Find out if Kit Kat candy bars are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan. Plus find out a few gluten-free Kit Kat alternatives you can look for at the store.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love Kit Kat candy bars? These are the milk chocolate covered wafer cookie candy bars that you can find at almost all grocery stores, movie theaters, and convenience stores.
If you have a sweet tooth, you may be wondering what types of candy are safe for your gluten-free diet. In this post, I’m answering all the questions you might have about sticking with your gluten-free diet and still enjoying Kit Kats.
Who makes Kit Kat?
Nestle owns the Kit Kat brand and this candy comes in a variety of flavors, like mint, mocha, white creme, and even key lime pie. Their website says this candy can be found in 80 countries worldwide.
Kit Kat Ingredients
Though Kit Kat comes in a few different varieties, the original contains the following ingredients:
Sugar, wheat flour, cocoa butter, chocolate, vegetable oil (palm oil, palm kernel oil), lactose (milk), skim milk, milk fat, contains 2% or less of: lecithin (soy), pgpr, vanillin, artificial flavor, salt, yeast, baking soda.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients as malted barley, wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Read on: What is gluten? The basics of a gluten-free diet
Are Kit Kats gluten-free?
Kit Kat candy bars are not gluten-free as they contain wheat flour. You’ll want to look for another candy that doesn’t have gluten to satisfy your sweet tooth.
Are Kit Kats dairy-free?
Kit Kats contain lactose, skim milk, and milk fat making this type of candy not a good choice for a dairy-free diet. Choose another brand of candy bar without any milk or dairy products.
Are Kit Kats vegan?
Kit Kats aren’t vegan, because they contain milk and lactose, which are animal products. If you follow a vegan diet, you can look for chocolate bars that are dark chocolate for an easier time finding something that is suitable for your dietary needs.
Gluten-free Kit Kats alternatives
If learning that Kit Kat candy bars have gluten makes you sad, try Glutino’s gluten-free wafers. These are chocolate wafers that are made with potato starch instead of wheat flour. These do contain dairy products though, so they’re not a good option for a dairy-free diet.
Another few options are Schar chocolate hazelnut bars and Schar cocoa wafers. These are also gluten-free, but do contain dairy.
If you love Kit Kat candy bars, I hope this post has helped you find an answer you’ve been looking for about how they fit into a gluten-free diet. Generally, it’s best to look for another chocolate bar and candy if you’re trying to avoid gluten.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply