Find out if Goldfish crackers are gluten-free, what it’s made from, and which flavors are safe for a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Have you been looking for snacks for yourself or your family that are gluten-free and happened to find the cute little cheese fish-shaped crackers while perusing the grocery store aisles?
Finding snacks that are gluten-free can be tricky, but with a little research, you can easily find out whether or not each snack option from the store is safe for a gluten-free diet.
If you or your child loves Goldfish crackers, but need to keep a gluten-free diet for health reasons, you may be wondering how this snack food fits into that diet.
In this post, we’re going to talk about what Goldfish are, what flavors they come in, what they’re made of, and of course find out if they are gluten-free.
Find out everything you need to know about Goldfish crackers and a gluten-free diet.
What are Goldfish?
Goldfish are cheese-flavored crackers that are made by the Pepperidge Farm brand. These crackers are known for their signature fish shape with smiles on them that make them a favorite for both kids and adults.
Goldish comes in a variety of flavors and more recently colors as well. The brand touts no artificial flavors or preservatives in their Goldfish crackers, and colors that are sourced from plants, not artificial coloring.
Goldish are most commonly enjoyed as a snack, but can also be added to soup as a topping, in homemade trail or snack mixes, or Chex mix.
What flavors and varieties does Goldfish come in?
Goldfish comes in a variety of flavors and options, including their classic cheddar, colors, and “flavor blasted” options. Here are the current Goldfish flavors according to their website.
- Goldfish Baby Cheddar
- Goldfish Baked with Whole Grain Cheddar
- Goldfish Baked with Whole Grain Colors
- Goldfish Colors
- Goldfish Flavor Blasted Cheddar & Sour Cream
- Goldfish Flavor Blasted Cheddar Jack’d
- Goldfish Flavor Blasted Sour Cream & Onion
- Goldfish Flavor Blasted Xtra Cheddar
- Goldfish Flavor Blasted Xtra Cheesy Pizza
- Goldfish Grahams S’mores
- Goldfish Grahams Vanilla Cupcake
- Goldfish Limited Edition Star Wars The Mandalorian Cheddar
- Goldfish Made with Organic Wheat Cheddar
- Goldfish Mix Cheddar + Zesty Cheddar + Parmesan
- Goldfish Mix Xtra Cheddar + Pretzel
- Goldfish Original
- Goldfish Parmesan
- Goldfish Pizza
- Goldfish Pretzel
- Goldfish Special Edition Disney Mickey Mouse Cheddar
- Limited Edition OLD BAY Seasoned Goldfish
What are Goldfish made from?
Goldfish are baked cheese-flavored crackers, but they do come in other flavors, so their ingredients may vary slightly between their products.
Here are the ingredients in their popular original Goldfish as well as their Goldfish Colors and Goldfish Pizza as shared on the Pepperidge Farm website.
Ingredients in original Goldfish
“Made with smiles and enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oils (canola, sunflower and/or soybean), salt, contains 2% or less of: nonfat milk, yeast, sugar, baking soda, monocalcium phosphate, paprika, spices, celery, onion powder.
Ingredients in Goldfish Colors
“Made with smiles and enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), cheddar cheese ([cultured milk, salt, enzymes], annatto), vegetable oils (canola, sunflower and/or soybean), salt, contains 2% or less of: yeast, sugar, autolyzed yeast extract, spices, celery, onion powder, monocalcium phosphate, baking soda, colors (beet, huito and watermelon juice concentrates; paprika and turmeric extracts).”
Ingredients in Goldfish Pizza Crackers
“Made with smiles and enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oils (canola, sunflower and/or soybean), tomato paste, cheddar cheese (cultured milk, salt, enzymes), contains 2% or less of: salt, yeast, baking soda, spices, celery, paprika extract (color), monocalcium phosphate, onion powder.”
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Are Goldfish gluten-free?
Goldfish crackers are not gluten-free as all of them contain enriched wheat flour. All varieties of Goldfish also have notes near the ingredients list that state ‘contains wheat’ which helps you identify gluten in this product.
You may want to find another cheese-flavored gluten-free cracker to enjoy in place of this brand of crackers.
Which cheese crackers are gluten-free?
If you are following a gluten-free diet, you’ll want to find another brand of gluten-free crackers to snack on and enjoy with your favorite dips and trail mixes. Try one of these brands of cheese-flavored crackers that are also gluten-free:
- Blue Diamond Nut Thins Cheddar Cheese
- Crunchmaster Baked Rice Crackers Artisan Four Cheese
- Everybody Eat Cheese-less
- Ka-Me Sesame Rice Crackers Cheese Flavor
- Lance Gluten-free Crackers Cheese Flavor
- Milton’s Gluten-free Cheddar Cheese Crackers
- Nabisco Three Cheese Good Thins
- Van’s Say Cheese Crackers
Read on: The best gluten-free crackers
If you enjoy Goldfish crackers or have a family member who does, don’t be discouraged to find out that this brand of cheese crackers isn’t gluten-free. There are a number of other brands of gluten-free cheese crackers available to choose from. You might even find a new favorite brand!
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
Love these snack ideas? You might also want to check out these posts!
Get tons of snack ideas from this list of gluten and dairy-free posts all about snacks!
101 Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks
Get 101 different snack ideas that are gluten and dairy-free! Recipes and ideas to help you get between meal times without going hungry.
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snacks: 21 Healthy Ideas from the Store
Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.
50 Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Ideas for Kids (& Toddlers)
Need some gluten-free and dairy-free snack ideas for your kids and toddlers? Check out this list of 50 snack ideas, including fruit and veggie snacks, homemade snacks, and store-bought snacks. Scroll down to see all the ideas!
21 Gluten and Dairy-free Store-Bought Snacks For Kids (& Toddlers)
Does your kid or toddler need to follow a gluten and dairy-free diet, but you have no idea what snacks you should buy for them at the store? Get 21 easy-to-find snack ideas to help keep your kiddo full between meals.
Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Board
This gluten and dairy-free snack board is perfect for entertaining as an appetizer for dinner or an impromptu get-together. Enjoy this snack board made with all gluten-free and dairy-free ingredients.
Gluten and Dairy-free Hiking Snacks
Try these 23 gluten and dairy-free snack ideas for hiking and hitting the trail. Stay fueled through your hike and keep on your gluten and dairy-free diet.
5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Snack Bars
Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free snack or protein bar? Check out these 5 snack bars you can get at the store to help get you through until your next meal.
Leave a Reply