Find out if Reese’s Puffs are gluten-free, what the main ingredients are, and if this is a safe cereal to add to your gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love Reese’s Puffs cereal? This super sweet crunchy corn cereal that’s coated in peanut butter and chocolate?
Reese’s Puffs have been around for close to 30 years, and came on the market as a spinoff cereal inspired by Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups candies. You may have even grown up eating this cereal for breakfast or as a snack.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that even the most uninteresting foods like cereal can sometimes contain gluten. Which is why we’re focusing on this peanut butter flavored cereal today and finding out if Reese’s Puffs cereal is gluten-free.
In this post, learn what Reese’s Puffs are, the ingredients, and if it’s safe for a gluten-free and dairy-free diet. Get all your questions answered about this cereal by the end of this post!
What are Reese’s Puffs?
Reese’s Puffs are a brand of cereal made by the General Mills company. This peanut butter and chocolate flavored cereal are corn puffs that are coated in Reese’s peanut butter powder, the same peanut butter used in their famous Reese’s peanut butter cups.
Reese’s Puffs have both peanut butter corn puff cereal and chocolate corn puff cereal mixed into one box. The original cereal has small puffs, but they also offer different products, like Reese’s Puffs bats around Halloween, Reese’s Puffs Big Puffs, and Reese’s Puffs Cluster Crunch.
Reese’s Puffs ingredients
According to the General Mills website, these are the ingredients in Reese’s Puffs cereal:
“Whole grain corn, sugar, Reese’s peanut butter (peanuts, sugar, monoglycerides, peanut oil, salt, molasses, corn starch), dextrose, corn meal, corn syrup, canola oil, salt, Hershey’s cocoa, caramel color, trisodium phosphate, natural flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) added to preserve freshness.”
They also note that these are the vitamins and minerals added to Reese’s Puffs cereal:
“Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.”
There is also a note that states “Contains Peanut Ingredients” on the package and on their website.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods, including candy, have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are used as flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Is cereal gluten-free?
ome, but not all cereal is gluten-free. Many cereals made with rice or corn ingredients may be gluten-free, but that’s only if the brand is committed to manufacturing their products on gluten-free machinery.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, wheat starch, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Since gluten can show up under so many different names, it’s important to read ingredients lists for each cereal you buy. Sometimes one flavor of a cereal is gluten-free, but another from the same brand isn’t.
Are Reese’s Puffs gluten-free?
Although there are no gluten-containing ingredients listed on the package, there is also no gluten-free label on this cereal indicating that there is less than 20ppm of gluten. In the past, this cereal has had a “May Contain Wheat Ingredients” note on the product.
This note was a disclosure of potential cross contamination of gluten during the manufacturing process. Though this note is no longer on the package, it doesn’t mean this cereal is gluten-free or hasn’t had any potential for cross contamination.
A “may contain wheat” label is entirely voluntary to include by the manufacturer and not regulated by the FDA, so even without this statement, there still may be cross contamination potential with this cereal.
If you’re extremely sensitive to gluten and to cross contamination and err on the side of caution, you’ll want to avoid this brand of cereal.
Read on: Are Reese’s gluten-free?
Read on: Gluten-free cereal
Read on: Are Reese’s Pieces gluten-free?
Are Reese’s Puffs dairy-free?
Reese’s Puffs contain no milk or milk products making this cereal a safe option if you’re avoiding dairy or on a dairy-free diet.
What cereal is gluten-free?
If you’re disappointed to learn that Reese’s Puffs cereal isn’t considered gluten-free, don’t worry! There are plenty of other brands of cereal that are made with gluten-free ingredients and offer a label to help you know for certain that the manufacturer takes food allergies and intolerances seriously.
Check out the list of brands and flavors of cereal that will work for your gluten-free diet in this post: Gluten-free cereal
Are Reese’s Puffs Cluster Crunch gluten-free?
The ingredients in Reese’s Puffs Cluster Crunch seem to be the same as Reese’s Puffs cereal, so this cereal has no gluten-containing ingredients, but possibly has some traces of gluten from cross contamination from manufacturing.
Use your best judgment about what you know about how your body reacts to gluten to decide whether or not this is a good cereal choice for you.
If you love Reese’s Puffs cereal, I hope this post has helped you determine if this is going to be a good option for your gluten-free diet.
Though Reese’s Puffs has no gluten ingredients, there may be the possibility of cross contamination during manufacturing. Think about your body’s reaction to gluten and how sensitive it is before deciding on this type of cereal.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply