Find out if Heath Bars are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan and how this candy fits into each of these diets.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Heath bars are an English toffee bar that’s coated in a layer of milk chocolate. They have a hard crunchy texture with a smooth chocolate coating on the outside. These popular candy bars can be found at most grocery stores, convenience stores, and even movie theaters.
If you love Heath bars as a treat, you may be wondering how these fit in with a gluten-free diet. Those of us who can’t eat gluten know that we need to look at each and every food that goes into our bodies with careful consideration.
Candy is no different. That’s why in this post, we’re going to talk about Heath bars and find out if they are gluten-free. We’ll also look through the ingredients list and discover if they are dairy-free and vegan. Finally, we’ll wrap the post up discussing the different types of heath bar products that are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Who makes Heath Bars?
Hershey’s Company manufactures heath Bars.
Ingredients of Heath Bars
The packaging on Heath Bars indicates the following as ingredients in this chocolate treat:
Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, nonfat milk, milk fat, lactose, salt, lecithin, vanillin), sugar, vegetable oil (palm oil, sunflower oil), almonds (cocoa butter), dairy butter, almonds, contains less than 2% or less of: cocoa butter, salt, artificial flavor, lecithin.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Heath Bars gluten-free?
According to the Hershey Company website, all varieties of heath Bars are gluten-free. These are all safe for enjoy on a gluten-free diet and have been approved by the standards of the FDA as a gluten-free food.
Are Heath Bars dairy-free?
Heath bars contain milk chocolate and dairy butter as ingredients in their ingredients list. These are not a good option for a dairy-free diet, and you’ll want to find a different type of candy without any dairy to help you stick with this diet.
Are Heath Bars vegan?
Heath Bars are not vegan as they contain milk products. If you follow a vegan diet, you may want to find a different plant-based sourced toffee bar to satisfy your sweet craving.
What Heath Bars products are gluten-free?
The Hershey’s Company states that all Heath Bar products are gluten-free, including these varieties:
- Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Candy Bar
- Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee King Size Candy Bar
- Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Bits
- Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Candy Bar Multipack
- Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Candy Miniatures
If you enjoy this toffee chocolate bar and have been wondering if it’s safe for your gluten-free diet, I hope you got all the information you’ve been looking for.
This candy bar is gluten-free, but not dairy-free. If you also avoid dairy, you may want to look for another brand or make your own toffee at home using coconut or other plant-based milk.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply