Find out if lentils are safe for a gluten-free diet and what to be on the lookout for when shopping for lentils.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Lentils are a versatile and high protein legume that you can find at most grocery stores. They’re a great option if you are on a budget, because they’re pretty inexpensive for the nutritional value you get from them.
You can buy lentils both dried and canned, and they can be used in soups, stews, and salads. They can be enjoyed both warm and cold – see, they’re extremely versatile!
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that just because something has nutritional value doesn’t mean it’s going to make you feel good. In some cases, gluten hides in even the healthiest foods.
In this post, we’re going to dive into finding out if lentils are gluten-free, why lentils are sometimes not considered gluten-free, and what to look for at the store when shopping for lentils.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form or gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are lentils gluten-free?
Lentils are naturally gluten-free and offer a great source of protein and fiber. They are from the legume family and are great in soups, salads, and as side dishes.
Lentils come in different colors and varieties: brown lentils, green lentils, red lentils, yellow lentils, black beluga lentils, and puy lentils. All of these are naturally gluten-free, assuming you’ve been able to ensure there’s no opportunity for cross contamination.
Lentils have a pretty neutral flavor, so they can take on a lot of spices and seasonings to flavor them any way you want.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, these are a great protein source to add to your diet, however there are some things you’ll want to keep in mind before you buy them.
You can even find pastas made with lentil flour that are gluten-free. Look for these at your local grocery store and be sure to check ingredients lists before purchasing.
Why are lentils sometimes not considered gluten-free?
While lentils themselves are naturally gluten-free, they are often grown in fields that are close to neighboring gluten-containing grains, making them prone to contamination when harvesting.
They might also be processed in the same facilities and on the same equipment as other grains that contain gluten.
If you are super sensitive to gluten and even trace amounts from cross contamination affect you and your body, be sure to look for a brand with a gluten-free label on the package. You’ll also want to avoid using bulk bins to buy your lentils, beans, and other grains.
How to make sure your lentils are gluten-free
To be sure the lentils you are buying are gluten-free, you’ll want to look for a gluten-free label or note indicating if the lentils have been processed on a dedicated gluten-free line.
If you see a note on the packaging that states “processed in a facility that also processes wheat,” you may want to avoid this package and look for something else.
In order for any packaged food to have a gluten-free label, the FDA requires a product to have less than 20ppm of gluten in the product in order to carry that label.
You can also look for a certified gluten-free label, which means that the brand has hired a company to test their products on their behalf.
Are canned lentils gluten-free?
Depending on the brand you purchase and what the facility and processing is like, canned lentils most likely will be gluten-free, but you’ll want to do your due diligence to look for a gluten-free label before buying.
Are Goya lentils gluten-free?
Canned Goya lentils are gluten-free, according to their website. I wasn’t able to verify if their dried lentils are gluten-free or not. Review the packaging before buying.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply