Find out if Lay’s chips are safe for a gluten-free diet, what they’re made of, and what flavors to enjoy when you’re avoiding gluten.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you’re a big fan of chips, you’re probably no stranger to Lay’s brand. This popular variety of potato chips can be found in most grocery stores, convenience stores, and delis all throughout the U.S.
Whether you’re a common potato chip eater or only pull them out for summer barbecues, you may have found yourself wondering how this brand of chips fares for a gluten-free diet.
When you avoid gluten, you know you need to look at not only the food itself, but also the brand, the flavor, and any varieties individually. I’m hoping to help answer some questions about which Lay’s potato chip options are safe for a gluten-free diet in this post.
Find out what Lay’s chips are, the main ingredients, and if they’re gluten-free. Plus we’ll go over which flavors and varieties are safe for a gluten-free diet, and whether or not the most popular flavors of Lay’s chips contain gluten.
Read on: Gluten-free Chips
What are Lay’s Chips?
Lay’s is a brand of potato chips that are very popular in the United States. This brand is manufactured by the Frito-Lay Company, alongside many other chip brands, like Ruffles, Cheetos, Tostitos, and Doritos.
Lay’s chips come in both original style and their “better for you” styles, which have less sodium, less fat, or are baked. Lay’s come in a variety of flavors, like classic, BBQ, sour cream & onion, cheddar jalapeno, salt & vinegar, and Flamin’ Hot.
What are the ingredients in Lay’s Chips?
The ingredients in Lay’s classic flavor potato chips are:
“Potatoes, vegetable oil (sunflower, corn, and/or canola oil), and salt.”
The different flavors of Lay’s chips will contain other ingredients for seasonings and flavor. Sometimes these seasonings contain gluten, whether or not they are specifically called “wheat” or “gluten” on ingredients lists.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Are Lay’s gluten-free?
Many flavors of Lay’s chips are gluten-free, but not all. The Frito-Lay Company has a page on their website dedicated to sharing which products are gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients, which is extremely helpful for customers to identify which flavors are safe for a gluten-free diet. You can find that here.
The classic flavor of Ruffles is gluten-free and you can safely enjoy these potato chips if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Are potato chips gluten-free?
Read on: Are potatoes gluten-free?
What flavors of Lay’s chips are gluten-free?
According to the Frito-Lay website, here is a list of their Lay’s products that are either gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients.
Those listed below with a (D) are considered dairy-free according to the Frito-Lay Company. I avoid both gluten and dairy products in my diet, which is why I’ve included this information here as you might also find it useful.
- Baked BBQ Flavored Potato Crisps
- Baked Original Potato Crisps (D)
- Baked Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Crisps
- Classic Potato Chips (D)
- Barbecue Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Dill Pickle Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Kettle Cooked Original Potato Chips (D)
- Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Original Potato Chips (D)
- Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat Sea Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Lightly Salted Potato Chips (D)
- Limón Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Poppables Honey BBQ Flavored Potato Snacks (D)
- Poppables Sea Salt Potato Snacks (D)
- Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips (D)
- Simply Sea Salted Thick Cut Potato Chips (D)
- Stax Bacon & Cheddar Potato Skins Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Buffalo Wings with Ranch Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Cheddar Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Chile Limón Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Flamas Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Mesquite Barbecue Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Original Potato Crisps (D)
- Stax Salted Potato Crisps (D)
- Stax Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Crisps
- Stax Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Crisps
- Wavy Lightly Salted Potato Chips (D)
- Wavy Original Potato Chips (D)
- Wavy Salt & Pepper Flavored Potato Chips (D)
Are Lay’s BBQ chips gluten-free?
Lay’s Barbecue chips are considered both to have no gluten or dairy in this flavor of their potato chips. The original style barbecue, Baked variety, poppables in Honey BBQ flavor, and Stax variety in Mesquite barbecue are all considered gluten-free by the Frito-Lay Company.
Are Lay’s salt and vinegar chips gluten-free?
Lay’s original style salt & vinegar, Stax salt & vinegar, and Kettle Cooked Reduced Fat sea salt & vinegar are all considered gluten-free or containing no gluten ingredients by the Frito-Lay Company.
Are Baked Lay’s gluten-free?
Baked Lay’s has three flavors that are considered gluten-free by the Frito-Lay Company: Baked BBQ, Baked Original, and Baked Sour Cream & Onion.
Are sour cream & onion Lay’s gluten-free?
Both Lay’s Baked Sour Cream & Onion and Lay’s Stax Sour Cream & Onion varieties are considered gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients by the Frito-Lay Company according to their website.
Are Poppables gluten-free?
According to the Frito-Lay company’s website, their Poppables products aren’t considered gluten-free, but a few of their flavors are listed as “not containing gluten ingredients.”
These are the not-containing gluten Poppable flavors:
- LAY’S® Poppables® Honey BBQ Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Sea Salt Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Sea Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® Southwest Ranch Flavored Potato Snacks
- LAY’S® Poppables® White Cheddar Flavored Potato Snacks
Are Lay’s Sunchips gluten-free?
After reviewing the nutrition information on the Frito-Lay website, it’s clear that this brand is not gluten-free. All the varieties of Sunchips contain wheat ingredients in the form of whole wheat.
Steer clear of this brand while trying to follow a gluten-free diet.
If you love grabbing a bag of Lay’s from your favorite sandwich shop for lunch, or having a bag on hand for when guests come over for barbecues or football games, I hope this post has helped you get the information you need to make decisions on which flavors and options will work for your gluten-free diet.
It’s a good idea to know which options of Lay’s the Frito-Lay Company considers free of gluten before you shop, so you can make an informed choice next time you’re at the store.
The labels don’t always tell the full story, so I’d go directly to the source to help you decide on what to buy.