Find out if Fun Dip candy is gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan and how this candy fits into each of these diets.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you loved Fun Dip as a kid or love it now, you may be wondering how this treat fits into a gluten-free diet. I remember enjoying this treat as a kid, and my son’s enjoyment of it now is equally fun to watch.
Although he tends to be more perplexed by the idea of dipping and eating sugar straight out of a package, which makes me laugh to see. I hope that means I’m doing something right as a parent, although I’m not entirely sure what that is.
Fun Dip is a candy that’s all about the experience. In each package, you get two “Lix-a-Stix” and two pouches of flavored sugar. The idea is to dip the sticks into the sugar and lick it off.
The candy itself is made up of two main components: the sticks and the flavored sugar. In this post, we’re going to talk about this candy and what we know about how it fits into a gluten-free diet.
We’ll talk about what the ingredients are in Fun Dip and find out what we know about it being gluten-free. We’ll also talk about if this candy is dairy-free and vegan.
If you love Fun Dip and follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to keep reading!
Ingredients of Fun Dip
Though I wasn’t able to find an ingredients list for the sticks in Fun Dip, also known as Lik-a-Stix, I was able to find ingredients for the sugar dip that comes with Fun Dip.
Cherry Ingredients: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, And Less Than 2% Of Citric Acid, Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Red 40 Lake.
Razzapple Ingredients: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, And Less Than 2% Of Citric Acid, Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Is Fun Dip gluten-free?
The powdery sugar dip in Fun Dip doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients, however there is no information online or on the packages of the Lix-a-Stix in Fun Dip. Without knowing what is in the sticks, we can’t say for certain that this is a gluten-free candy.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, I’d avoid this treat and opt for something that you know is gluten-free instead.
Is Fun Dip dairy-free?
Fun Dip’s sugar dip doesn’t contain any dairy ingredients and is safe for a dairy-free diet. The packaging on Fun Dip doesn’t show any ingredients for the Lik-a-Stix, meaning we can’t know for certain if this candy is dairy-free.
Is Fun Dip vegan?
The sugar powder used to dip in Fun Dip is vegan, however without an ingredients list for the Lik-a-Stix, we can’t know for sure if this part of the candy is also vegan.
If you enjoy Fun Dip, or are hoping to give it to a kid in your life who is following a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you some information to make a decision that works for you. The powder in Fun Dip is gluten-free, but the ingredients in the sticks are seemingly a mystery in the online world.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply