Find out if Lucky Charms are gluten-free and how this popular cereal fits into a gluten-free diet. Plus discover if their different varieties are gluten-free.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you grew up eating Lucky Charms cereal, you probably have memories of their commercial jingle with the little leprechaun, fishing out all the marshmallows with your spoon and leaving behind all the rest of the cereal in the bowl.
Or maybe your strategy was to eat all the healthier parts first and save the marshmallows for last, relishing in the colorful milk that was left over.
Whether you grew up with Lucky Charms or are interested to try them for the first time now, you may be wondering if this cereal is gluten-free.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Lucky Charms are, what the ingredients are, and if they are gluten-free. We’ll also go over the different varieties and flavors of Lucky Charms and discover if these are safe for a gluten-free diet.
What are Lucky Charms?
Lucky Charms is a brand of cereal that has toasted frosted oats (similar to Cheerios) in the shape of hearts, shooting stars, horseshoes, hats with clovers, moons, unicorns, rainbows, and balloons. The cereal also has small colorful marshmallows in the same shapes.
The original flavor of Lucky Charms is the most well-known, but the brand also makes other flavors, like Marshmallow Clusters, Honey Clovers, Chocolate Lucky Charms, and Fruity Lucky Charms.
According to the General Mills blog, this cereal came out in 1964 when the developer made a cereal based on Cheerios with his favorite Circus Candy peanuts.
Lucky Charms Ingredients
The ingredients in the original flavor of Lucky Charms are as follows, according to the brand’s website.
“Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Corn Starch, Modified Corn Starch, Corn Syrup, Dextrose. Contains 2% or less of: Salt, Gelatin, Trisodium Phosphate, Red 40, Yellow 5 & 6, Blue 1, Natural and Artificial Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness. Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitale), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Are Lucky Charms gluten-free?
The original flavor of Lucky Charms contain no gluten ingredients and have a gluten-free label on their packaging. You can enjoy original Lucky Charms on a gluten-free diet!
Read on: Gluten-free cereal
Are Lucky Charms dairy-free?
By reviewing the ingredients of original Lucky Charms, we can see there are no milk or dairy ingredients. There are also no allergen warnings on this cereal of “traces of milk” or “may contain milk.”
If you follow a dairy-free diet, you can safely eat Lucky Charms.
Are Lucky Charms Marshmallow Clusters gluten-free?
There are no gluten containing ingredients in Lucky Charms Marshmallow Clusters, however this type of Lucky Charms does not have a gluten-free label on its packaging.
This could mean there are traces of gluten in this product if it is made on shared equipment with other gluten-containing cereals or grains. Or it could mean that the manufacturer has not tested the equipment and cereal for gluten and doesn’t make a claim of it being gluten-free.
Are Lucky Charms Honey Clovers Cereal gluten-free?
Lucky Charms Honey Clovers cereal has no gluten ingredients, but the brand does not label this product as gluten-free either. If you follow a gluten-free diet, I’d be aware that this product may contain traces of gluten and to use your best judgement about whether or not this is a good choice for you and your diet.
Are Chocolate Lucky Charms gluten-free?
According to the Lucky Charms website, this flavor of Lucky Charms is NOT gluten-free. There is a note stating “Chocolate Lucky Charms Cereal is not gluten-free.” So if there was any doubt, there shouldn’t be anymore!
Are Fruity Lucky Charms gluten-free?
Fruity Lucky Charms are not considered gluten-free according to the brand’s website. Choose the original flavor of this cereal for a gluten-free option.
If you love Lucky Charms cereal and have been wondering if you can still enjoy it while sticking with a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has helped you get the answers you’ve been looking for. The original flavor of Lucky Charms is gluten-free and dairy-free, but their other varieties either are not gluten-free or they may contain traces of gluten.
Be aware of the option you choose from the store and as always, double check ingredients and for that gluten-free label just to be sure before buying.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply