Find out if Hershey Kisses are gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan and how this candy fits into each of these diets.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
Hershey Kisses are a small bite-sized chocolate candy that are wrapped in foil with a signature paper flag sticking out the top. These candies are made by the Hershey’s Company and have been around for over 100 years!
This candy is popular year round with both kids and adults, and you can find them themed with a variety of different colors for various holidays throughout the year, including “Santa Hats” around Christmas.
While the plain Hershey’s Kisses are the most popular, they also have different flavors of kisses too. Find caramel, cherry cordial creme, and mint truffle filled Kisses. Almond, espresso, hot cocoa, and candy cane are other flavors that you can find of these candy kisses.
If you love Hershey Kisses as a treat, you may be wondering how these fit in with a gluten-free diet. Those of us who can’t eat gluten know that we need to look at each and every food that goes into our bodies with careful consideration.
Candy is no different. That’s why in this post, we’re going to talk about Hershey Kisses and find out if they are gluten-free. We’ll also look through the ingredients list and discover if they are dairy-free and vegan.
Finally, we’ll wrap the post up discussing the different types of Hershey Kiss flavors and varieties that are safe for a gluten-free diet.
But first, let’s cover the basics – what are Hershey Kisses made of?
Ingredients of Hershey Kisses
According to the Hershey’s website, these are the ingredients you’ll find in their Hershey Kisses:
“Milk chocolate (cane sugar, milk, chocolate, cocoa butter, milk fat, lecithin, natural flavor)”
Other flavors of Hershey Kisses contain other ingredients, like almonds, peppermint oil, and food coloring.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
Gluten is naturally occurring, and therefore is impossible to strip away from the grain. If a grain naturally has gluten in it, there’s no way to make that food gluten-free.
Gluten can be found in candy as one of the main ingredients, especially in gummy candies, as wheat flour or wheat starch. You can also find it in flavorings, thickeners, or binders.
Are Hershey Kisses gluten-free?
Many flavors and varieties of Hershey Kisses are gluten-free, but not all of them. Be aware that some flavors do contain wheat flour, so you’ll want to double check the ingredients lists or review the list below for options that are gluten-free.
The best way to know if a candy is gluten-free is by reviewing the ingredients list or looking for a gluten-free label before buying or eating.
Read on: Are Hershey bars gluten-free?
Are Hershey Kisses dairy-free?
Hershey Kisses are not dairy-free as all of their different varieties contain milk products, like milk and milk fat.
If you are looking for a dairy-free chocolate option, be sure to check out this post: Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide.
Are Hershey Kisses vegan?
Unfortunately, Hershey Kisses are not vegan, because they contain dairy products. Look for brands that have a vegan label on their packaging or get some brand ideas on my dairy-free chocolate post.
What Hershey Kisses products are gluten-free?
The Hershey’s website has filters that allows you to search for products based on your dietary needs, including a gluten-free option. There is also a page on their website that outlines exactly which of their products are gluten-free.
Here are the flavors and varieties of Hershey Kisses that are considered gluten-free according to the Hershey Company.
- Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel Kisses
- Milk Chocolate Candy Kisses
- Milk Chocolate Giant Candy Kiss
- Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate Candy Kisses
- Mini Kisses Milk Chocolate
- Hot Cocoa Kisses
- Hugs Candy Kisses
- Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Creme Kisses
- Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle Kisses
- Meltaway Milk Chocolates Kisses
- Candy Cane Kisses
- Kiss Deluxe Kisses
- Espresso Kisses
- Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds Kisses
If you love Hershey’s Kisses around the holidays or for any reason at all, I hope that this post has helped you get the answers you’re looking for to determine if they will be an okay treat for your diet.
Many varieties of Hershey’s Kisses are gluten-free, but they aren’t dairy-free so keep that in mind when you’re shopping!