Find out if Froot Loops are gluten-free and fit into a gluten-free diet. Plus get some gluten-free Froot Loops alternatives.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Do you love fruity cereals? If so, you may have grown up loving Froot Loops. This cereal has a well-thought out marketing campaign for kids with a big talking blue toucan and rings of brightly colored cereal that are hard to pass up. They truly do look like fun in a bowl.
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that even cereal needs to be looked at with a close eye like everything else that you eat. Even one small bite of food with gluten can cause big reactions, which is why doing research beforehand is always a good idea.
If you love Froot Loops, this post is for you. I’m here to share with you what Froot Loops are, what their ingredients are, and how they will fit into a gluten-free diet.
With that, I’ll answer questions about the different varieties and types of Froot Loops products you’re likely to find at the store, and give you a few gluten-free Froot Loops alternatives.
Find out everything you wanted to know about Froot Loops and your gluten-free diet here in this post.
What are Fruit Loops?
Fruit Loops, or Froot Loops as it’s actually called, is a brand of cereal made by the Kellogg’s brand. This fruit flavored cereal is made of brightly colored O’s (or loops) that are meant to be enjoyed as a cold cereal with milk.
Froot Loops cereal comes in a few colors: purple, orange, blue, green, red, and yellow, and are meant to mimic different fruits. Despite the cereal having multiple colors, all colors taste the same: a generally fruity flavor that doesn’t taste like one specific fruit.
This cereal is marketed to kids with a bright red box and a large blue toucan. You can find these at many grocery stores and convenience stores.
Froot Loops Ingredients
The ingredients in Kellogg’s Froot Loops cereal are listed below and were found on the Froot Loops website:
“Corn flour blend (whole grain yellow corn flour, degerminated yellow corn flour), sugar, wheat flour, whole grain oat flour, modified food starch, contains 2% or less of vegetable oil (hydrogenated coconut, soybean and/or cottonseed), oat fiber, maltodextrin, salt, soluble corn fiber, natural flavor, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1, yellow 6, BHT for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.”
Read on: Is modified food starch gluten-free?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.
Are Fruit Loops gluten-free?
Froot Loops contain wheat flour, which means this cereal contains gluten. The packaging of Froot Loops also has a “Contains: Wheat” note under the ingredients list, meaning you know this isn’t a good option for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Read on: Gluten-free Cereal
Are Froot Loops Tropical gluten-free?
Froot Loops Tropical are a different variety of Froot Loops with a more tropical flavor, like pineapple, banana, orange, and mango. This cereal also has wheat flour as an ingredient in the ingredient list, as well as a “Contains: Wheat” note under the ingredients list on the packaging.
Froot Loops Tropical are not a gluten-free food and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Are Froot Loops with Marshmallows gluten-free?
Froot Loops with Marshmallows are simply Froot Loops with some marshmallow bits added to the cereal. Since Froot Loops cereal is not gluten-free, because it contains wheat flour, Froot Loops with Marshmallows are also not gluten-free. You will want to skip this option if you’re trying to avoid gluten in your diet.
Are Froot Loops Pop Tarts gluten-free?
According to the Froot Loops website, Froot Loops Pop-Tarts contain the following ingredients:
“Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, dextrose, soybean and palm oil (with TBHQ for freshness), sugar, bleached wheat flour. Contains 2% or less of wheat starch, salt, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), gelatin, natural flavors, color added, xanthan gum, soy lecithin, red 40 lake, red 40, blue 1, yellow 5.”
With this ingredients list in mind, we can see that enriched flour, bleached wheat flour, and wheat starch are all gluten ingredients that are in this product. You’ll want to avoid Froot Loops Pop-Tarts if you’re trying to follow a gluten-free diet.
Are Froot Loops Cereal Bars gluten-free?
Froot Loops Cereal Bars use Froot Loops cereal and are mixed up into a bar like rice krispie treats. These cereal bars contain wheat flour, which contains gluten and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.
If you’re interested in having a similar cereal bar, try making your own at home using a box of gluten-free fruit cereal and my gluten and dairy-free rice krispie treat recipe.
Gluten-free Froot Loops Alternatives
If you love Froot Loops and are super bummed that you can’t eat them while following a gluten-free diet, try one of these options instead. They aren’t the exact same as Froot Loops, but are fruity cereals that taste similar and can be used in cereal bars and snacks in the same way you would otherwise use Froot Loops.
- Fruity Cheerios
- Love Grown Foods Truly Fruity Sea Stars
- Fruity Pebbles
- Three Wishes Grain Free Cereal – Fruity
If you love Froot Loops and have been wondering how they fit into a gluten-free diet, I hope this post has given you all the information you’ve been looking for. Froot Loops are not gluten-free, but there are a few other fruity cereals that you can choose from to use as alternatives.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love this post? You might also want to check out these!
Find out if your favorite foods and ingredients contain gluten with these posts!
Which whole grains are gluten-free?
Find out which whole grains are gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Learn the 12 whole grains to stock your gluten-free pantry with in this article.
Is Jello gluten-free?
Jello is the wiggly, jiggly, transparent treat that most of us enjoyed as kids. If you eat a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering if it’s gluten-free. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Are marshmallows gluten-free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering: are marshmallows gluten-free? Find out if there is gluten in marshmallows and 5 brands of marshmallows are that are gluten-free in this post.
Are Rice Krispies gluten-free?
Are you a fan of Rice Krispies? If so, you may have wondered if rice krispies are gluten-free, especially if you follow a gluten-free diet. Find out the details and the answer to that question in this post.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Is soy sauce gluten-free? Find out in this article where I share what your options for soy sauce are on a gluten-free diet.
Is Quinoa Gluten-free?
Is quinoa gluten-free? If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this food is safe for you to eat. In this post, you’ll learn what quinoa is, how to enjoy it, and if it’s good for a gluten-free diet.
Is Rice Gluten-free?
If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering if rice is gluten-free and safe to eat. In this post, we’ll discuss the different types of rice and whether or not you should add them to your regular rotation on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cornstarch Gluten-free?
Find out if cornstarch is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free cornstarch brands.
Is Honey Gluten-free?
Find out if honey is safe for a gluten-free diet, the health benefits, and discover some gluten-free honey brands.
Are Oreos gluten-free? Are Oreos dairy-free?
If you love Oreos and avoid gluten or dairy for health reasons, you may be wondering if these favorite cookies are gluten-free or dairy-free. In this post, we’ll go through everything you need to know about Oreos and if you’ll want to include them in your diet if you have allergies or food intolerances.
Is corn gluten-free?
Is corn gluten-free? Find out if corn contains gluten, if different types of corn contain gluten, and if this ingredient is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Is oatmeal gluten-free?
If you love oats and oatmeal for breakfast or adding oats to your baked goods, you might be wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. Find out in this post!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Do you follow a gluten-free diet and wonder if Doritos are gluten-free? This post will give you all the information you need to know to make an informed decision on whether to enjoy these or not if you’re gluten free.
Is coffee gluten-free?
Do you love coffee and just getting started with a gluten-free diet? This post will give you all the information you need to know about gluten and coffee.
Is Ice Cream Gluten-free?
Are you an ice cream lover? Find out if ice cream is gluten-free, which brands are safe for a gluten-free diet, and how to order ice cream out.
Is Cheese Gluten-free?
If you love cheese and follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering which types of cheese are safe for you. Find out in this post if cheese is gluten-free and what to look out for.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten-free?
Wondering if cream cheese is safe for your gluten-free diet? Discover what cream cheese is made of, what brands are gluten-free, and things to be aware of when eating cream cheese on a gluten-free diet.
Leave a Reply