If you're new to being gluten-free, one ingredient that might be new to you is gluten-free tamari soy sauce. But if you aren't sure how to use it, check out these 10 simple ways to incorporate this ingredient into your meals. Click through for the whole post.

Note: I am a proud Amazon and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.

I love takeout for the ease of getting dinner to the table (who doesn’t?), but finding gluten-free and dairy-free options isn’t always easy. Most Asian style restaurants use soy sauce and teriyaki sauce that contains gluten, so I tend to avoid most dishes that have soy sauce in them when we do order out or find ourselves at Chinese or other Asian restaurants.

I’ve learned over time that in order to get my fix of these takeout flavors, sometimes I’ve got to get to work at home. And the best way to enjoy some of these Asian style dishes at home is to use gluten-free soy sauce.

If you’ve been reading my blog lately, you’ll know that I’ve been working on introducing some “bang for your buck” ingredients, because even if these ingredients are a little more expensive than their ‘normal’ counterparts, they’re worth it to know you’re not sacrificing flavor or your health and well-being.

Gluten-free soy sauce is most often called “tamari soy sauce.” It tastes the exact same as normal soy sauce, but without the addition of gluten in the sauce. While traditional soy sauce is Chinese in origin, tamari is Japanese. It comes in both normal and low-sodium varieties, and frankly, I can’t really tell the difference in taste between the two. I almost always opt for low sodium, just because I think what’s in there is plenty in there as is.

You can swap out tamari soy sauce to replace normal soy sauce in any recipe – which is awesome if you’re trying to convert a tried-and-true recipe you love to a gluten-free one.

You can find gluten-free tamari soy sauce at most local grocery stores on the health food aisle or international foods aisle. My local grocery store sells it near the health foods. You can also find it on Amazon if you can’t find it locally, and I’ve even found it on Thrive Market, if you use that service.

Of course, tamari can be used in a ton of dishes, here are just a few I’ve rounded up that I think you might love.

10 Ways to use Gluten-free Tamari Soy Sauce

  1. Vietnamese Chicken Pho
  2. Quinoa Trailblazer Salad
  3. Toasted Tamari Salad Topping
  4. Slow Cooker Coconut Quinoa Curry
  5. Balsamic Garlic Grilled Mushroom Skewers
  6. Spicy Tamari Ramen Noodles << be sure to use gluten-free rice noodles for this
  7. Ginger and Tamari Chicken Rice Paper Rolls
  8. Healthy Sesame Chicken with Broccoli
  9. Sesame Tamari Beef Meatballs << swap the whole grain breadcrumbs for gluten-free oats
  10. Baked Tamari Maple Salmon

Enjoying your favorite takeout dishes is still possible even while sticking with your gluten-free dairy-free diet. Grab this gluten-free “bang for your buck” ingredient and make your favorite Asian and Chinese takeout dishes come to life!

Want to check out more “bang for your buck” ingredients? Click here.

If you love this post, be sure to download my free comprehensive gluten-free dairy-free food list and sample recipes by entering your information below.

Get the FREE Gluten-free Dairy-free Shopping List

Shopping list screenshot

Get access to the most comprehensive - and healthy! - gluten-free dairy-free shopping list around!

Plus get 5 sample recipes and enrollment in my FREE 4-part workshop, GFDF Made Easy.

Powered by ConvertKit
If you're new to being gluten-free, one ingredient that might be new to you is gluten-free tamari soy sauce. But if you aren't sure how to use it, check out these 10 simple ways to incorporate this ingredient into your meals. Click through for the whole post.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This