Find out what Red Vines are made of, the flavors they come in, and if this popular candy is safe for folks on a gluten-free diet.
Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, MunkPack, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.
If you love Red Vines or the black licorice from Red Vines, you’ve probably seen these in packages at movie theaters or in giant tubs with licorice twists all standing upright in grocery stores and Costcos.
Red Vines are a classic red or black licorice that has been around for decades. The red flavor tastes of mixed berries, according to the Red Vines website, whereas the black licorice Red Vines taste just like they sound like – black licorice.
Whether you like to bite the ends off and use Red Vines as a straw or a whistle, like my son, you may have wondered if this candy is safe for us folks who are avoiding gluten.
In this post, find out what Red Vines are, what flavors Red Vines come in, what ingredients are in Red Vines, and of course if this candy is safe for a gluten-free diet. Plus get a list of gluten-free licorice brands you can shop for.
What are Red Vines?
Red Vines are a name brand of licorice that are a popular movie candy and treat for anytime. Red Vines are produced by the American Licorice Company.
Red Vines most popular is their red flavor, followed by their black licorice, though they do have other flavors as well.
What flavors and varieties do Red Vines come in?
- Red Vines Original Red
- Red Vines Black Licorice
- Red Vines Grape
- Red Vines Sugar-Free Strawberry
- Red Vines Sugar-Free Black Licorice
- Red Vines Jumbo Original Red
- Red Vines Jumbo Black Licorice
- Red Vines Mixed Bites
- Red Vines SuperStrings
- Red Vines Red Ropes
Red Vines Made Simple
- Red Vines Made Simple Cherry
- Red Vines Made SimpleMixed Berry
- Red Vines Made SimpleMini Bites Mixed Berry
- Red Vines Made SimpleMixed Berry
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.
You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.
Many processed foods, including candy, have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are used as flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.
Red Vines ingredients
According to the Red Vines website, the ingredients in the Original Red Vines are:
“Corn syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, wheat flour, citric acid, artificial flavor, red 40.”
The ingredients in their black licorice are:
“Wheat flour, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, cane sugar, cocoa powder (added for color), salt, anise flavor, licorice extract.”
Are Red Vines gluten-free?
Since Red Vines contain wheat flour, this candy is not safe for folks on a gluten-free diet. All varieties of Red Vines contain wheat and gluten.
According to the Red Vines FAQ Page, “Unfortunately, Red Vines® are not a gluten free candy because they contain wheat flour.”
Gluten-free Licorice Brands
Though Red Vines contains wheat flour and therefore gluten, there are other licorice options available that are safe for folks on a gluten-free diet to eat.
Next time you’re craving licorice, look for one of these gluten-free licorice options instead. Some are more easy to find in stores than others, but you can also look on sites like Thrive Market and Amazon to get them shipped to your home.
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Black Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Pomegranate Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Strawberry Licorice
- Yum Earth Organic Gluten-free Peach Licorice
- Smart Sweets Red Twists
- Lakritsfabriken Swedish Premium Soft Licorice
- Candy Tree Gluten-free Licorice Twists
- Candy Tree Gluten-free Raspberry Twists
- Oldtimer’s Smallingerlandse Salmiak Klinkers Licorice
- Zot Organic
- See’s Candies Red Licorice Medallions
If you love Red Vines and have wondered if this candy is safe for your gluten-free diet, I hope this post has helped you get the information you’ve been looking for.
There are plenty of gluten-free licorice options available, but sadly Red Vines is not one of them. Get more candy options with the Ultimate Gluten-free Candy List.
If you loved this post, I hope that you’ll share it with your friends on Facebook and pin it for future reference on Pinterest.
If you’re looking for more info on your favorite candy brands, find out if they’re gluten-free in these posts!
Are M&M's Gluten-free?
Do you love candy or chocolate and follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if m&m’s candy are gluten-free and what to look out for.
Are Snickers Gluten-free?
Do you love chocolate candy and follow a gluten-free diet? Find out if Snickers candy bars are gluten-free and what to be aware of.
Are Skittles gluten-free?
Do you love Skittles and follow a gluten-free diet? Learn if this candy is safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet in this post.
Are Swedish Fish Gluten-free?
Find out if Swedish Fish are gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet, plus which flavors and varieties are available.
Dairy-free Chocolate: The Ultimate Guide
Have you wondered: is chocolate dairy-free? Find out if what brands are dairy-free, where to buy dairy-free chocolate, and more in this ultimate guide!
Gluten-free Dairy-free Halloween Candy & Tips
Find out which Halloween candy is safe for a gluten and dairy-free diet with this list of 25 brands and options to choose from.
Leave a Reply