Find out if Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free and fit into a gluten-free diet. Plus find out if they’re dairy-free and vegan.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Are you a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios and love to grab a quick bowl of cereal in the morning to get out the door? This sweetened version of Original Cheerios is popular among kids and adults alike.
With a sweet and nutty flavor, Honey Nut Cheerios are one of the Cheerios brand’s most popular products.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that you need to be careful about what foods and ingredients you add to your diet. So in this post, we’re going to talk about this flavor of Cheerios and find out if it’s gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan.
We’ll also talk about which of the Honey Nut Cheerios spin-off products, their Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch and Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars are gluten-free.
What are Honey Nut Cheerios?
Honey Nut Cheerios are a flavor of Cheerios that are coated in a honey-nut flavoring. This is just one of many flavors that Cheerios offers in their line of Cheerios products.
Honey Nut Cheerios Ingredients
According to the Cheerios website, Honey Nut Cheerios contain the following ingredients:
“Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Oat Bran, Corn Starch, Honey, Brown Sugar Syrup, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate, Rice Bran Oil and/or Canola Oil, Natural Almond Flavor. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Are Cheerios gluten-free?
Cheerios contain no gluten-containing ingredients AND they have a gluten-free label on the packaging. For any food product to have a gluten-free label, it must contain less than 20ppm of gluten.
We can safely say that Cheerios are gluten-free and safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Are Cheerios gluten-free?
Are Honey Nut Cheerios gluten-free?
Honey Nut Cheerios packages have a gluten-free label on them, meaning this product is safe for a gluten-free diet.
When a product has a gluten-free label, this means that the manufacturer has tested their products and they contain less than 20ppm of gluten, according to the FDA.
We can say for certain that Honey Nut Cheerios are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Gluten-free Cereal
Are Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch gluten-free?
The Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch has Honey Nut Cheerios, crispy flakes, and crunchy clusters. This flavor of cereal takes your normal Honey Nut Cheerios and gives it some more crunch and texture.
The Cheerios website and the packaging for this product shows that this product contains wheat ingredients, so this is not going to be a good choice for a gluten-free diet.
Instead of this flavor, you can choose to enjoy regular Honey Nut Cheerios which are gluten-free.
Are Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars gluten-free?
While Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars don’t contain any obvious sources of wheat or gluten, this product doesn’t have a gluten-free label on its packaging.
This means that the Cheerios brand either 1) knows there is gluten in this product from cross contamination, or 2) doesn’t test this product for the presence of gluten.
Either way, if you follow a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to use your own discretion as to whether or not you eat this product. Use your best judgement based on what you know about your body and your own level of sensitivity to gluten to help you decide.
If you choose to skip Honey Nut Cheerios Treats bars, you can always make your own at home using Honey Nut Cheerios and a gluten-free rice krispie treats recipe.
Are Honey Nut Cheerios dairy-free?
Honey Nut Cheerios do not contain any dairy ingredients or products specifically in their ingredients list. If you follow a dairy-free diet in addition to being gluten-free, you should feel okay adding this flavor and brand of cereal to your diet.
Are Honey Nut Cheerios vegan?
Honey Nut Cheerios contain honey, an animal product. If you are vegan, you will likely want to steer clear of this flavor of Cheerios and opt for the original flavor.
If you are a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’re looking for to help you decide whether or not to include this food in your gluten-free diet. Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free and dairy-free, but are not vegan.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply