Life Cereal also contains whole wheat flour, making it not a good choice for a gluten-free diet.
Is Vanilla Life Cereal gluten-free?
Vanilla Life Cereal is not a good option for a gluten-free diet, because it contains wheat flour in the ingredients list and also has a “contains wheat ingredients” label on the packaging.
Is Chocolate Life Cereal gluten-free?
Chocolate Life Cereal is not safe for a gluten-free diet, because it has wheat flour in the ingredients. Opt for a different chocolate flavored cereal that does have a gluten-free label on the package instead.
What can I substitute Life Cereal for on a gluten-free diet?
Though not exactly the same as Life Cereal, if you enjoy the flavor, shape, and texture, you may choose a flavor of Chex cereal that can satisfy your cereal craving.
Chex comes in a variety of flavors that could be an easy substitute for Life Cereal in your diet. Just be sure to choose one of the options that have a gluten-free label, as not all of them do. Any of the Wheat Chex varieties are not gluten-free, but those with a rice or corn Chex base are.
Try one of these flavors:
- Rice Chex
- Corn Chex
- Peanut Butter Chex
- Cinnamon Chex
- Honey Nut Chex
- Vanilla Chex
Gluten-free cereal options
If you’re looking for gluten-free cereal options and brands, there are really so many! Don’t miss this post where I list out as many brands and flavors that I could find that are gluten-free, and I’ve even marked those that are dairy-free too.
If you love Life Cereal and have been wondering how this cereal will fit into your gluten-free diet, I hope that this information has helped you get the questions you have answered. Though this cereal is not gluten-free, there are plenty of other gluten-free cereal options available on the market.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply