Find out if Sweet Tarts are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus find out which varieties of Sweet Tarts are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Sweet Tarts, or SweeTarts, are candy that come in a variety of fruit flavors. They’re both sweet and sour and are hard, yet somewhat powdery once bit into.
If you love Sweet Tarts, you might be wondering if this candy is safe for a gluten-free diet. After all, we know that gluten can hide in just about any food, even candy.
Find out in this post who makes Sweetarts, what the ingredients are in this candy, and if they are gluten-free. We’ll also go over if this candy is dairy-free and vegan, and which products are safe for enjoying on a gluten-free diet.
Who makes Sweet Tarts?
Sweet Tarts candy is manufactured by the Ferrara brand. This brand makes other popular candies, like Trolli, Black Forest, Brach’s, and Nerds.
Ingredients of Sweet Tarts
The ingredients in the original Sweet Tarts are: dextrose, maltodextrin, DL-malic acid, and less than 2% of calcium stearate, natural flavors, blue 1 lake, blue 2 lake, red 40 lake, yellow 5 lake.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, as wheat, wheat starch, glucose syrup, or barley malt. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Sweet Tarts gluten-free?
Some types of Sweet Tarts are gluten-free while others aren’t. The original Sweet Tarts are safe for a gluten-free diet, though they are processed on the same machinery and facility as other products that contain gluten. There is a risk of cross contamination.
Other varieties of Sweet Tarts are not gluten-free and contain wheat or glucose syrup derived from wheat. You can look on the packaging at the ingredients list on the back of the candy to determine if the candy you’re looking at is gluten-free.
Review the list below of the gluten-free Sweet Tart options.
Are Sweet Tarts dairy-free?
There are no dairy ingredients in any of the Sweet Tarts products, so these are safe for your dairy-free diet.
Are Sweet Tarts vegan?
The original Sweet Tarts candy does not contain any animal products.
Not all Sweet Tarts products are vegan as they contain egg albumen, particularly the chewy varieties.
Gluten-free Sweet Tarts Varieties
Look for one of these varieties of Sweet Tarts next time you’re looking for a gluten-free candy. These are the varieties on the Sweet Tarts website that show no gluten-containing ingredients.
While these don’t contain gluten ingredients, they are not labeled as gluten-free, so be aware that there is a potential for cross contamination with this candy.
- Mini Chewy
- Tangy Strawberry Soft & Chewy Ropes
- Mini Chewy Berries & Cherries
- Extreme Sour Chewy
- Giant Chewy
Sweet Tart Varieties that are NOT Gluten-free
These are the products on the Sweet Tart website that show their ingredients contain wheat. You’ll want to avoid these varieties if you’re following a gluten-free diet.
- Sweet Tarts Rope Bites
- Twisted Mixed Berry Ropes Bites
- Twisted Rainbow Soft and Chewy Ropes
- Cherry Punch Soft & Chewy Ropes
As you can see in this post, some varieties of Sweet Tarts are gluten-free, while others aren’t. If you follow a gluten-free diet, be aware of these different types of candies under the Sweet Tarts brands and always check ingredients lists to make sure what you’re buying is in fact gluten-free.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply